We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Lince is a buisiness hotel at the outskirts of Ponta Delgada, a bit outdated, and it certainly needs some maintenance. Rooms are spacious and pretty clean, but the plastic tarp under the sheets keeps you awake all night and makes you feel hospitalized. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the staff is very friendly, but the hotel deserves no more than two stars..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Lince Azores Great Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 660 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon in the Açores. Compared to the Atlantida hotel on Terceira, this hotel was a far second. The service was not as good from the desk agents, who most seemed annoyed with the tourism. The breakfast was good, but the coffee was not. No cappuccino or espresso was offered. The hotel is so big that you really lose the intimate feel that other hotels in the Açores offer. The fact that there is no wifi in the rooms was not good at all. We had to ask for an Internet cord at the front desk and it was only two feet long. Or you could sit in the lobby to use the net. Awful! The pool was nice. The hot tub was not cleanly. The sauna was nice. But there are no towels in the pool area. You have to use your own towels from the room. Another awful thing! Our room didn't have a hotel information packet in it and when I called to request another I was told that I must be wrong and must not have checked everywhere, even though I had. Begrudgingly, it seemed, another was sent up to us. I would probably not stay at this hotel again. I would search for other options.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Large rooms, great breakfast buffet, perfect location to visit the island but a bit far of the city centre (15min walk).
The swimming pool area needs to be refurbished and the hotel surrounding seems not being well-kept outside summer period.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at The Lince for our anniversary and birthday and had a wonderful time. The people at the reception desk are most kind and helpful. Our room was large and very clean and has a window that opens to the ocean breeze. We had a top floor ocean, city, mountain view (6th floor) and watched the ships come in and the fireworks at night. We ate a delicious variety of foods in the dining room each morning and had dinner one night which was very good. It is a 15 minute walk to the center of town "The Gates" of Ponta Delgada. This is the second time staying in this hotel. They do a fine job to make your stay a happy one. We will be back again.

Room Tip: 6th floor ocean/mountain/city view. You will have traffic noise but from a high floor level, not bad...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First of all, no hotel in Ponta Delgada is more than 3 stars, regardless of how it's rated. The accommodations are not what you go for. This hotel is way uphill and it is a hike to and from all restaurants, the historic district, and the harbor. It has also seen better days. BUT...the rooms on the 6th floor all have new beds, baths, and flat screen TVs. We took one of the only two suites, which had a bedroom identical to the other rooms, but also had a large living room and a second bathroom. It was well worth the added cost, which was modest. We also spent several days and had a chance to check out most of the other hotels in town. Many had MUCH nicer lobbies and common areas, but none of them had better/bigger bedrooms or mattresses as comfortable as ours. Breakfasts at the Lince were excellent. The staff were professional and polite. We actually got to like the longish walk back after a lunch or dinner in town. And the views from uphill were wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and a room on ocean view side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisingsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of my trip to Sao Miguel in May 2013. The check-in process was efficient and helpful and the rooms were clean, well-equipped and quite large. The only item they were missing was a kettle.

The location is among the best in Ponta Delgada, as the harbour is a 5 minute walk down the road, which was handy for us due to whale watching starting from the old harbour. There aren't many restaurants in this area of Ponta Delgada if you are not a fan of seafood, however, so be prepared to eat at the hotel, or eat what generally seemed to be either hamburgers or toasties as an alternative to fish.

The hotel's restaurant itself offers free buffet breakfast, which was generally very good, but for lunch and dinner it was confusing, as it was unclear as to whether it was a buffet as the menu said, or a set menu, which was also indicated by the way the menu was worded. There was also no mention of the price, so we did not eat there for these reasons. The swimming pool and fitness facilties were easily accessible and free, but the pool was NOT heated and felt very cold. There is, however, a jacuzzi to re-heat yourself in afterwards.

Overall, this hotel was modern, clean and the staff were helpful. The only downside was that there was a lack of clarity for what exactly the restaurant was offering in terms of dinner, but otherwise it is a very well equipped hotel that ticks all the boxes, with nice rooms, a good location, helpful staff and a wide range of facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is nice and modern. The staff at the front desk is great. They answered all our questions, gave us advice on what to visit and booked a car rental for us as well. Breakfast was included in the price and you can also have lunch and dinner in the restaurant as well. The room was nice and clean with all the amenities you might need. I especially enjoyed the fact the the flooring is wood and not carpet. The only thing I didn't really enjoy was the lumpy pillows on the bed. Other than that, I definitely recommend this hotel. It is walking distance to the marina and all the shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach-tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.3 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
Sao Miguel Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lince Azores Great Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lince Azores Great Hotel

Address: Avenida Dom Joao III 29, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $73 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lince Azores Great Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lince Azores Great Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lince Azores Great Hotel Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing