We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Convento de Sao Francisco
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Sao Miguel
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relax in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Characterful and friendly, if basic, hotel. Not a corporate chain and not to be judged by first impressions. Recommend a hire car because aside from the marina activities, there isn't much to do in the town.

Beds are on the firm side but the architecture is splendid with most of the original features retained.

Highly recommend this hotel which is vastly superior to the modern boxes you will find in Porto Delgado.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

As with other reviews I have to agree that this is not a shiny modern hotel. It is however a remarkable building (albeit a work in progress) and would appeal to visitors with a sense of adventure. A list of features and services available would be useful in the rooms and we had to explore to find to tv room where the wifi connection was situated. Breakfast was a help yourself affair but full of regional foods. OK beds weren't the most comfortable but I've slept in worse. With a bit more work and attention to comfort this accommodation could be amazing I hope the owners are able to complete this project.

Room Tip: Take a tour of all rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the El Convento de Sao Francisco for a week and found the place a revelation. Make no mistake this is not a corporate box hotel and if you want that go elsewhere. From the outside it is uninspiring but once through the large entrance doors you are transported into a tranquil well renovated environment. Our huge room was on the first floor and both our bedroom and bathroom had a window overlooking the small island just off the coast. The bed was firm but to our liking and both the sheets and towels changed regularly. You can find faults in the accommodation such as, like often in France, the shower just comes off the bath and unless you want to stand up and hold it yourself, you have to have a bath shower. However its these things that make staying in a place like this different. Breakfast is served from 7.30pm so if you want an early start for a whale/dolphin watching trip or a walk elsewhere on the island you can. It is all laid out for you and you help yourself and squeeze your own fresh orange juice. There was always at least three different cheeses, four different types of breads, four or five different preserves, try the fig one, and fresh pineapple grown on the island and maybe even from the greenhouses next to the Convent.
Manuel and his wife were always willing to give advice, help and the loan of a hairdryer and their two children were adorable. Manuel is very talented and we saw him creating wonderful statues which is just one of his hobbies. It was like staying with an Azorean family but not in an intrusive way.
We tried the large pool but it was still a little too cold in late May. There is an honesty bar serving mainly spirits. Our room also had a kitchen area but limited items, more suited to bringing something back than preparing there. Meals are so cheap in the restaurants why would you.
Certainly our room was extremely peaceful with just the noise of birds and chickens. We had a car and this made an excellent central base from which to explore the island. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a sense of adventure and who has moved on from the carbon copy box rooms you see in every city. The tv worked for us for the five minutes we used it in the week.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor overlooking the pool/gardens and island in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A stay at the convento is a very different experience. If you regularly stay in boring corporate hotels then this place will be a breath of fresh air, though it may not be to everyone's taste.

The rooms are huge and if you are staying during the low season when we were, they can be a bit on the chilly side so make sure you have suitable pj's!

Some rooms have extra facilities like kitchenette or separate lounge but they all have huge bathrooms with baths and showers. Our room had a lovely sea view.

There is also a big swimming pool and pretty gardens to sit out in. The breakfast consists of local cheese and bread, and the famous Sao Miguel pineapples. There is also a juicing machine so fresh orange juice is a daily treat.

The convento is situated at one end of Vila Franca do Campo so would recommend a car as the good restaurants are down at the harbour which is a good 25 minute walk away. Also a car is essential to get from the airport and also explore the island. You would be a bit bored here if you didn't have one and especially if the weather wasn't so good.

Free wifi is available in the lounge too.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the sea view rooms at the back of the convento.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine_and_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

i would hardly describe this as an hotel, it is much more like a hostal. The rooms are described as having a tv and telephone but these were only available in a communal area and the tv remotes had no batteries so could not be used. The room was spacious though we had neither sea nor mountain view only a view of the courtyard. The bed, far from sumptuous, was a thin mattress on a hardwood base and was extremely uncomfortable, we didn't have a single night's sleep. It was impossible to complain, no reception just the owners who spoke very little English.
Breakfast was great but after that you couldn't even get a cup of tea. On the whole we were disappointed with our stay in the Convent as were other guests we spoke to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The old convent has been refurbished well and is a stunning place to stay. The rooms are very spacious as is the whole place - in fact we wondered if they could've made better use of some of this space - perhaps a bar or sauna!?

There is a great pool which was almost always all ours and strangely there is a squash court too!?

The breakfast is great and the hosts are lovely too.

The most annoying thing about the room was that there was no fan/AC and there was also a large wooden sculpture above the bed which made it virtually impossible to sit up/read/relax in bed.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

On arrival we were met by Jose and Amanuela (maybe not the right spelling) who from the start were the perfect hosts. They made our stay in their beautiful home a very memorable one. We were given a great room with a fantastic view of the coast and the island of Vila Franca. We were orignally assigned a different room which was absolutely beautiful but did not have a sea view. On request we were immediately moved to the sea view and enjoyed 5 nights there. For the remaining 2 nights we were by mutual agreement in our original room but moving there was not a problem as Amanuela moved everything for us so we had the time to spend enjoying the surroundings of the hotel and town. Breakfast was great and served to us at exactly the time we requested and even when we left on the Saturday, it was ready and waiting at 5.30am.
The building itself is just quite simply the best place that we have ever stayed in and no more words are needed. The photos say it all. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
4.3 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#8 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
8.1 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
7.6 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pestana Bahia Praia
Pestana Bahia Praia
#1 of 2 in Vila Franca do Campo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
12.6 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento de Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento de Sao Francisco

Property: Convento de Sao Francisco
Address: Jardim Antonio Silva Cabral | Vila Franca do Campo, Sao Miguel 9680-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Convento de Sao Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Convento de Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento De Sao Francisco Hotel
Convento De Sao Francisco Sao Miguel, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing