We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home... Or even better!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Velas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta de Sao Pedro
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just came back from Quinta de Sao Pedro. We had spent 4 nights in one of the suites in the annex building. It was really confortable, in the middle of the nature, but at the same time with everything that makes you feel at home. Our kids, aged 4 and 6 loved the place since the moment we arrived. Joana, the owner, showed us around and the kids were amaze to see cats, ducks, and even a horse! She recommended a lot of places to visit and eat. The view from the rooms and the swimming pool is incredible! A couple of nights we cooked dinner and enjoyed it with our Portuguese neighbours, also with two kids, so really it was like being at home. Thanks for everything Joana!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Quinta de Sao Pedro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were very happy that, based on recommendations from previous guests, we decided to book the two bedroom family apartment for our trip with two couples. We just loved our spacious little apartment with extremely comfortable beds and pretty darn modern conveniences. When we arrived from the ferry Joanna had made arrangements for a rental car to be waiting as we requested. When we arrived a the Quinta, it was almost as if she was waiting at the gate to help us get moved in and settled. She offered us coffee and cookies upon arrival in the main house's lovely breakfast area. During this time, Joanna joined us for a wonderful orientation to the island with recommendations for hiking, site seeing, cheese factories, and everything else we were interested in.

Joanna was very much "there" for us each and every day. When one of our group fell ill, she arranged for a prescription for cough syrup to be delivered to the hotel using the services of her Dad who is a doctor. She handled our laundry, along with everything else that come up during our stay.

Each day we enjoyed a terrific included breakfast with Olga's expert service along with made to order eggs. The pool area and surrounding terrace was just spectacular, as was the view everywhere on the property. A couple of details - free wife is available in the wifi room, but not available in the apartments. The apartment kitchen works very well for basic meals, but could use an upgrade for anything beyond that. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Imagine lush green pastures and a fresh breeze that renews the view at least once a day. An idyllic blue ocean in between four beautiful islands, each of a particular shape and height, each recognizable from afar….imagine a feeling of constant alertness for the sight of the spray of a blue or sperm whale, majestic peaks, lagoons in ancient craters, pitch black volcanic rock contrasting with the redness of the soil.….and more wind and rain and blue skies - all within reach of a hiker, far away from the main road, but also catering for the road traveller. And it goes on with delicious clams from the local lagoon, the softest steak, world-famous local cheese matured to perfection, the only European coffee plantation, organic vegetables and most comfortable surroundings. A land so up and down and green and black, worked, orderly and still so natural! This is the island of S. Jorge in the central group of the Azores archipelago, a bit nearer Lisbon than New York, mid-Atlantic Ocean, completely unspoilt, inhabited mostly by milk producers that deliver to the local co-op their daily share. Hospitable and genuine, no theft or danger, not five minutes go by between a thumbs up sign and a wagon stops by.
Five minutes from the Port of Velas, where ships arrive from the other islands, is the heaven of tranquility where we stayed - Quinta de São Pedro. The owner lives on the property and is a wonderful hostess. No effort is spared to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Each lodging includes a studio with cooking facilities inc a common lounge area, gardens and pool all tastefully decorated mixing antique and modern objects and furniture in a joyful atmosphere. The view from the farm is spectacular at dawn when one can see Pico Island to the left and Faial Island to the right, separated by a wide channel. Two large flat top dark rock formations at the edge of Velas help to focus our view. . Imagine again….the sunset or moonshine as you enjoy the breeze, the deep ocean and a cool glass of Pico wine. Breakfasts are a home made treat of homemade jams, cooked to order eggs, cereals, fresh orange juice, local bread and cheeses and hams. Olga caters to your every need from 7 to 12 am (free breakfast times!) and tops it up with freshly made espresso. As you look out every morning you are greeted by friendly house geese. The owner will seat with you with a map of S. Jorge island and make the most appropriate suggestions, according to your tastes and needs. Her handwriting is nice on the map as she numbers the walks and labels the sights. Excitement mounts as we leave the farm, with the great sense of the adventure to come and the island to explore. Picnics can be catered for as requested. It never gets crowded or noisy.
We renewed our energies and had the rest we needed. For those of you who want to experience a 5-star island hideaway, you need not go further!
Can’t wait to go back…..

Room Tip: Rooms are all just perfect, very well decorated, very quiet. Nothing has been spared to offer you th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miguel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Quinta de S. Pedro, a family house, is one of the best bases you can choose for exploring beautiful S. Jorge Island. It is located in Velas, the main town in the island, and offers a few rooms, some in the original house and some in a new building nearby. The latter are probably quieter and may have more modern amenities while the former may win on the character side. I preferred to stay in the main house, in an old room with art deco furniture, and didn’t regret it at all (although there was some slamming of doors a bit too early in the morning). To have to cross a corridor to access the bathroom was not a problem to me. Breakfasts are good and although the breakfast room is not large it has a pleasant balcony where, weather permitting, you can sit and enjoy the view to Pico. Wi-fi is free and there is a little nice room that is great for some late internet surfing while sipping a cuppa or a glass. A big white cat does use to hold court there and is available for guests to pat. Sisters Joana and Sónia Ambar run the place and you will find them friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a room in the main house with a view to Pico,
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goncalo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is not just another nice place. This is where you notice the uttermost care that is put on details. The sort of thing you only get at 5 + Stars Hotels
It distills hundreds of years of civilization combined with modern amenities, like internet, lens for watching the skies, air conditioning, etc.
The main house is traditional 18th century elegant farm house, put to the guests' use.
Everything is genuine and belongs to the house for generations.
Service is very friendly and within professional boundary.
The Duty Manager is an extremely available person, ever at your disposal to provide anything you need with a contagious smile.
And all this at the feet of an extinct volcano, facing Pico Island and Pico Mountain, Azores and Faial Island, Azores.
A rare place indeed.

Room Tip: The new annexes are spacious and the architecture and interior design very appealing. The Casa dos...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauloSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The "big house" is very nice and you are free to play the piano and read the many books and table games available. Or use the computer and free wireless...
Good breakfast, a nice swimming pool, newly build rooms with generous areas and a very friendly service.
The rooms are big and comfortable and there is a duck's family around, interacting with the cat of the house...all this with a great view of Pico Mountain just in front...
A place to comeback!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeliaBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

this is a small family palace runned by the grand daughter of the owner - Joana. Joana is friendly, really nice and helpful always worriing to give the best for her guests. The rooms are cosy and with small details that are really pleasant like big flufy towels, a mat near the bed to put your feet on, little kitchen well equiped and chairs and yable on the balcony facing the lawn and the sea.
breakfast has home made delicious jams, scones, eggs any way you like, cheese from he island, fresh orange juice, all kinds of bread incluind one I specially like called "massa sovada"
My son went fishing and brought big fishes that they happily cooked for us in the main house without charging anything.Joana was always making our stay unforgetable.
We loved staying there

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ameliapcoutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velas
0.0 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
19.0 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
263 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
58 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
1.1 mi away
Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de Sao Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de Sao Pedro

Address: Quinta de Sao Pedro, Velas, Sao Jorge 9800-505, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Jorge > Velas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Quinta De Sao Pedro Sao Jorge/Velas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing