We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
288
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar private villa other guests sao miguel bar caloura perfect hosts our honeymoon boutique hotel fish restaurant bed and breakfast place to stay infinity pool each morning perfect base breakfast pavilion small hotel an ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 299 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2015

Nick and Chris have something really good here: a beautiful boutique hotel close by delicious restaurants, stunning coastline, world class recreation, and not far from bigger towns and an international airport. The rooms are very nice indeed and the bed was large and perfectly comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and advice about what to do in the area was right on the mark. In fact, for me the biggest value add was being able to communicate with Nick in advance for local advice. We've stayed at the larger hotels on Sao Miguel and there is never a person you can use as a resource for local advice, but Quinta do Mar is different. Nick was very helpful in advance and arranged rental cars for us on Sao Miguel and Santa Maria as well as answering a number of other questions. He may not answer his emails promptly, and that is certainly an area for improvement — no offense meant Nick :-) — but if you keep nudging him you will find him reliable and thorough. I elected to send my advance payments as bank wires as my bank does not charge me for this, but to our mutual dismay an intermediary bank swallowed up €20 from each wire transaction leaving Nick short €40. Although it had nothing to do with Quinta do Mar, Nick was gracious enough to absorb the loss to keep my vacation tranquil, for which I am very grateful. Any visitors wiring funds from outside of the European Union should beware of bank wires and prefer payment by credit card instead! We came up each night for nightcaps at the very reasonable honor bar and checked our email on the terrace while overlooking the ocean and full moon. All in all our stay was very nice. I wish we could've stayed longer, and would definitely return for more visits.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Odd_Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed four nights based on the tripadvisor reviews which are fully justified. This is a great place to stay - four huge luxury hotel standard rooms with their own balconies, set in lush gardens. The communal areas are great - spacious and with great views. The honesty bar is well stocked and reasonably priced and Nick and Chris are great hosts.
It's a 20min drive into Ponta Delgada or 10mins to Vila Franca so easy to use as a base for tours and activities. A huge bonus is being able to walk (5mins) to Bar Caloura on the seafront where the fresh fish is excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2015

Quinta do Mar is a gem in the lovely town of Caloura with beautiful grounds and comfortable, large rooms. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would not hesitate to return again. Nick, Chris, and Gilda were all welcoming and helped us plan some of our days and activities on the island. The breakfasts were wonderful with an abundance of fruit to start you off, and eggs made many different ways with bacon, ham, tomatos, mushrooms etc. All the food was fresh and local and you could really tell. The bed and breakfast can be a bit hard to find, but it is the perfect spot on the island to stay as it is fairly central and not far from the main roadways. You will very much enjoy your stay. Thank you Chris, Nick and Gilda!

Room Tip: None of the rooms have wi-fi, only the common areas.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

Chris, Nick, and Gilda (and the puppies) were very welcoming. They made us feel at home, and were very kind. The grounds as well as the room are beautiful and very spacious. We loved sitting out on the patio (THE VIEW) and meeting the other couples who were staying as well. The food was amazing, and they cooked a 4 course Italian dinner the last night we were there in celebration of another couples 40th anniversary and our wedding. They were the last stop for us on our honeymoon and they made everything perfect! I wish we would have had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ktdouglas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at Quinta do Mar six years ago and when the chance came for a return visit we didn't hesitate. It was every bit as good as we remembered with the added bonus of the great fish retaurant down the road which was just a small cafe previously. We also enjoyed Chris's beautiful breakfasts and a superb evening meal and it was as beautiful and relaxing as we recalled, Nick, Chris and Gilda made us feel so welcome. As well as the delights in Caloura, it is a good place from which to explore other places on the island, driving on easy roads lined with gorgeous flowers.
Carol, Cheshire

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews