We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Furnas

Furnas
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.95*
and up
Walking Tour: Ribeira Funda and Furnas from Ponta Delgada
Ranked #5 of 149 things to do in Sao Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nice city with lots of interesting places - few viewpoints nearby, a lake, amazing Terra Nostra Park with natural pool.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    268
    40
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
293 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Geiger's and Furnas Park so beautiful and peaceful
I like all about the place the hotel the 5 o'clock tea.
I cannot say anything bad about the place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
449 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Furnas during a tour of Sao Miguel. We enjoyed all of it and recommend a visit. See the church, park, and caldeiras.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing view and hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went to Furnas by bus from Ponta Delgada. The trip was more than two hours but I did not mind because it is near the coast. The village is very nice, the hiking tour near the Furnas Lake is nice. After I went to the Terra Nostra Garden. For me it is more a forest than a garden, amazing flora and plants. Take swimming suit with you, to take a bath in the thermal bath.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vestfyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Furnas in Sao Miguel when our group of 23 from Toronto, Canada went on a transatlantic cruise in November 2012. the place is fantastic, beautiful sceneries and very clean. We witnessed how they cooked a local favorite Cozido a stew cooked in the ground for a few hours, we saw the water boiling and sprouting from the earth, went to a miraculous chapel Senora de Paz, tea plantation, etc. we enjoyed our time there it's different from anything we have ever seen, this a site you must visit, thanks to Ricardo Amorin, our driver / guide,and also the manager of Amazing Tours. Our tour was simply outstanding and without hesitation I can confidently recommend his services to future visitors to this amazing place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalisay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnas also viewed

 

Been to Furnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing