We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caloura Hotel Resort
Nearby Hotels
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Nova Hotel(Ponta Delgada)
$154
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel do Mar(Povoacao)(Great Value!)
$93
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Convento de Sao Francisco(Sao Miguel)(Great Value!)
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$152
$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solar do Conde(Sao Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sao Miguel Park Hotel(Ponta Delgada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Matriz(Ponta Delgada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
202
181
46
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
181
46
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssao miguelponta delgadaevery eveningbuffet or a la cartelarge poolbeautiful hotelprivate balconypeaceful staystayed here for nightsgood sizecliff tophired a carbreakfast buffet was goodking sizeearly aprilnice gardentide pools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 436 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have staid in this hotel on several occasions, just for weekends, in special occasions (new years eve, birthdays), since I used to be a local, and I was never disappointed.
The view is really beautiful, it has a small but charming and reserved beach (public) just a few meters away. You need to rent a car, not only for the location of the hotel, but also because this is the better way to get to now the island.
The rooms are clean and spacious, with simple but really classy decor.
You can ask the breakfast to be served in your room. You pay an extra fee, but it´s nothing special and for those lazy mornings it´s worth the money.
The restaurant is a bit too expensive, but it's worth to try, the view is amazing and we can see all is fresh and well made.
The staff is very helpful and really nice, always with a smile to offer.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone that enjoys a quiet time, beautiful view to the sea and a welcoming environment, to enjoy after a long day of traveling around the amazing island of Sao Miguel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFMDSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Costing a little more than most similar hotels, the value is in the personal space. We stayed here for a week and explored the island by car in the mornings, arriving back at the hotel to relax by the pool in the afternoons. No matter whether we arrived at lunchtime, 5pm, or anything in between, there was always sun loungers and pool shade umbrellas available.

Very few children here, they are obviously aimed (and priced) at couples rather than families, but our 13 year old son had plenty to do around the pool and nearby beaches. It made for a quieter, more peaceful stay than we usually have.

While the dinner buffet was excellent, it is expensive at 25 Euros, but that price includes as much wine (from bottles, not a caraffe) and beer as you want as well as coffee. My only complaint was that a 13 year old child was charged the full adult price, while not being allowed the alcohol, which must make up a significant proportion of the overall buffet price.

Room was clean and fine, with good air-con. All service was excellent, staff friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are all on the ground floor, with patio doors opening straight onto gardens, so a bit less private / secure.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This resort is nice and the location on the ocean is second to none, but the food is so expensive you may want to fast. You definitely need to rent a car, so you can get out (not possible on foot as you need to climb for km!). The pool is nice and the rooms are nice and big. Breakfast was good, but not traditional. Nice atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our second visit to the island and our second hotel on it. We booked this one having seen it's location last year. On the edge of a bluff with great views over the sea, but the downside of this is that it is a the bottom of a very steep and twisty (but picturesque)road from the nearest village, with few eating out opportunities nearby. I would say a car is essential if you stay here unless you are happy to lounge at the pool all day.
As others have said, our room and the lower floor corridor to it had a definite musty smell about them and need redecorating urgently. The furniture in the room looked a but dated but functioned OK. 2 single beds and plenty of storage. It didn't bother us, but only 2 English speaking channels on the ancient TV.
Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, but we thought that reception, whilst very efficient could have been a bit more friendly and welcoming.
This hotel is reported to be popular with English visitors but during our stay it was mostly other nationalities, European and Americas.
We enjoyed the hotel food. Breakfast was an excellent fully stocked buffet with something for everyone. The buffet dinner (€25 per person including wine, beer, coffee) was great value and there was always plenty of choice of hot and cold items. The typical Azores night was particularly interesting, together with local craft and dancing displays.
The pool is a good size for a decent swim, with plenty of sunbeds around it and great views over the terraced gardens down to the seashore.

Room Tip: All rooms face out to sea in kind of a 3 legged shape. The 2 sides forming the V are next to and overlook the pool with sea view but a more restricted view of the coastline. The far right leg overlooks a large lawn and also has views of the beaches and coastline to the right of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glentyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Caloura for four nights as part of our honeymoon trip. The hotel has a good location for touring the island. Not much to do agua de pau, the small town walking distance from the hotel, there is one restaurant there Restaurante Pérola Do Oceano that is good(the hotel said it was bad but we went anyway and really enjoyed it, see separate review)
.
Back to the hotel, the breakfast buffet was good, enough selection to get us started for the day. Lunch we were either out touring or grabbed something at the cafe type restaurant near the pool. Reasonable prices and beer is not expensive. Dinner, we had the prefix buffet the first night it was very average, nothing special, 25/person but it includes wine and beer. If you want to drink a lot then it could be a fair deal. I would look elsewhere for dinner.
The room, like everyone says has a great view, looking south, but because of the orientation of the hotel you more or less get a sunrise and sunset view. Great start watching too, little light pollution since we're in the middle of the ocean. The actual room was of good size, clean and with basic amenities. Its not fancy. There is no option for a queen size bed, only two twin beds next to each other. The furniture on the deck is plastic. You will not think you are at the four seasons.
Most of the staff was average on the friendliness/helpfulness scale. We had to really ask them pointed questions to get the information we needed, they did not offer extra ideas or suggestions. The one exception was the one lady who worked at the pool cafe, she was super nice, personable, and easy to talk to. We learned from our guide that the islands don't really have a strong hospitality background and they are just starting to gear up for more tourism and part of that is training people to work in that type of a service economy so over time this should improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the non pool side of the hotel, I think that would be the west wing.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews