We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nadine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel S. Jorge Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nadine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here because we were trapped on Sao Jorge and SATA was putting us up in a hotel. They had arrangments with Sao Jorge Hotel so that is where we stayed. The room was nice, had a great view of Pico Island and the pool looked quite nice. It had a convenient location near the car rental (and airport shuttle) plus easy walk to the center of town. Not sure what the value is since we did not see the cost of a room.

Breakfast was standard with hot coffee.

We agree with other reviewers about the internet limitations/ cost. I imagine if you are paying a decent amount for the room that internet should come free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    44
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here as a member of a walking group, so all we needed was somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, for which it is ideal. The view from my bedroom on the first floor was fantastic, over towards the island of Pico and its proper volcano shaped volcano! Breakfast was fine (although the coffee could be better), and my room was spacious, comfortable, with working air conditioning (essential). The pool looked pleasant, although there was a more exciting sea-bathing area just a few minutes away. No problems with TV. The siting is fine, with the town of Velas a few minutes walk down the road with a couple of satisfactory restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flugelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

this 3-star hotel is very nicely located near the town of Velas. The rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable, and the view of mt. Pico that we could enjoy from our room was really amazing. Breakfast was ok, as well as the swimming pool. Internet connection was not free.

What we didn't like was the lack of mosquito nets at the window. We noticed that several other customers before us had the same problem, judging from the "corpses" smashed on the walls and the roof of our room. After our first day, our arms and legs were itching like crazy, making our stay a bit of unpleasant. Make sure you have some insect repellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a beautiful view from our balcony at this hotel. The room was nice, but I could not get a signal on the tv. The beds were comfortable enough and the breakfast was cheese, eggs, sausage and breads. There was internet use, on a very slow computer. The cost was 1 euro for 15 minutes of use. The hotel was within walking distance of the pier which was nice when we took the ferry. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The locals, not so much. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phxhandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azores, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

Nice views across to the neighbouring islands. The rooms have recently been renovated. It's ok for a 3 star hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisManuelDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velas
24.8 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel S. Jorge Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel S. Jorge Garden

Property: Hotel S. Jorge Garden
Address: Rua Doutor Machado Pires, Velas, Sao Jorge 9800-548, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Jorge > Velas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel S. Jorge Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel S. Jorge Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel S. Jorge Garden Sao Jorge/Velas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing