We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay could not have been better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta Delgada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duplex - Alojamentos Centro Comercial Solmar
Port Moody, BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our stay could not have been better”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our stay could not have been better. The apartment was very roomy for the 3 of us and all of the conveniences were supplied, including a washer and dryer. The location was excellent, walking distance to shops, groceries and restaurants. The view of the water was fabulous and we enjoyed a walk along the seawall. Beatrice answered any questions we had before we arrived and was available to us when needed. We would definitely recommend this apartment and would stay again without question.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarlenePortMoody_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Apologies for the late review.....please, just read the other five... It's all been said. Very large absolutely spotless apartment ,wonderful views, great locatiion.
Busy, friendly City and a beautiful island with plenty to absorb one's interest.
Thanks to Beatriz and your team.
We plan to return, soon, One week is not enough.

Room Tip: Hire a car! See the island at your own pace, Underground parking nearby (fee). Free safe on street o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doorbundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at the Sol Mar apartments for a week with 2 teenagers. The unit was spotless and the location could not have been better. The apartment was on 2 levels and there were 2 balconies overlooking the ocean. There is a grocery store next door and it is a 5 min walk to the town centre. The managers, Beatrice and Carlos were very attentive and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We actually stayed in the 4 Bedroom, 3 Bath apartment located on the 18th floor of the Solmar Avenida Center in Ponta Delgada. The apartment was very clean, spacious, well-equipped and quiet (excluding strong winds off the ocean two days.) Carlos and Beatrix, the Managers, were exceptional. Beatrix was there upon arrival and got us settled in. There is free wifi in the apartment along with satellite flat screen television. The views were unbelievable - across the city and the harbor with tall ships, a cruise ship and various fishing boats. The location is central to everything, with fine cafes on the first floor. Great find and very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeadowLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We always prefer an apartment to an hotel room when possible, and this apartment was perfect. Right on the waterfront in Ponta Delgada, great views and all the restaurants and attractions of the town right on the doorstep. The apartments are not luxurious, but modern, clean and very comfortable with all the amenities one needs. The fact that they are duplex apartments gives them an added sense of spaciousness, with the bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. We rented a "Duplex Standard" - they also have one "Duplex Plus" which is more luxurious, but also more expensive. The Duplex is part of the Solmar Avenida Centre, which is also a shopping center (which includes a small supermarket) and residential tower, so everything one needs is right outside the door. We rented a car in order to be able to explore the island - the onsite parking for an additional 5 Euros a day was very convenient and well worth it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, as are most people on this island. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Note to TripAdvisor: Please correct the address, which is not Madeira! The correct address is: Solmar Avenida Center, Avenida Infante D. Henrique 71, 9504-529 Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal. Tel +351 296 629 279 or +351 296 629 343

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We (family of 2 adults and 2 10 year olds) spent a week in this apartment hotel. We recommend it highly. The apartment was of an extremely high standard - spacious, comfortable and well-equipped - the location was excellent, the view from the balconies of the ocean wonderful and the staff extremely competent, friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank louisejpK_benhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEastern Massachusetts (USA)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The actual name of this place is Solmar Avenida Center Duplex Apartments. They have their own website with great photos. It is located on the Azores Island of St. Michael or Sao Miguel in the capital city of Ponta Delgada. I don't know why it says Madeira for the address because this apartment hotel is not in Madeira. The actual address is; Avenue Infante D. Henrique 71, 9504-529 Ponta Delgada, Azores.

I stayed there with my in-laws, my wife and our 4 year-old son for 13 nights. It cost me €1,500 for 13 nights. There are two bedrooms in each apartment. The bigger one has a balcony that overlooks the main Avenue of Ponta Delgada known as Avenida Infante D. Henrique. They gave us a roll-away bed for our son for no charge. My in-laws were in the other bedroom that was a bit smaller but they had no complaints. The five of us did not feel crowded at all in this place.

There is a full kitchen with dishes, pot and pans, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, large refrigerator, cooking stove/oven etc... Only one bathroom, which was the minor complaint that I could have, but I really can't complain.

The maid service came in once a week and cleaned the place top to bottom. There were plenty of towels and we just threw them in the washing machine as needed. The maid supervisor was Beatrice and she was a real nice lady and very helpful.

There is one large flat screen TV in the living room area, and air conditioning in the bedrooms.

The apartments are located on the third floor of a two-story shopping mall with lots of cafes and restaurants on the main level. The building is patrolled 24 hours a day by uniformed security and they don't put up with anything. On more than one occasion I observed them escorting local drunks and pests out of the mall. No one who isn't renting an apartment hotel is going to get onto the 3rd floor. There are several security cameras on the property and they are constantly monitored.

The person of contact that I dealt with from reserving the apartment hotel months in advance to check in on the date of arrival was Carlos Miranda and he was very helpful.

I'll attach some photos of the apartment and the local area. I would stay here again, (hopefully in 2011) and I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Btaz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
#13 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#10 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duplex - Alojamentos Centro Comercial Solmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duplex - Alojamentos Centro Comercial Solmar

Property: Duplex - Alojamentos Centro Comercial Solmar
Address: Madeira 9504-529, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9504-529, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duplex apartments are located on Ponta Delgada’s main avenue just across the marina, and at walking distance from the historical center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duplex - Alojamentos Centro Comercial Solmar Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing