We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of Quinta do Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sao Miguel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta do Mar
Ranked #1 of 45 Sao Miguel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montabaur, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Quinta do Mar is perfectly situated to discover Sao Miguel and to enjoy the atlantic ocean.
But the main reason to come back, is the wonderful service and relaxed atmosphere. Thanks to Chris, we enjoyed a very delicious breakfast, different every day, yummy cakes in the afternoon and got the best restaurant recommendations for dinner. Gilda made a perfect service during breakfast and keeping the rooms clean.
The rooms are very spacious, have a nice view to the ocean and very comfortable beds. A wonderful garden with pavilion and terrace invite to spend relaxed days at the hotel. Beverages and snacks were always available to a very fair price.
Nick took care of our organizational needs, so we could just relax and enjoy our stay.
It`s an amazing place and we can`t wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irlandfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
204
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastcote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wonderful, tasteful hotel in beautiful, relaxed unspoilt surroundings. The service, breakfast and room were excellent. This was our first trip to the Azores and didn't know what to expect as we booked primarily for dolphin and whale watching which was a great experience in itself. The island is beautiful, unspoilt with amazing views. The hotel is a great base for walks around the Cory Shearwater sanctuary and down to the little harbour with its fresh fish restaurant and if you hire a car there is plenty to explore on the island. Bathing in the naturally heated volcanic pools looking out to sea was a highlight. Highly recommended.
Thanks to Nick, Chris and Gilda (and Porto the dog) for a happy honeymoon
Louise and David

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've read everything that has been written about Quinta do Mar and I have to say that it is just not true. It's far better than that!
Everything that one would expect from a first class hotel with much more. We felt like guests whose needs and interests were paramount. We wondered if the lack of a restaurant for evening meals would be a problem; it wasn't, given the proximity of restaurants, especially the Bar Caloura down at the harbour.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We can only echo previous reviews in their praise for the level of informal hospitality at Quinta do Mar. Far more relaxing and personal than staying in a conventional hotel; you feel at home as soon as you walk through the front gates. The rooms are airy and spacious with sea views, and the real treat of the day comes in the morning, being served tasty breakfasts whilst overlooking the sea and chatting to the other guests and Chris/Nick. Lovely all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

All the good things are true: hotel is beautifully located, there is a fantastic restaurant within walking distance, swimming pool is great, garden is impressing, owners and staff are very helpful and kind, breakfasts are really tasty. I won't expand on this as you can read other reviews.
On the negative side:
- the owner before the arrival/booking ignored our emails for weeks, I don't why, but in our case communication was a problem
- rooms are just usual hotel rooms, they lack atmosphere, still comfortable, clean and spacious, but I wouldn't call them cosy or particularly pleasant
- no internet in rooms
In overall it was a good experience, but I'm a little surprised place gets so many excellent reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomasz592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon District, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Quinta do Mar for 3 nights. The rooms we're clean and comfy, the grounds were tropical and well kept (the pool was not huge but very nice), the view of the ocean was great, the staff were very friendly. The cooked breakfasts were very tasty. There was an excellent restaurant in walking distance on the ocean. I would certainly go there again and encomienda it to friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We can only say that our stay in Quinta Do Mar is just as previous reviews suggest. Perfect.
Nick, Chris and Gilda offer the best accommodation, service and friendliness any holiday maker could wish for.
We also experienced the call of cory's shearwater during our evening drinks, our fellow holiday makers want this as their 'ringtone'. A bonus of having only four rooms is that you can ( if you want to!) get to know your fellow holiday makers. We enjoyed meeting up with them on the terrace or arranging to go on a trip together.
The hillside setting is very picturesque, with little cobbled paths leading to pretty garden areas and steps up to different levels. We think we came back fitter!
Well done to the hosts, you've got it right bigtime.
Paul and Sally

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ped2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
10.9 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#8 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
11.4 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
8.8 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Mar

Property: Quinta do Mar
Address: Rua da Portela 43 | Caloura, Água de Pau, Lagoa, Sao Miguel 9560-216, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Miguel
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a small, 4-bedroomed, British owner-run 'boutique hotel' in the popular, picturesque fishing hamlet of Caloura. It's ideally situated, half-way along the south coast, 15 minutes from the capital and 20 minutes from the airport. Relax on the terrace, overlooking the pool with the sea beyond, enjoying a carefully prepared hot breakfast. The informality of a private villa, the comforts of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Mar Hotel
Quinta Do Mar Sao Miguel, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing