We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for...”

Colegio 27 Restaurant & Jazz Club
Ranked #7 of 182 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“good place for...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were here during our holiday in Sao Miguel and I can say it is one of the most interesing place where you can go to eat especially if you want to pass a romantic evening.
The atmosphere is very nice and the music is a good way to relax while eating.
Food is very good and they give you very big portions.
Wine is good too and all the staff is very kind.
The negative aspect is price: compared with other restaurants it is a little bit more expensive (100€ more or less for 4 persons) however it is a nice place to spend one evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    150
    32
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Jazz Music, Food and Wine”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Four of us went and had a great time. We went around 7:45 and at 8pm the music started. It was excellent music and ambience and the food and wine was brilliant. You can't go wrong with their selection of red wine and the menu changes daily but you can always count on excellent steak and I had their Osso Buco which was absolutely fantastic. Definitely add it to your list to visit. You will regret it if you skip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justy5780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food, with a jazz background”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it advertises jazz during dinner, and it did not disappoint in either regard. The night we went, a talented singer and pianist performed classic American Songbook jazz, and during intermission the recorded music was a fine blend of similarly styled tunes. Our only complaint about the performer was his choice to sing Louis Armstrong pieces while imitating Satchmo's voice. It was uncomfortable and awkward to listen to. We had no other complaints, however. Our starters were excellent, my husband's grilled squid full flavored and tender, my tomato salad with fresh local cheese perfectly prepared and tasty. We both had fish for our entrees -- I had rare grilled tuna on grilled vegetables with a piripiri and caper sauce, he chose grilled swordfish in a lemon white wine sauce over an interesting warm pumpkin and onion salad. Both were flavorful and perfectly cooked. Dessert was grilled local pineapple with vanilla ice cream, a delectable foil of cold vs warm, smooth and crunchy. Service was great, just attentive and efficient enough to be ideal. Definitely a return visit is in order.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best places for dinner on Sao Miguel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

During my week-long vacation in Ponta Delgada, I visited this place twice with my spouse. Those two dinners were definitely the best ones I had on the island. Had we discovered the place earlier, we might have visited it even more often.

There was also live music on both nights which was a huge plus. The only negative aspect we experienced concerned service. After finishing the main course it took a bit too long for anyone to come asking if we wanted dessert, drinks or the check. But then again, we enjoyed the music and weren't in a hurry so it wasn't a big issue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKO-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Ponta Delgada”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After few days of trying to avoid bacalhau - which is really terrible I finally ate in Colegio 27. One of the best fish dishes I've ever had. Very nice staff. Relatively expensive as for Ponta Delgada, but absolutely worth it. I deffinitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colegio 27 Restaurant & Jazz Club also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Colegio 27 Restaurant & Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing