We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The taste of Azores”
Review of A Colmeia

A Colmeia
Reserve with
A Colmeia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 182 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A Colmeia Confeitaria da Travessa is a small space attached to Hotel do Colégio, that not only serve its guests but also the locals. It serves lunches every week day from noon to 3 p.m.
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The taste of Azores”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is where we got to taste a lot of the food from Azores in one evening. It was all organized by our traveling company, Solia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frode Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
259 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is a great find! We went for a special birthday meal and it definitely lived up to the expectations. The menu is large and varied with a range of fish, meat and vegetarian options at good prices. We would particularly recommend the duck magret and the pork in red wine (best pork i have ever tasted!) which were stunning. The puddings were also fantastic!

The service was quick and attentive. The waiter was very quick to clarify anything and kindly recommended his favourite dishes.

Such a shame we only found it on our last night. It was our favourite meal all holiday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brit_travellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ponta Delgada”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This restaurant really differs from all others in Ponta Delgada. The food is gourmet, well made, delicious and yet inexpensive. The service is friendly and atmosphere calls for a three course meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
265 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were staying at the Do Colegio Hotel in which this restaurant is based so decided to try it out on the night of our arrival. It was excellent and we were agreeably surprised as we tend not to eat in hotel restaurants. The food was very good, well presented, and imaginative. The cod dish was particularly good and when we returned for a second evening we both chose that again. The portions were quite substantial - and we had also had a delicious starter - but we managed to share a dessert which was lovely.
We also thought it was admirable that there were a few vegetarian options on the menu.
The only downside to this restaurant was that it lacked atmosphere despite the candles on the tables but if you want a good meal we thought this was one of the two best where we ate during our week's stay in Ponta Delgada.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
293 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Dessert lover”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The coffee shoppe serve breakfast the most delicious foods and desserts I get Lost in the middle of the large variety of choices
I buy several of everything to bring over and share with my family and friends the expresso coffee the view to the ocean and the ships go by.beautiful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Colmeia also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to A Colmeia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing