We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ponta Delgada”

Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts
Ranked #20 of 64 Tours in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Azoren Travel Experts is a company based in Ponta Delgada and offers as main services guided sightseeing excursions, cruise shore excursions and many hiking trails. In addiction to that we offer Whale watching and Dolhpin Swimming adventures.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We did two tours,one with Josef & one with Nora.
Both were very knowledgeable & friendly. We toured Sete Cidades with Nora & Furnas & the Caldiera with Josef. The lunch there was excellent !
Both were excellent giudes & spoke several languages, never a problem understanding or being understood(We only speak English).
Josef & his staff make you feel like friends rather than just clients.
Highly recommend them when you are in Sao Miguel.If we are ever in P. Delgada again, I'm sure we will visit his business, even just to say Hi.

Glenn & Bonnie,Ontario, Canada.

4  Thank glenn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. we are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We did 4 tours with Joseph Steininger Tours: Lagoa do Fogo, Nordeste, Furnas, Sete Cidades. In fact we did 5 - during Sete Cidades tour the weather was awful, we couldn't see a thing because of the rain, clouds and fog, but luckily for us, Joseph offered us one more tour of Sete Cidades (for free) when the weather got much much better to make our stay in Sao Miguel perfectly complete)))) We did 3 tours with Nora, one with Josef and one with Sarah. All of them were amazing. The views and routes are stunning!!!! Thank you, guys, for sharing your love for Azores with us and warmest memories that'll keep us going through long and cold winter)

1  Thank Vita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. it's a pleasure to us to hear that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We took two half day walks and one full day tour with Josef and his team. All three staff members we met spoke good English. The route of the walks and stops on the tour was very flexible.

Josef and his staff are very keen to be busy, which they are most of the time, and this is reflected in their enthusiasm.

The two half day walks were at a comfortable pace for a holiday and lasted about five and a half hours. On the first walk we visited some view points and lakes not readily reachable for people setting out from larger vehicles, a modest walk was required to obtain the best views. Josef has a small, comfortable Mercedes minibus.

We undertook one full day excursion in the minibus with main stops around Furnas. This was well organised and our guide provided interesting information along the way.

Josef has a yellow trailer which is easily found along the waterfront opposite the main square in Ponta Delgada.

1  Thank EscapeMoreOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. it's a pleasure to us to hear that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I did three tours with Josef in August 2012
1. LAGOA DO FOGO - Half Day
2. FURNAS - Full Day
3. NORDESTE - Full Day

On all of the tours, the service provided was Friendly, Helpfull and Informative.
Josef is able to speak a number of different languages to suit his clients.
You were made to feel as a " Group of Friends" and not just a number.
As part of the service Josef collected and returned me back to the hotel, FREE of charge.

For me I enjoyed the Nordeste tour best. Josef included " Off the Beaten Track" points of interest, as well as the main ones. On this tour Josef also included a picnic for everyone at a beauty spot. The picnic was very professionally carried out, and everyones requirements were catered for.

Thank you (Danke) Josef for providing and excellent service.
I would fully recommend anyone visiting São Miguel (Azores) to use this service.

Mr J.K Robson.

1  Thank JK_Robson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. it's a pleasure to us to hear that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Did 2 different half-day tours with Joseph Steininger Tours.
The 1st was with Sarah, to Furnas - very interesting tour, recommend it. Saw a few different things, cooking in the thermal springs, lakes in the caldera, etc. Enjoyed it. Sarah's knowledge was very good, lots of information.
The 2nd was with Joseph, a tour based around Sete Cidades: spectacular views, and a great time.This tour was conducted in English and German. Joseph went out of his way to make sure everyone enjoyed the tour, didn't mind taking extra time if it meant everybody enjoyed it.
The mini-bus was extremely comfortable, and the tours were a better experience than we reckon coach tours would have been.
in short, excellent!

Terry and Linda, England

Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azorenexpert, Manager at Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

We appreciate your nice reviews, thanks a lot for your time and kind attention. it's a pleasure to us to hear that you enjoyed your vacation on Sao Miguel through our company. We like to treat our guest comfortably and try our best to share with them al we got to know about the island during many years of experience. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are keeping well.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Josef Steininger Azoren Travel Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing