We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visitors”

Restaurante Nacional
Ranked #27 of 185 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Livramento
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for visitors”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Service is excellent. They treat you very well as a tourist or local resident.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AtHome_128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    147
    62
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cruise ship stop in the Azores”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have been on Princess and Holland America transatlantic and both lines make stops in Ponta Delgada - with the day to enjoy the island we hired a taxi in the morning and then returned to town for a late lunch. Our 1st driver recommended this restaurant - what a delight. The second year we stopped on the island we returned for a late lunch here again - the staff is charming with always someone there who speaks some English - food is absolutely the best, fresh and cooked by a local - maybe the best on the entire 16 day cruise. Easy to find about 4 blocks from port - you must give this place a try!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Staff were the best they had”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Didn't finish the main courses. The starters were good, but the fish.... overcooked and dry swordfish. No thanks. The elder waiters in a dining room (Not the owners behind the bar desk) were classic and very kind.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReneSaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad not good”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Food was inexpensive but you get what you pay for. Espresso was weak and no one ever mentioned dessert. Service was marginal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“very good, just returned from the dinner”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Like in the majority of reviews, the tasty food, great service and a bit oldfashioned design make a good and reliable choice for an acceptably priced meal in the centre of Ponta Delgada; I wanted to try bitoque (advertised in one of the reviews) and was not in the menu for foreigners, but after asking about it, I was presented with another menu with this "speciality of the house". My son demands we go to this restaurant again tommorow - for the food (for him they prepared bitoque with chicken meat instead of the beef), and the service - the waiter reminded him of his belowed Mr. Bean, so this was just another reason for his choice ;) And I do not object his choice, so we know where we eat tommorow ;)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Nacional also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Restaurante Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing