We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome - Hot Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercado do Peixe

Mercado do Peixe
Ranked #39 of 182 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome - Hot Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Despite what some other reviewers had to say, my wife and I found a warm welcome at this restaurant, and the food served was good and it was hot - so many others served cold accompanying veg. We made a number of repeat visits and were not disappointed. Prices seemed average for the dishes served.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank askalan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    180
    161
    51
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service and barely warm food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

When we arrived there were not many people in and the service was ok. But as more people arrived it became apparent that the few waiting staff were over worked and we had to wait a long time for our food which arrived warm not hot. We asked several times for the bill and only paid by getting up and walking to the till, even then the waitress was a very long time in getting to us.

Overall a poor experience not recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g7gwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS OK, BUT NOT IF YOU ARE IN A HURRY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a meal here one night, went early. Started with cheeses and bread and then ordered fish.
A version of rock cod, which tasted great. The place got busier and my husband had to ask for the bill twice. We know that life goes at a slower pace here and the people are quite laid back, but be prepared. Worth a try as the fish is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went to this restaurant even though our tour guide had said she would not recommend it. Service excellent, staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Had fresh grilled sardines that were to die for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ethompsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The restaurant is located right on the "front" Street Central below street grade. Food and service was excellent. We had an octopus salad for starters and a plate of Sardines and skewer of squid and shrimp. Both meals were great.

The restaurant doesn't overlook the water and that is too bad but the great food and cozy atmosphere made up for it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim4_1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado do Peixe also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Mercado do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing