We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to ships' tours!”

Azores Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: My name is Rui and I am a Sao Miguel Island native. I love meeting people from other countries and making their visit to the Azores one they will never forget. My customers are not just clients to me – they are new friends, and as such they receive personalised service. I have many years of experience as a professional private driver, and you will find me an enthusiastic host with an excellent sense of humour. I can provide VIP services, Private Tours by Car and/or Minivan, and Airport Transfers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great alternative to ships' tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We put together a group of 6 from the Celebrity Eclipse and contacted Rui about a month ahead of our scheduled stop on November 1st. He was already booked himself, but arranged for his alternate guide, Francisco, to meet us at the cruise terminal door and give us a 6 minivan tour of Fire Lake, Ribeira Grande, Furnas and points between, including a tea plantation and liquor sampling. Francisco is a very knowledgeable and entertaining guy with perfect English and a great sense of humor, so don't hesitate to ask for him. In addition to the sights, Francisco arranged for us to have a cozido lunch cooked in the steam vents and then served at Tony's Restaurant in Furnas - very tasty and reasonably priced. Thanks to RM Tours, our experience of Sao Miguel was far better than that of the people who took the big buses and for considerably less per person in cost.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter_and_Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    6
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We couldn't have got better treatment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you Rui, We were the couple that you collected from the airport when we returned to Sao Miguel from our trips around the Islands, you then collected us the next day and gave us a tour of the northern and eastern sides of the island in some very bad weather, the Tea Plantation, The Botanical Garden, The Lunch from the Earth , I could go on & on. It really was a great tour, we could not fault it, you a superb ambassador for the Azores & we hope that you go far in the World you deserve to. I bet you wish that the owner of your had bought a Silver model rather than a Black one! Once again THANK YOU RUI.
Kind Regards Peter Newson & Jenny Wilson.

PS. Please pass on our thanks to Maria at . Melo Travel for organising our holiday and for choosing you as our guide

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 2 1/2 days touring the island with Rui. He was very punctual and spoke excellent English. He was extremely knowlegeable of the island and its history. He had a great sense of humor and made the tour very interesting. I celebrated a milestone birthday on one of the days we were touring with him and he made it a very special occassion. We highly recommend Rui as your tour guide if you are ever in Sao Miguel. In addition to tours, he also provides airport to hotel transfers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Filomena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great tour of a great island......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited Ponta Delgada on a cruise last week. We hired Rui Medeiros and his taxi for half a day to show us as much of the Island as he could - what a great idea that was. A charming young man, excellent English, combined with his natural enthusiasm for his Island coupled with an extensive knowledge of every aspect of the Azores.

Time was limited to half a day, but the time spent with Rui was one of the highlights of the cruise. I cannot over-state what a contribution this man made to our holiday and he has certainly left us wanting more of the Azores.

Professional in every aspect, very reasonably priced and completely trustworthy and responsible, I cannot recommend this man more than to say, if I ever return to the Azores, it will be because of him and we will seek him out to use his services.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A wonderful guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were sailing on the Celebrity Eclipse and were looking for an Independent Tour. Through the Cruise Critic Roll Call we made up a group of 6 and booked through Rui. He advised us that we would be driven and guided by his colleague in a people carrier.

After disembarking we easily found our Driver in the Terminal and were shown to the vehicle. We quickly establised that our driver was Rui himself! We had an excellent tour and were taken to view points that the ship's excursions in coaches could not have reached! Although we had booked a 4 hour tour, Rui gave us the best part of 5 hours. It was an excellent afternoon with Rui imparting so much local knowledge and also very carefully driven!

We all thoroughly enjoyed our tour and would strongly recommend Rui to anyone looking for a private tour of this beautiful island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azores Private Tours also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Azores Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing