We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime”
Review of Whale'come ao Pico

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lajes do Pico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale'come ao Pico
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon. Pico is a beautiful island, so peaceful. Overall it's a super place, the location couldnt be better, the vegetarian food is delicious and the staff are great. Whale watching was excellent, we saw 11 different whale & dolphin species and the evening presentations were very interesting. Our room looked out onto the harbour and mountain. The only issues are that there is no wifi in rooms and also no tea/coffee in rooms. Fix these little problems and you've got a 5 star venue.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete-the-meat-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
28
50
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a room at the last minute and were very pleased with our decision! The hotel is in a very pretty building by the port. The room was small but very comfortable. The best thing about this place is the people - they were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant / bar has a great relaxed atmosphere and the food is very good. As they also run whale watching and other trips they really provide everything you need for a great stay in Pico.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a lovely little hotel! If you stay here you are sure to leave with a warm fuzzy feeling inside, I was lucky enough to spend a week at this quaint little hotel on a whale and dolphin watching package. The hotel is super cute and spotlessly decorated from the outside and looks like a postcard, inside is simple and spotlessly clean, the rooms are bright and modern with lovely comfortable beds and pillows, the view is gorgeous of the harbour and mount Pico, the restaurant served delicious local food and the staff were we're friendly and very helpful.a short walk up the road brings you to a lovely supermarket selling everything from clothes to dried flowers!
I would also recommend Espaço Talassa the whale watching tour company right next door for all of your whale and dolphin watching tours, very reasonably priced and the staff are so knowledgeable and friendly you come away with a wonderful experience and having leaned a lot too! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday! Thank you Whale'come Ao Pico and thank you Espaço Tallasaa! Xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillypill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The subject says it all. Great location great people cannot fault anything about the place. Very friendly staff who did everything to make my holiday easier and great. The rooms are very clean, basic but just what you need. There was a bit of noise there at night from the birds but it never affected my sleep. The food there was amazing. Had a great selection for breakfast for me and for dinners throughout the day it was really nice and such large portions. I could of stopped here for longer but sadly only stayed for 7 days. I would love to go back and hopefully this will happen sometime very soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Not the cheapest place to stay, but really nicely located at fisherman's harbour.
Young holiday workers at the bar gives a quit atmosphere.
The rooms are really small. Narrow passages no extra room for lugage or changing clothes. But we slept peaceful and de room was highstandard clean.

Room Tip: I think the side of the sea should have more space... I hope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decolman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This small hotel is right on the seafront at Lajes. I was there for a weeks whale and dolphin watching with the company espacotalass.com which is owned and run by the same people.
The town was the centre of the whaling industry until it ceased in the late 1980's.

I was in room 2 directly above the restaurant and having fantastic views of Mt Pico and the harbour. The room was perfectly adequate for my needs but may be found snug by others.

The bathroom again was adequate with a shower cubicle,WC and sink.

Both were clean and bright and the cleaner came in every day.

The restaurant/bar is very informal and made a great base for down time when not on the ocean. Beer is good, and cheap and the food is freshly prepared with a good choice of local and international dishes. Staff were excellent and always willing to help.

A perfect stopping place for the weeks on-board activities.

I'm more than happy to recommend this establishment and will be returning next year for another stay.

Room Tip: The shower cubicle in room 2 is tiny. If you like to move around whilst showering this is not for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
586 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The establishment in situated on the harbour front overlooking the sea Lages is the whale watching hub of the Island and you can tell they are proud of their heritage. Great care is taken to make the village look its best and it has a completely different feel and look to the other villages on the Island.
The Whale'come ao Pico is a hotel too but we only had lunch here so cannot comment on the accommodation but if it is as good as teh food then you will not be disappointed.

We popped in for lunch and were greeted with a wonderful clean and modern decor, friendly staff and an extensive menu.

We orders Azorean Beef which are large chunks of shin in a cinnamon gravy and potatoes, sounds odd but tasted amazing. The Quiche was made with the tastiest shortcrust pastry I had ever eaten, the quality and value was outstanding and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no1missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajes do Pico
2.0 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
243 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
22.2 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
16.6 mi away
Alma do Pico
Alma do Pico
#1 of 7 in Madalena
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale'come ao Pico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale'come ao Pico

Property: Whale'come ao Pico
Address: Rua dos Baleeiros, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Lajes do Pico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the village of the whales of Lajes do Pico, "Whale'come ao Pico" is situated just beside EspaCo Talassa's whale watching base and the whaler's museum with a great view of Portugal's highest mountain and the Atlantic ocean. Rooms with a private bathroom. Bar and snack services from 11 am to 9 pm. Breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whale'Come Ao Pico Lajes Do Pico, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing