We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel, can't do better for this price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residencial Vista do Vale
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Sao Miguel
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent about a week in this hotel, and can only highly recommend it!
All was really great in this hotel. First, and the most important to us, Beatrice will welcome you extremely well (and she speaks a perfect french!). She is always ready to give you advices about Furnas or Sao Miguel, and always work hard to fill all your needs, always with a really apreciable smile (what is had to find in bigger hotels!)
For its really low price, the breakfast is really great to begin a good day in Furnas.
The hotel is idealy located, at 5 minutes by foot from main restaurants or places to see.
The rooms are big as needed, with a wonderful view and a private balcony on the valley, and the cleaning is always really well done, with a surprising sense of detail.
To note too that a computer with an internet access is available at the reception.
To conclude, at this price it will be hard to be a better and more welcoming place, don't hezitate one second!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent four nights at Vista do Vale in the beautiful village of Furnas on the island of São Miguel, Azores. One of the main attractions in Furnas is theTerra Nostra Park, a beautiful botanical garden with a pool with warm and muddy waters. Furnas also offers many hot springs, including mineral, sulphurous and mud sources, widely reputed for their therapeutic qualities.

Our stay at Vista do Vale concluded a month-long vacation in the Azores (São Miguel, Terceira, Santa Maria and back to São Miguel). With the patio door open at night and an abundance of fresh air from the green mountains, we had the best four nights of sleep of the entire trip at Vista do Vale.

First impressions are always important and usually right. The grand entrance to Vista do Vale is welcoming and the lobby area was very clean. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Beatriz (Beatrice) who owns and operates the hotel. I must be said that Beatrice is fully fluent in French and English. All e-mail correspondence from Canada was promptly handled by Beatrice in English. Beatrice is a consummate professional who has 20 years experience in the hotel industry. Her attention to detail makes you feel like you are lodging in a four star establishment for a third of the price.

We spent a month in the Azores; Vista do Vale was the only hotel with a swimming pool and a functional elevator: the later is a nice thing and a basic requirement when your suitcase keeps getting heavier throughout a trip. The lobby area is also equipped with a personal computer for guests who wish to access the Internet and keep in touch with family members back at home.

The hotel room was on the second of three floors and had all the amenities that one requires: comfortable bed, desk, closet space, hair dryer, satellite TV with channels in English, French, German and Portuguese. The hotel room was very clean, spacious and had two patio chairs and a table on a veranda that provided the most splendid views of the Furnas Valley. The view alone should sell you on this hotel.

The first floor houses the dining and billiard rooms, a bar and foyer area. The bar is located in the foyer area which has this beautiful fireplace and sitting area that provides many couches and chairs, books and magazines in many languages for one to read and relax. You can enjoy a glass of Porto, Brandy, Whiskey, café au lait (galão in Portuguese) or a cup of espresso in the foyer are or outdoor terrace that communicates with the swimming pool and overlooks the Valley of Furnas.

The breakfast, served until 10:30 am, is complete and comprises of coffee or tea, Kaiser bread/roll (papo seco in Portuguese), melba toast, cheese, ham, chorisso (Portuguese sausage), chocolate spread (à la Nutella), butter, yougourt, melon, water melon, and other fruits. Vista do Vale occasionally offers to its guests dinner at a reasonable price: a typical “cozido à moda das furnas”, a popular dish of the Azores that is cooked for several hours buried in the Furnas volcanic ground, with all ingredients thrown together in a pot, which is closed hermetically. The cozido and accompanying red wine we had was very tasteful and concluded a day of walking and hiking through the valley in a nice way.

When one factors in the level of service provided by Beatrice and her staff, the breakfast, the amenities, the view of the valley afforded from the balcony, the tranquility and fresh mountain air, I highly recommend Vista do Vale to any couple or family wishing to discover the natural wonders of São Miguel, Azores and the splendid village of Furnas.

Thank you Beatrice.

Frank
Canada

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zermatt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Me and my wife stayed at Vista do Vale for 3 nights in June 2009. The village was not too crowded that time. We got really friendly and personal service. We had a double room with a balcony. The panoramic evening view from there over the village and valley was truly therapeutic. I've travelled in over 40 countries, so I've seen quite a few accommodations. Vista do Vale and Furnas is a good base to explore that part of the island. You can see and feel the peaceful rhythm of those local people. Hotel served continental breakfast and there was a roomy restaurant and bar. The price per night was very moderate. We warmly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yskija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Furnas on São Miguel is a magical place with the most beautiful surrounding scenery. [The highlights are the walk round the nearby crater lake and a visit to the superb Terra Nostra botanic garden - non-residents of the Terra Nostra Hotel are welcome at the garden (admission 4 Euros)]. The Forestry Post gardens should also be included in a spring visit to see the fish farm and the amazing pond full of loudly croaking frogs (fortunately not audible from the hotel!).

On finding that the Terra Nostra hotel was booked up, the two of us checked in at the Residencial Vista do Vale (Rua da Palha 9675 042 Furnas) for two nights in April 2005 at the excellent low season (possibly discounted) rate of 40 Euros per twin room per night, including breakfast. (No other meals are served.) The second floor room was spacious, with two comfortable chairs, a writing desk with stool and the usual built-in wardrobes and a faultless bathroom with very hot water. There was a balcony with table and chairs and a wonderful view over the town and surrounding wooded crater. The hotel is in fact within a few minutes walk of the town centre - not on an inaccessible height as the name might cause one to fear, but certainly profoundly peaceful.

Breakfast was continental but generous, with fresh toast. The Vista do Vale does not accept credit cards. We did not use the heater supplied in the room, so we cannot comment on whether the early morning chill there or in the breakfast room could have been dispelled - it was not cold enough to bother us much. Our beds were warm.

The polite and friendly manager, who supplied a town map and helped with bus timetables, made this a perfect stay at an outstandingly good price.

The hotel's telephone number is ---------------------------------------

17  Thank Downswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
10
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Der er kun værelser med udsigt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erik Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre en 3° étage avec vue sur Furnas, vous aurez un emplacement idéal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iwan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Miguel hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 3 in Povoacao
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Lince Nordeste country and nature hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Convento de Sao Francisco
Convento de Sao Francisco
#28 of 41 in Sao Miguel
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
20.3 mi away
Solar do Conde
Solar do Conde
#30 of 41 in Sao Miguel
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Vista do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vista do Vale

Address: Rua da Palha | Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-042, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Sao Miguel
Price Range: $61 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Vista do Vale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residencial Vista do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vista Do Vale Sao Miguel, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing