We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step up a gear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caloura Hotel Resort
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Sao Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Step up a gear”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

"STEP UP A GEAR”
My first impressions were mixed when we arrived very late at night having suffered a shared transfer (with pax from another hotel) from the airport. A very pleasant reception area but no assistance was offered with our baggage on check in. Absolutely charming, helpful reception staff at all other times. Marked carpets in hallways and in the room.
No tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, which I find unusual and annoying these days. Toiletries were limited to soap, a shower cap, a shoe shine pad as well as a liquid soap dispenser over the bath. The rooms were large with adequate storage, plenty of drawer space and ample clothes hangers. The housekeeping staff did a good job. The mini bar was priced much as you would expect for a hotel with no complaints about using the fridge for personal stuff. A very small television had local cable channels with CNN and BBC World News. A small adequate safe was in one of the wardrobes. The air conditioning was more than adequate to cope with an outside temperature of 24 degrees. The soundproofing was excellent. A very private balcony on the top floor of the west wing was ideal for a late evening treat of sitting with a glass of wine watching the sunset.
The meals were more than adequate in quantity; breakfast had some outstanding bread rolls and croissants. The scrambled eggs and bacon were not to everyone’s' taste as they were rarely more than warm and that was normal over the two weeks. Plenty of other choices though, fresh fruit, cereals, cold meat and cheeses etc. The restaurant did get crowded for breakfast on a couple of occasions and became slightly claustrophobic. The dinner buffet standard was reasonable at 24 Euros, bear in mind that was for a 5 course meal, including drinks, if you could manage that amount of food!
Wi-Fi was available in the room, a bit intermittent but in the main was a good connection.
The sauna was also a chargeable item with payment for a minimum of two persons required.
The hotel is situated a 5 minute drive from the village and the walk there would be enough to work up an appetite, the narrow roads and the lack of pavements are worth noting and there are numerous hills to walk up before reaching the village. I was surprised that the hotel did not have any form of courtesy bus for patrons going to the village or Ponta Delgada. Even with a small charge I am sure that it would be well patronised. A car is virtually essential to get around the island. For self sustaining holidaymakers there is a large supermarket near the main hospital in Ponta Delgada, follow the airport signs until you see the hospital sign then Parque Atlantico is obvious. There is also a small mercado in the village for everyday items. Sao Miguel prices were on a par with Britain and in many cases much more expensive. Ponta Delgada is an easy 15 minutes drive from the hotel.
One incident rang alarm bells for me. A LARGE cockroach ran across my wife's shoulder as she lay reading in bed, it was duly dispatched but the staff never raised an eyebrow when I brought it to their attention the next day. Another large one appeared in the corridor next day. They did however call in the local pest control who I can only assume did the necessary work. Never a word or note from the management apologising for the trauma to my wife or explanation as to work carried out.
With all the rooms facing the sea, the top floor is best suited for those who like to relax on the balcony as the sun sets. The pool was a pleasant area and no need for the sad early risers to run down and place towels on their favourite spot. Plenty of sun loungers, plenty of space and a splendid view over the sea. A very obliging snack bar opens from 10 till 6. The sun shades at the pool could do with some refurbishment.
The hotel suits those who enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday. We were never once disturbed by noise. It will probably have to step up a gear if they want to compete with more accessible tourist areas. That said, whoever had the foresight to build a hotel in this location many years ago deserves credit. The staff were excellent throughout our stay. I think the hotel suits a niche market. Their website needs reviewing; it is 4 years out of date; half board at 16 Euros extra would be a bargain! Every organisation has to move on and the hotel will have to have a good look at the level of the facilities it provides if tourism to the Azores islands increases.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Billg715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    169
    42
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
259
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We moved to this hotel from Ponta Delgada where we first stayed in highly disappointing Hotel do Colegio.

If you travel to Azores you propably ar after nice ocean views, beautiful nature and quietness. This is what Caloura offers. It is situated appr. 25 km from Ponta Delgada, on a cliff looking to the ocean. It has nice pool where you can watch ocean waves glimmer. Every room has balcony to the sea.

Hotel caters lot of tour operator travellers, so every night there is a buffet table for dinner. You can also order a la carte which is quite ok. The only minus is that restaurant closes at 22 and most people are done by 21. So no late dinners.

Lobby area is a bit anonymous and needs refurnishing. Colours in rooms are red and yellow, so not really harmoniuous as the plae itself.

But in totat: if I would return to Azores, I would stay definately in Caloura!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberry74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Two couples who've known each other for decades, we picked the Caloura almost by accident off the internet. What a lucky find. By far the best value we've ever had.

Getting There. Navigating your way from the airport, through Ponta Delgada onto the main highway east can be a challenge. Look for signs for Lagoa. Once on the highway, it's a straight ride about 10 miles into the village of Agua Da Pau. Don't be confused when the divided highway turns into a bucolic country road, then a narrow village street. There are signs leading to the hotel, but you need to keep your eyes open as the roads twist and turn.

The Hotel: Absolutely beautiful setting, up on a cliff with a post card view of the Atlantic. The main entance is nothing special but once you get through the lobby, the view is amazing. All rooms have ocean views. There are several paths from the hotel down to the gorgeous black-sand beach which is surrounded by steep towering cliffs. There's also a cliff walk (I'd advise wearing sneakers as the volcanic rock can be sharp and slippery). Beautiful plants abound. The hotel itself appears to have been recently renovated and is impeccably well maintained. The lobby is spacious; there are several seating areas with spectacular views. Outside, a great pool are plus a two level outdoor patio/bar all with the panoramic ocean view. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was outstanding.

The staff: Very helpful. They gave us lots of tips on things to do. The springs at Furnas are close by as are the crater lakes at Sete Cidades. All of their restaurant recommendations were fanstastic - try either of the Melenio family's restaurants in the village.

We were sad to leave, but we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonroesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Having spent the first week of our holiday in Ponta Delgada, getting to know our way around, we moved along the coast to this hotel armed with a hire car. You really do need a car to make the best of this location..

Our room was on the top floor of the west wing overlooking the bay and cliffs beyond. Couldn't have been better! This wing also overlooks the hotel lawns and so was very quiet (the east wing overlooks the pool and so would be less secluded). The views from the room were fantastic and the sunsets excellent. The gardens and lawns were well kept and colourful. The best thing though happened just after dark, when the Cory's Shearwaters came in to roost on the cliff and the amzing sound of their calling continued well into the night - very soothing.

The food in the restaurant was really good. We were B&B and opted for an evening meal, rather than go exploring. The buffet evening meal was was quite sufficient, although the was a la carte available. Didn't try the a la carte, as there didn't seem much point.The snack barby the pool area was also very pleasant and overlooked the sea. The was also a path from the snack bar down the cliff to the sea through old gardens. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful.

About 10 minutes walk away there were 2 beaches. You could be in Agua de Pau or Caloura village in 30 minutes or so on foot. I think it's a better location the Punta Delgada for exploring the island, but as I say, you do need a car.

I'd go back there any time!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandGill_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Having just returned from the Caloura Hotel Resort I agree with many of the points in some of the recent reviews, threadbare carpet in one area, dated furnishings etc. However, in its favour, we found the location excellent, the staff first-class and we even slept well on the hard mattresses! We had breakfast at different times and never experienced any shortages and most of the people who opted for the evening buffet seemed to enjoy it. However , with Ponta Delgada only a 15-20min drive along the new road, we elected to mostly have our evening meals in the restaurants there.
All in all we had a very good holiday and will certainly return to the Azores.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stournavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Very, very quiet hotel, great views but not much going on. Food was ok by Azorean standards, but we found it quite dull and repetetive after a few days.

The biggest problem we had was the beds. It was like sleeping on concrete. We have a firm mattress at home but this was taking firmness a step too far. As a result neither of us had a good nights sleep while we were there.

In my opinion if you want to explore the island, you need a car, as the hotel is miles from anywhere.

Have to say we have had better holidays and we won't be returning to the Azores

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed at the Calora 2 years ago and on returning this years expected it to have moved forward, it hasn't. The hotel is still beautifully clean and maintained but it is showing signs of tiredness, thread-bare carpets in high usage parts of the restaurant and the chairs in the bar could all do with a good clean.
The restaurant menu is exactly the same except for the price which has gone up 33% in two years from 18e to 24e for the buffet. The vegtables on the buffet were not hot and overcooked. The A La Catre menu is quite limited with 4 or five starters and main courses, it appeared to be exactly the same as our last visit. Portions are large though and unless you have a very very large appetite 2 courses are more than enough, the steak is very tender and the prawns huge, so A La Carte is better value and cheaper than the buffet if you only have 2 courses. At the breakfast buffet served from 7 to 10 if you went in much after 8.30 they were always running out if scambled eggs and bacon. 2 years ago the sausages served were local made butcher made type chipolata's, this year it was very over cooked frankfurter - yuk - but perhaps this was in defference to the high number of German visitors at the hotel. Lunch at the snack bar on the terrace is very good value in a stunning location.

I have to say thogh that this hotel is in one of the most beautiful locations, it is clean and the staff are very helpful, almost all having been there for some time, we only noticed one change from two years ago and they are all local Azoreans. What they do need is an executive cheff to bring the restaurant up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

So in conclusion, if you can put up with the limits of the restaurant (I don't think any of the other hotel restaurants are any better) this is probably the best located hotel on the Island and being certally positioned is good base to explore from, make sure you have a hire car as part of your package, we booked with Sunville who include a hire car as part of the package. As we were in a party of four this time we upgraded to a 4x4 so we could see the more inaccessible parts of this Very Beautiful Island and travel in comfort on the roads which are very rough in places. Eating out is fun and we found an excellent Italian, Villa Chianti, in Lagoa which had an Azorean twist to it somehow and the Atlantico in Vila Franco de Campa which specialized in locally caught fish. Taxi's are reasonably priced and for evenings out the Hotel reception with willingly book restaurants and taxi's for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrysnowtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
11.5 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
9.6 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
290 reviews
8.1 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Pestana Bahia Praia
Pestana Bahia Praia
#1 of 2 in Vila Franca do Campo
336 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloura Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloura Hotel Resort

Property: Caloura Hotel Resort
Address: Jubileu, Sao Miguel 9560-206, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caloura Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caloura Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloura Hotel são Miguel
Caloura Hotel Resort Sao Miguel, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing