We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local seafood”
Review of Mercado do Peixe

Mercado do Peixe
Ranked #46 of 186 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent local seafood”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ended up eating here on three consecutive days. The fish is fresh, well prepared and delicious. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgable. Although the dessert menu lacks imagination, the local pineapple is a perfect finale . We really recommend the tuna, the swordfish and the rock fish - all freshly caught from the Atlantic. My daughter also indulged in a superb fish soup starter. Easy to find, right across from the harbour- thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    198
    181
    58
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay away - tourist trap!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Unfortunately, this is a very popular spot with tourists mainly because of their location. The restaurant overlooks the main coast road and has a huge banner, so you will inevitably walk by the restaurant. DO NOT be fooled by the fact that the place is always busy, thinking that it's a good place to eat.

Just been there last week with my wife - food was mediocre (despite having fresh fish on display) and service was even worse!! We did not get one single smile or thank you from our waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What an amazing location, the fish market had any type of fish and if you are stuck for a recepie ask they will write it down to all the ingredients. very knowledgable vendors. great place to spend an afternoon .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasuda, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“it's mercado-fresh!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

as the name says, you can taste fish from market, specifically the Azorean fish.

In my country, Japan, grilled fish is often served with soy sauce. and at this restaurant, I was introduced to butter sauce! Just simple recipe, fresh sea bream grilled with olive oil and lemon, and served with butter sauce. I thought I was full so I picked a smaller fish. but then I regretted I should have gone for the bigger.

Oh, and you are in the Azores. have some tea and pineapple!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yichimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A well placed fish restaurant on sea front”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fresh fish, good wine and good for groups, as spacious. It was a good find on our second night, offering opportunity to try the various local fishes. I tried the tuna, and it was done Azores style with a sauce that was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado do Peixe also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Mercado do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing