We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Tour of Ponta Delgado”

Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
Ranked #20 of 64 Tours in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Azoren Travel Experts is a company based in Ponta Delgada and offers as main services guided sightseeing excursions, cruise shore excursions and many hiking trails. In addiction to that we offer Whale watching and Dolhpin Swimming adventures.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Joseph's knowledge of the area and his enthusiasm for showing you his beautiful island made for a wonderful day. We left the choice of a lunch spot to him and he delivered. We enjoyed the local food and wine with a great view. We would certainly contact Joseph again when we return to The Azores.

3  Thank LarryandRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well. I can't wait to see you again in Ponta Delgada
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

I arranged a tour via the internet with Josef to tour Punta Delgada when our cruise ship docked there in early November. Josef was there to meet us promptly with a van large enough to comfortably seat 6 passengers, and was able to check on the weather in various locations around the island to avoid the rain and fog and optimize our enjoyment of this gorgeous island. He is very gregarious and eager to give his clients great value for their euro- we paid $50 euros per hour, which was split 6 ways. Because there were 3 in our party that had visited the island previously, he tailored the tour so that they didn't duplicate visiting sites they had seen on their earlier visit, yet we newcomers still had a full, well rounded experience.

3  Thank dawnskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Josef's bespoke tours around Sao Miguel ensured we were able to explore and enjoy the island when pre-booked tours with other tour companies failed to deliver due to the difficult and changeable weather conditions. A tour guide with a flexible approach was essential to ensure we could enjoy what the island had to offer in the difficult weather conditions we encountered. Big thank you to Josef for saving what could have been a holiday disaster :-)

Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Josef was recommended to us by some fellow divers. Josef came to our hotel that evening at our request to meet with us to discuss what he could offer. We looked at the map and told him where we wanted to go - and he picked us up first thing the next morning for a fantastic day out. We went for a tour around the West of the island. He was very informative and fun and keen to make sure we were happy. He also ensured we had some time to ourselves throughout the tour and waited patiently. He showed us hidden gems away from the regular tourist routes and we got some fantastic photographs. He provided us with a lunch time picnic of local wine and cheese and treated us to coffee whilst we watched some amazing waves crashing beside us. We also particularly liked the beaches, twin lakes and pineapple plantation.

Josef then took us back to our hotel via the dive centre where he offered to wait patiently whilst we collected our kit.

A fantastic and thoroughly enjoyable day and we would definitely recommend Josef..

3  Thank SarahUK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had our diving plans canceled due to weather and arranged a private tour with Josef to Caldeira das Sete Cidades at the last minute. He picked us up at the hotel within an hour - Josef had very good english, new the island very well and was fun to tour with. He presented a bottle of wine at the lakeside park tables and made several stops at various landmarks during the day - We had a fun days tour and delivered us back to the hotel...

Three days later we bump into Josef while lugging dive equipment back to the hotel - Josef recognizes us, we chat some and he brings us and our gear back to our hotel.

Great job Josef!

Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing