We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”
Review of Furnas Lake Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnas Lake Villas
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Good location for a 3day stay very quiet and spotlessly clean. Expensive.
The rooms were fine but the kitchen lacked worktop space and the cooking facilities comprised of a microwave and 2 electrical rings. No oven.
We requested an iron and ironing board which never arrived
We had luke warm water for 24hours apparently due to a malfunction.
The TV was tempermental with a complicated box on top. The owners carefully explained how to use it and we followed the instructions but each time we switched the TV on there was some problem and in the end just didn't bother.
We did not have a laptop and I enquired where I could use the internet but was not offered the use of the one in reception.
A somewhat disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirkwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and can safely say that you won't find a better location in furnas. The villas were clean and modern with a good layout but the beds were rock solid hard, we both had sore backs every morning. The only thing that really disappointed us was that we arranged to go horse riding for our last night there and were told first that we were too early, then that they'd come and get us when they had found the boss. They came by an hour later to tell us they might be back at six and never came, so we wasted 3 hours of our last day waiting around and never got to go, no apology or explanation.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The only structures you see from the rooms are the other villas, which all fit nicely in the environment.

We liked: The villas are well designed and functional. The owners are extremely kind and eager to help with recommendations and suggestions. The villas are close enough to town yet not to close to be disturbed by it (you will definitely need a car though).

We did not like: There is no wireless access in the villas (but you can plug your PC for free if you travel with one in tow). Our fireplace did not work well. We tried repeatedly to turn it on, but as soon as the flammable substance burned, the fire would die. We wanted to rent bicycles to go around the lake (1h 20min on foot) but were asked to fork out €10 for each bike, since they only rent them per day. This is a bit extreme, since you can rent a car with unlimited kilometres for less than €40 per day.

We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Apartements of latest design, comfortable, full of light all day long with a nice view.
At the same time excessive prices, which is the reason why I won't return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cickai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass., USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Wasn't sure how our stay at the villas was going to turn out. It certainly exceeded expectations. We are us to having beautiful buffet breakfasts when travelling in Europe. It was so fun to be on our own. We went into the little town and picked up, eggs, bacon, potatoes and the delicious bollos ( I miss them so much!) and created our own. The cutest dog Peeshka would smell the bacon and come to our door. She never entered but would sit patiently outside and watched us. True dog lovers and missing our own dog she was great to have around. We even used the kitchen for dinner one night as my husband wanted to try and recreate a delicious lunch we had of small shrimp. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and pots and pans. The weather was a bit chilly at night so we appreciated th wood burning stove. Felt like home. Agree that the TV could be a bit larger but not an issue. Bathroom was large & bedroom was comfortable. The location was fine for us as we just wanted to explore the island and did not care to spend all our time in Sao Miguel. The lake across the street was a great place to go for a walk in the mornings or afternoon. We made friends with the fruit man a the lake as we kept going over to see the meat pulled from the furnas but kept missing by just minutes. The owner, daughter and Peeshka were informative and great to talk too. Unfortunatly I have no pictures to upload as we lost our camera the last day somewhere in Sao Miguel about a 1/2 hr before we left forthe airport. I'll forever miss my pictures of Peeshka and the beautiful island of Sao Miguel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanttogonow_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

If your looking for an anti stress, this is the place. Simple and effective studios away from the city rush.

Don't expect luxury or supra room service. The staff is always there but this is no city hotel. This is as simple as it should in this scenario.

The place is very quiet and has a good value for money. Also try some of the radical experiences which are great.

A must go!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtalmeida54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Very well put in the middle of its surroundings, these award winning villas are very spacious and interesting!
The first time I saw the buildings I just fell in love with them and I just wish I had a weekend house like that.
Architecture is amazing, construction is very good but the decoration could have a bit more attention to details… The bedroom is very simple as is the bathroom.
The huge living room windows just knocks everyone out with its view, either it’s a foggy day outside or a very shinny one!
The place takes a bit to heat up… so use the fireplace and just read a book…
TV is a bit limited and small… a modern TV would be nice, as well as some more channels, but I guess you don’t actually want to go there to watch TV.
The swimming pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures, but how many days will you be able to sit by the pool in S. Miguel, specially in the Furnas area? Not many, that’s for sure!
Staff is very friendly and helpful, just like a family business should be!
Breakfast is way too expensive… when you’re in Ponta Delgada just stop at a supermarket and buy some supplies for breakfast and you’ll be fine in the villa’s kitchen!

Recommend it and will come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martateixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
1.6 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
1.8 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
16.8 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
270 reviews
10.5 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
400 reviews
6.4 mi away
Convento de Sao Francisco
Convento de Sao Francisco
#26 of 41 in Sao Miguel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnas Lake Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnas Lake Villas

Property: Furnas Lake Villas
Address: Estrada Regional do Sul, Lagoa das Furnas | Lagoa das Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-090, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnas Lake Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnas Lake Villas is considered one of the boldest tourist and architectural projects on the island of São Miguel. It became particularly known around the world for the Scandinavian input on the architecture of the buildings, but also on the interior design, while maintaining high modern standards and at the same respecting nature. Keeping a familiar and welcoming charisma and a modern and relaxing environment. Here, gardens and dense mountainous vegetation surround a peaceful area with 10 modern and fully equipped bungalows, swimming pool, reading areas, restaurant and bar, family and play room. Guest can hike and bike around the property and the lake (just 150 m from us), horse riding, canoeing, as well as all the other activities that the Islands offer, from whale watching to snorkeling and surfing. Furnas Lake Villas is just 35 min drive from the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Furnas Lake Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnas Lake Villas Hotel
Furnas Lake Villas Sao Miguel, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing