We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice view of the marina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I got a fairly good rate at this hotel booking directly with them but still not as good as the hotel deals that you can find in mainland Portugal. They ended up upgrading my room to a one bedroom suite with a kitchette and balcony and a super view of the marina. I only stayed one night but it would have been great for a few days to have stayed there. Breakfast was included in the rate and it was ok. I had gotten spoiled by really amazing quality breakfasts in mainland Portugal. The hotel included free wifi which was great. Also, right next door, there is a supermarket and many little cafes to eat in. Two of those cafes offered a pastel de nata and coffee for a euro. Sweet deal!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otroviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our apartment overlooking the habour at Ponta Delgada came as a pleasant surprise. It was a real full-size apartment, not the extended bedroom that so often passes as one.

Apart from the comfortable couch in the living room, the furniture is solid wood, of a much higher quality than tourists generally expect. The kitchen comes with mini-hob, microwave and fridge, along with coffee maker and toaster. There's an ample supply of cutlery and crockery. Given the moderate May temperatures, we didn't need the airconditioning.

Both living room and bedroom give access to a patio overlooking the harbour. The bedroom is spacious; the mattresses are decidedly firm. We would have appreciated a reading light beside each single bed rather than the rather bright light between them.

Location and view can't be beaten. The promenade is across the road and the old town spreads around you. There's a bit of traffic noise, aggravated by the speed bump outside the hotel but it didn't bother us.

TV offers a range of channels including BBC World and CNN. For internet connections one obtains a cable from Reception that gives instant high-speed access. Just plug one end into your computer and the other into the wall. Ample plug points are available for electrical devices.

We had booked the apartment online months ahead at a discounted price that represented excellent value for money. Double bedrooms are also available at the hotel. One can breakfast downstairs at a small charge. We didn't try breakfast or the bar. On the first floor there's a useful mini-library with a range of pamphlets on things to do.

All in all, this is a venue that we strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed for five nights while attending a conference in Sao Miguel. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived, and check-in was efficient. When we needed help, the front desk was always helpful and friendly. The apartment on the top floor facing the ocean was spacious and well furnished. There is also a little balcony with two chairs and a little table if one wanted to sit outside, although it was extremely hot in September. The air conditioning took a while to figure out, but once we had it working, kept us comfortable. The included breakfast was more than satisfactory for starting the day. There is a computer in the lobby for guests to use. The location is also perfect for exploring the charming little town of Sao Miguel.

Room Tip: Pay more for a top floor ocean view apartment -- it's worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Whether it's your first trip to this UNESCO protected island group or you are a wizened re-explorer, you'll feel right at home at the Gaivota, a delightful boutique elevatored apartment hotel across from the port in Ponta Delgada, the capital city. The warm courtesy of this group of hotelie pros, from the owner to the reception, kitchen and housekeeping staff, makes a stay at this hardwood floored, green-oriented, balconied refuge a true treat. I have stayed here three times now and each time I forget that I am from the US and not a Portuguese native. But then, that's what Azoreanos are famous for: the "I'll give you the shirt off my back" sense of welcoming and hospitality.

I had some medical issues this time and needed some foot detox treatment. The staff noticed I was hobbling around with really swollen ankles (lymph issue now properly addressed so my ankles are back to normal after about a year) and Bruno, the owner/manager, actually drove me to an appointment at a wonderful detox center (they use very powerful foot baths, which attract internal pollutants at the ionic level--your feet end up sitting in a swamp, just awful) and then arranged for the owner, an extremely generous man who only charged me for two of the five treatments I received for five days in a row, to pick me up for my appointment. That was wonderful as I did not have a car, speak four words of Portuguese (Rosetta Stone and I are becoming friends but very slowly), and was only a temporary resident of this lovely space. Nobody had to do anything for me, but they did anyway. I suppose if you came across as a "superior" American they would treat you politely but would be basically all about business. But during the times I have been there I have been my good ol' goofy-friendly self and they really appreciate it. Most of the staff speak English--and the interesting thing I have found about this country is that people think they don't know that much English and are shy about speaking it; they actually do understand what you have to say, esp if you "point and click...lol. This is especially true among the younger generation. When I met with Jacinto Moniz at the detox clinic, he spoke no English and I spoke no Portuguese. But between hand signals, pointing, a few words of French, from Fatima, his nurse, some Italian, some German, a smattering of Spanish, and lots of laughter we managed with the help of a part-time interpreter who worked at one of Jacinto's other businesses to make clear what I needed to do to continue with the detox in the States. Special thanks, too, to Bruno for his translation. Another indication of the over-the-top attitude about helping that makes Gaivota so special.

And that's only the medical issue. They are very happy to make suggestions if you ask about the best value for restaurants, etc., the regular tourist stuff. And once you get to know them and they know how much you really love the area, they refer you to people who can take you on all sorts of wonderful out-of-the way places. That is not to say that you don't need a game plan and that they will hold your hand as you venture into this wonderful country--they have too much respect for you to do that. What I mean is that when I have stayed at Gaivota I have felt as though I was a part of a team of mutually appreciative people who love where they live, genuinely care for their clientele, and are basically a very kind and caring set of souls.

The price of the Gaivota, for what you get--kitchen, daily maid service, etc.--is far from super cheap but very reasonable. If you like to ensure the quality of the food you eat by cooking it yourself, the kitchens are more than adequate. Not all rooms have balconies and most European business people tend to stay in the smaller rooms with no balconies. The light is good and all rooms are equipped with gorgeous bathrooms and hardwood floors. The place is quiet--unless, of course, there is a major holiday on and everyone in town is out running around madly--and the guests respect one another's privacy. Gaivota is popular with the business crowd--the more than adequate breakfast, health -riented by the way and generous if that's your only meal--and I had the chance to visit with others. 'Smatter of fact, one of my really good acquaintances I met at the Gaivota dining room.

I guess you can tell I enjoy my visits to the Gaivota LOL. I highly recommend you contact them if you are planning a trip to the Azores. (By the way, it's easy to get to Ponta. If you are already in Europe, head for Lisbon and then catch a flight to the San Miguel airport. If you are traveling from the States or Canada, head for Logan Airport in Boston. SATA has three flights a week that take only a few hours, are reasonably priced, and tend to land on time.) Note that unless you like cold damp wet weather, which tends to be the rule in late November-early February, you'll probably want to restrict your visits to March-October as they tend not to have central heating, only fireplaces. I suppose some of the highest-end residences have such amenities but then very likely the residents head for the warmer climes when the cold weather hits. Think Seattle...actually, Ponta is as uncrowded as Seattle used to be...The summer is the high season and there are crowds. Yet it's never really crowded, not for a major hub. People drive on the right side of the road and the bulk of drivers are not homicidal maniacs; there are pedestrian crosswalks and people actually stop.

There is a ferry to Santa Maria island every summer, and the highlight of this spot is a major music festival in August. Along with folk and classical, jazz figures in quite strongly and there is a really good jazz club in Ponta which is the gathering point of the many jazz musicians who participate in the Ponta Delgada nternational jazz fest in October.

Give the Azores a look-see. Say hi for me to the folks at Gaivota. And most of all, happy trails, wherever they may lead you!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony suite...the view is really nice, even when the few floating hotels that can fit in...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MontanaBugDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very clean and spacious accomodation. Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the splendid promenade and harbour - perfect for afternoon cocktails and watching the busy holiday traffic. Provisions can be bought at the supermarket right next door. The terminals for all public busses to hiking destinations are 15 minutes away. On your return, if you are not exhausted from your walks, you can visit boutique shops, state of the art restaurants and many entertainment venues on the mole, just across the street. A fantastic holiday destination - will go back any time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerdsiewert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your choice in our Hotel. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel is over-rated, more likely a 3* hotel. The room was very big with a good bathroom. The breakfast could have more typical food (cheese and fruit) as well as coffee (expresso). The staff is very friendly and always willing to help us. Good internet access in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PortugalTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your choise in our Hotel. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunopires72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel S, Gestor de Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.4 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $65 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing