We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not too expensive!”

Restaurante Nacional
Ranked #24 of 182 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and not too expensive!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was on my own in this restaurant and had seen it while passing by. Staff is nice and food is good! The price is also quite reasonable! On the top of it, it´s well situated, just next to the city hall of Ponta Delgada. Well worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olifante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    144
    61
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had four dinners in Restaurante Nacional during our stay in Ponta Delgada. We had sea food each time and our favourite was squid on the spit with shrimps (very tasty and fancy served). White cheese with pepper souce for starter is very good. What's more wine selection is adequate and reasonably priced. Also we have to highlight very friendly yet professional staff. All together it is a highly recommendable place for dinning in Ponta Delgada.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Januszmiszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food and great value.l”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Received a lovely welcome on entering this restaurant. Staff helpful and friendly. Food was good value and there was loads of it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food and service with english speaking waiters”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant 3 times during our stay and it was our favourite. The english speaking waiters were so welcoming and helpful and answered any questions about the dishes on the menu. Each time we tried a different dish and all was cooked well with accompanying salad and vegatables. We also liked the bread cheese and olives served before the meal. Also the prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“True regional cuisine”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since all the menus look the same, we chose this restaurant purely by chance. The server was initially abrupt and rushed, but softened up and made our meal a delight. The food was cooked perfectly and we could find nothing to complain about. The decor is early 1980s, but it is part of the charm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Nacional also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Restaurante Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing