We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Logo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Logo
Sight to exterior
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lars K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful, peaceful and well equipped studio set on an immaculate garden with pool. We had an excellent stay enjoying it excellent position in the city, and our host Maria was really helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
157robin
Vale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment - good location very friendly”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely secure apartment with a fantastic garden and Maria was very helpful and friendly. Pool was good too. The island is stunning, would recommend hiring a car for at least 2-3 days if you are brave enough for some of the roads :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella3...
Brookfield, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely garden paradise”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently spent two glorious weeks at Casa dos Agapantos. The studio apartment was even better than we had expected. It was very clean, beautifully appointed and included everything we needed for a comfortable two weeks' stay.

We arrived quite early in the morning on an overnight flight from Boston and and after a short cab ride we were warmly greeted by our hostess, Maria Antonia. We did not have to worry about going out immediately to buy food as she had supplied us with eggs, milk, avocados and bananas from her gardens, her lovely homemade jam and delicious bread made on the island....as well as a nice bottle of wine.

We loved Sao Miguel and Maria Antonia made sure that we had maps to plan our adventures as well as suggestions for restaurants and local sites. The pool was a great delight each day after touring around the island. We made a decision not to rent a car and found we could easily walk to the harbor in Ponta Delgada. There was also bus service to all parts of the island and while we did take a couple of organzied tours, we enjoyed the bus as we were able to be with the local people, including the school children.

The Azorians are very friendly people and very proud of their islands, with good reason. We stayed on Sao Miguel for two weeks but learned from other travelers that all the islands are beautiful. We found Sao Miguel to be a paradise.

We left the island feeling that we wanted to return and knowing that we had made new friends in Maria Antonia and Armando. "Thank you both for making us feel so welcome!"

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts, the apartment, the pool and the gardens.
Liked least: I cannot think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve I
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the ticket”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in Ponta Del Garda and this was made all the better by the more than adequate accommodation. Everything we could have wanted was there for us when we arrived including home grown fruit and the essentials Iie milk, bread and eggs. The studio was clean very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. Maria had thought of everything and continued to be as attentive as we needed throughout our stay.
It was lovely and quiet ( certainly no noise from dogs as was mentioned by someone) and the pool and gardens were fabulous.
We would certainly return without a second thought.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet,secure and owner attentive without being intrusive.
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Avocados, terrible dogs!”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were very happy with our stay in Casa dos Agapantos. We were welcomed with a wonderful guided tour, a table full of buns, fruit and the most incredible avocados we've ever eaten. The apartment is comfortable and a great place to spend your time in Sao Miguel. You are a two minute drive out of the City or a ten minute walk into the town centre.

Ponta Delgada is a bustling town with an energetic young nightlife, but also catering nicely to the tourists with loads to do on land and at sea. But make sure you explore the rest of the island as well as there's so much great stuff, although in April there is a lot of rain and bad weather to contend with.

The only negatives we obliged to make people aware of is the dog that lives behind the apartment, we lost a couple of nights sleeping to its incessant barking and growling, and nights we chose to have in were punctuated by a soundtrack of aggressive dog yapping, not quite as relaxing as we'd hoped.

The bed is also not the most comfortable, I wouldn't recommend it if you suffer from back trouble.

But this doesn't take away from the overall loveliness of the appartment and the location and wonderful welcome from our host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The avocados
Liked least: The neighbours dog
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asillc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place with charm”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first experience with booking a private residence versus the normal hotel travel stay on vacation. Maria was very accommodating right from the start. She welcomed us and provided us with baked goods, jam and tour area information including places to eat. Her place is walking distance from the supermarket, farmers market and close by to the city central. The studio apartment was very clean, cozy, and had everything we needed to feel at home. We would highly recommend this studio apartment to others traveling to Ponta Delgada that want to get away from the typical hotel stay life.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djf52
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Close to Everything”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Casa dos Agapantos for 10 days in September. and had a wonderful time. Our owner, Maria, greeted us on our arrival with maps, tour books and information on restaurants and things to see and do as well as stocking our kitchen with milk, bread, homemade jams, and fresh fruit, which was perfect for us after an overnight flight. She then took us on a tour of her beautiful grounds and gardens and our studio for the next 10 days. You can see immediately the love and care that Maria and her family have put into this property. I still can't get over the size of the property, ie the gardens and grounds, for a property in the city. The apartment is very clean, a good size for an extended stay, has its own private entrance, and within walking distance to the downtown area of Ponta Delgada. We had no problem parking our vehicle on the street each night. We simply had a wonderful stay and strongly suggest that you don't book anything in Ponta Delgada until you call Maria. Its that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the surrounding gardens,
Liked least: The occasional barking dog
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing