We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sao Miguel
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Lagoa do Fogo
from $67.07
More Info
from $22.51
More Info
from $47.75
More Info
from $68.21
More Info
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
1,549
306
36
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,549
306
36
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sao miguel beautiful lake small beach caldeira velha fire lake both sides sunny day different angles walk up short hike ponta delgada wonderful view lookout point great hike natural beauty hiking trails nice walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

While it is a beautiful sight we found it difficult to find a time that it was not so foggy that you could not find the parking spots on the side of the road. Our guide one day suggested the “SpotAzores” app which has live webcams from many popular locations which helped us get a better view than the first time we tried.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Gorgeous views!!! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience. The hike down to the water was moderate and the hike back up (the equivalent of 40 floors of stairs) was a challenge even in appropriate footwear. We sat for awhile on the beach which was relaxing and peaceful. There are some narrow parts of the trail, a ladder and some tall steps (would be hard for small children ). Worth it but be ready to sweat on the trek back up.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank 474elizabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful lake with numerous viewpoints and walk down. The walk down is steep but stepped and maybe 20 minutes.

Coming from Ponta Delgada there is a viewpoint a couple of km before the lake which allows you to see both sides of the island. Well worth a stop too!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank happytotravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

I thought this was one of the nicest vantage points in all of Sao Miguel! This is such a pretty lake in a volcanic caldera and when you hike up to the top ridge overlooking the lake the scenery is just spectacular!!! The lake itself looked emerald and then the blue ocean in the distance beyond the lake and a gorgeous vista behind me overlooking the Atlantic ocean as well...unforgettable!! We hiked down to the lake and back up. My advice...watch the parking. Some people got towed for parking cars in the bus spots. Also take some decent hiking boots or at least a good pair of runners if you want to hike down and up again. I saw lots of people struggling in crazy little shoes and flip flops. Pack a lunch and find a pretty spot to sit down and eat to enjoy more time here! Sao Miguel is cool! It has a lot of nice places to explore. I recommend a rental car and a bit of research online and exploring by yourself. When you get into the smaller towns, it's smart to park fairly soon and walk around.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank The_Kraken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

We visited this natural beauty from 2 sides. One is stopping on the viewpoints (by car) and then stop at the parking for a 4 km hike(consist of a steep clime down and up. Magnificent views and a walk on the sandy banks). The view on top and below are stunning.The other way to visit it, is taking the walk lagoa do fogo (11km trail). This walk is longer and also has more green environment where you walk in. If you have the time, do both. Heads up. For the walk lagoa do fogo. You can park eather on the side of the road (see picture below) or you can park it at +/- 37°43'39,58"N 25°28'17,39"W (fill in coordinates onto google maps) its a little bit further down. Then its about 9 min walk (onto the road) to the start of the trail. We found the overall view of the lake, was the best at the viewpoints and the 4 km trail.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jonasv592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews