We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We want to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Gaivota for 12 nights in late March and early April (2013). After reading other reviews we booked this hotel for the first 3 nights of our trip and were so happy with it that we spent our entire visit there. Arriving from Canada at 7:30 am we needed an early check-in and this was easily arranged when we called to book the room. We had a wonderful and spacious 1 bedroom apartment with a view of the marina and a balcony. Although we didn't cook, the kitchenette with the fridge was very handy. There is a supermarket next door and a wonderful snack bar called "Pink" (about 30 metres to the west) where we had many lunches. Our room was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with all of our requests (extra towels, travel directions, calling a taxi etc). This was the best hotel experience I've had and I would not hesitate to return to Hotel Gaivota.

Room Tip: Apartments facing the marina have a great view and ours had the bedroom at the back of the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mackbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
51
53
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

When looking for a hotel to stay for a week, I looked for something right on the marina, with 2 bedrooms (for 3 of us), a kitchenette and a favourable price. We were not disappointed. The room was large, clean, plenty of hot water (and extra towels! Thank-you!), lovely breakfasts with fresh buns, meat and pineapple (and eggs!) pleasant staff and even heat in our room. There is a supermarket right outside the door and everything is in easy walking distance. True, it is a little noisy being right on the busier roadways in Ponta Delgada, but for us, it was totally worth it to wake up every day with an ocean view. Thank-you Gaivota!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSL260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very friendly, helpful and nice staff! We felt absolutely spoilt during our period of residence at the Gaivota. Rooms are moody and large, with bathtub and balcony. The marina at the center of Ponta Delgada is directly towards the hotel. Unsnobby atmosphere, very different from the hotel you find a few metres further out down the street.

BEST WISHES & GREETINGS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SumaGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been to St Michael on three vacations but it was our first stay at the Gaivota at the suggestion of our travel agent and some friends.
I specifically chose it because we prefer an apartment or condo to a hotel room. The apartments in St Michael often offer more space than the hotel rooms and have a kitchen and dining area. We don't neccessarily cook but sometimes prepare breakfast or a late night snack. Though not what I would consider a Luxury Hotel, it is quite comfortable.Our room was on the top floor overlooking the harbor and had a small balcony. One very large bedroom sparsely furnished with a VERY small "full" bed, one stuffed chair, one upright chair and a dresser.The bed was barely large enough for one person and would make for an uncomfortable night's sleep for two! It would be better served by twin beds. There was a twin bed in the livingroom along with a sofa and desk and chair. The bathroom was large but the huge spa tub/shower combination was difficult to maneuver and it was difficult to take a shower. (Other members of our family had a room on a lower floor with the same view, smaller but with a standard tub/shower which I would request in the future). Complimentary breakfast is served and, as is typical, included many bread and pastry items, eggs, meat and cheeses. The staff was gracious and helpful, the rooms and the common areas were very clean but the elevator is the tiniest and slowest! Barely enough room for two people or one person with luggage. We got our daily excercise going up and down 5 flights of stairs.
If you like a lively setting, people watching and being close to shopping and restaurants I would recommend the Hotel Gaivota as the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FQRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 24, 2016
Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We may have been just very lucky by scoring a sea-view room where the bedroom faced the yard rather than the street. Our friends' bedroom was a bit noisy facing the street.

Ours was great - a large living room and a large bedroom, with a long balcony overlooking the pier and the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpeful, the breakfast - nothing to write about but acceptable. The room was clean - all in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiborv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was impressed with our two night stay at the Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota in Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Acores. The people were friendly, all our special requests were met and the rooms were spacious! They really work with you to help you out, with whatever you need! The included breakfast is actually pretty impressive as well. Choices varied from cold cereals, toast with butter and jams, croissants, meats and cheeses with fresh breads, bacon, sausages and eggs, fruit salad, yogurts, complete with a fresh juice machine and a crazy coffee machine that makes regular coffee, decaf coffee, cappachinos, lattes, espresso, etc!

I would request an ocean view room on one of the higer floors...you can't beat that view!

All in all, this hotel (in an amazing location, right on the main strip, by the way), started our vacation and ended it perfectly. We could not have asked for better :)

Room Tip: request an ocean view room on one of the higer floors...you can't beat that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niceportuguesegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 24, 2016
Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
339 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Gaivota in an apartment. It had 1 bedroom with twin beds which were firm but comfortable, a kitchen/dining/seating area with a small balcony and a bathroom.
The room was nice and clean, the towels and bedding were fresh. We booked the apartment so that we could prepare our own food if we chose to and the little kitchen was useful, however it had one huge pan (pasta for 20 anyone?) and one tiny frying pan. One metal stirring spoon, a tin opener and a small blunt paring knife. The hob had 2 rings but only one worked. There was a microwave but I didn't use it. It was handy to have the fridge and I did manage to cook one evening meal and we had a few salad lunches. There was lots of cutlery and crockery.
The location is fantastic, right on the sea front next to a small supermarket and the whale watching trips. Restaurants are within easy walking distance.
The breakfast was reasonable if a bit changable. every day there was a choice of cereals, breads, croissants, ham, cheese, yogurts and tinned fruit salad (seemed a little odd considering the number of pineapples and melons on offer all over the island) tea/coffee and juice. On a couple of days there was Pastel de Nata, fresh melon, fresh pineapple, but mostly just the standard fayre.
There weren't many staff members, but the reception staff were helpful when we asked then to reserve us a table at a restaurant and were polite.
I don't feel I can rate it higher than 3 as the kitchen was a little below my expectataions however otherwise I would give it a 4, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review, June 25, 2016
Thank you for your comment. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing