We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real big game fishing”
Review of Seazores

Seazores
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.95*
and up
Sete Cidades Half-Day Jeep Tour
More Info
$89.91*
and up
Sete Cidades and Lagoa de Fogo 4WD Tour
More Info
$101.90*
and up
East4Walk Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family business and our goal it's to provide you the best time in the Azores islands through our Jeep Safari Tours, Sportfishing Charter Boat or Combined Tours.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went to the Azores for the first time for a honeymoon trip but as i am found of fishing, i decided to book two days for big game fishing with Seazores, at the end of august. for me they seemed to be the best option : professionnal and with a reasonnable price. hopefully, I was right! their target is to make you catch a fish, not make a water tour. As i have seen on Trip advisor, they are really kind and friendly and Sergio speaks very well english!
unfortunately, i lost what should has been my biggest fish, a 200 lbs yellowfin tuna! the beautiful beast broke the line at boat after hurting both Sergio and Paulo! it was not obvious to make it bite our lure but Sergio insisted and get finally rewarded.
anyway, i had great time and i thanks them very much.
sure, i will come back again for this amazing tuna and the beautiful landscape of Sao Miguel. it was a great discovery for us, the Azores!

Thank alexandre-g64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tours_seazores, Proprietário at Seazores, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi Alex.
Thanks very much for your kind words.
We always do our best to deliver a unforgettable fishing day.
Hope we can see you soon.
Sérgio and Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

My Husband and I enjoyed Big Game Fishing & Jigging with Sergio & Paulo. We saw their boat and signs in the marina and, after seeing other reviews, decided to book. We had a full day big game fishing for tuna, after no luck with marlin off Horta. Sergio took us to an area with good features and soon we saw plenty activity on the surface (and plenty of dolphins!). Although we lost the first hook up, it must have been big due to the speed at which it took line! The second bite provided an excellent fight and resulted the largest fish my husband had ever caught! After heaving it aboard we discovered it to be a yellowfin at about 120kg!! (Possibly a local record!) Although we were heading back, we asked if we could throw out a few more lines to troll one last time. Sergio agreed with about 20mins fishing time left. We soon got our 3rd hook up and again my husband put up a good fight but this fish was much bigger and with all the activity, also snapped off but was an exciting end to the day! We asked if we could have some of the fresh tuna to eat and met Sergio the day after where he gave us a huge portion. (If you ask at Bar Marina, in the old marina, they were happy to cook fish caught on fishing excursions).

We had such a good time that we booked a second day jigging, this time going for the afternoon/evening. Sergio and Paulo were a bit luckier getting bites but were quick to pass over the rod and let us play the fish in. We caught several mackerel, a nice Guilly Jack and a beautiful Amber Jack at about 20kg. This was a fantastic fight on the lighter gear and although I tried my best I was soon exhausted & passed the rod to my husband! We even got a close up with a seagull that managed to fly into the boat! (It was quickly caught and set free with the net).

In and amongst all the great fishing, we also got to see plenty of wildlife (namely dolphin), the whole of the south coast of Sao Miguel and a sunset. I would recommend Seazores and hope you are as lucky as we were with the fish!

Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tours_seazores, Proprietário at Seazores, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi there.
Thanks very much for your kind words.
We always do our best to deliver a unforgettable fishing day.
Hope we can see you soon.
Sérgio and Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great time fishing with Seazores in Ponta Delgada. There are many big game boats operating from the harbour and we tried a few different ones. Seazores is not the biggest boat but it is fast and comfortable and less expensive than the bigger boats. The captain is very knowledgeable and got us several hits on the lures whilst tuna fishing and we caught a 120kg yellowfin tuna! In the week we stayed in Ponta Delgada, no one else was consistently catching the tuna. I would recommend you try this company for anyone visiting the Azores and make sure you get a full day trip since the tuna may be an hour or more away from port.

Thank Andre5000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tours_seazores, Gerente at Seazores, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi.
Thanks very much for your kind words.
We always do our best to deliver a unforgettable fishing day.
Hope we can see you soon.
Sérgio and Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a wonderful two and a half hour sunset cruise from Ponta Delgada with Seazores last week! It was just the two of us, wanting to get away from the crowds, to see the island from a new perspective, and to watch the sun sink slowly into the sea. Sergio and Paulo's boat was clean and comfortable, the sea was calm, conversation with them was relaxed but interesting, and the views of the western shoreline with its lava cross sections and precariously perched vacation houses were stunning. in a blaze of yellow and red colors, the sun did eventually set, but not before we had enjoyed a fine local wine, with fantastic local bread and cheese, cheerfully served up by Sergio. It was a really enjoyable trip at a very reasonable cost, including hotel pickup. We'll always remember this romantic trip and highly recommend Seazores.

1  Thank dsr_rfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tours_seazores, Proprietário at Seazores, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi.
Thanks very much for your kind words.
We always do our best to deliver a unforgettable sea day.
Hope we can see you soon and many thanks for the gift.
Sérgio and Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a really good fishing trip with this company, great fun caught 7 fish all told and saw some dolphins, thanks! Really knowledgeable and helpful, really chatty with good English.

Thank KatieEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tours_seazores, Proprietário at Seazores, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi.
Thanks very much for your kind words.
We always do our best to deliver a unforgettable fishing day.
Hope we can see you soon.
Sérgio and Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seazores also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Vila Franca do Campo, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Seazores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing