We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, noisy during Sea Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Sao Francisco
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, noisy during Sea Week”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is in an older building with basic rooms in the centre of town. The view looking out at the marina is lovely at dusk. Some rooms on the second floor have access onto a large shared patio with plastic chairs. My stay here was part of a group tour that coincided with the start of Sea Week. We could listen to the bands playing music down the street but it was still noisy after midnight. Breakfast was basic, wifi signal in the lobby was strong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    15
    15
    4
See reviews for
6
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Basic Hotel, the reception staff are very helpfull and speak good english [except 89year grand mum] breakfast is the worst bit, very basic but they will get up for a 6am breakfast[handy if you are moving on, the rooms at the front have great views.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel Residential Sao Francisco is located right in the center of Horta and this is only one thing that I liked here. It's about 15min from Airport by taxi (12 EUR) and only few minutes to the harbour, cruise terminal and restaurants. The hotel is rather old and definitely needs improvements. The rooms are very basic (beds, night tables, a desk and a chair, a wardrobe and a TV with portugal language-only channels) with old fashioned bathroom accessories (one of the mirror lamp doesn't work well: it's dangerous!). The staff were correct but not too warm. They dont accept credit cards, so payment is only cash. The breakfast was very very poor, served with low quality coffee and food, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakub-krakau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horta hotels

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I booked a room for one night with sea view. When we arrived we got the key from a small, dark, smelly room with a small window from which we had view on a desolate courtyard. The furniture in the room was worn-out and dated. We were supposed to pay 82 euros for this room. Really ridiculous! After complaining we first got the same room with the same view, but on a lower floor. After complaining for the second time we got a room with sea view and a balcony, but this room also had a terrible smell and worn-out, dated furniture. The entire hotel smelled bad and was very dark. It looked like a haunted house. We left immediately and went to Hotel Horta.
Don't book Residencial Sao Francisco. On the pictures it looks good, but the reality shows otherwise. Expect a dark, smelly, old, and ridiculously over priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RenateNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

A group of us rented at this place for 3 days. We wouldn't have stayed except that we had prepaid and didn't know how to get out of it. The lady at the front desk did not speak English. The smell was like being in a convalescent home. The carpets were thin and soiled, our mattress felt like it was not even a mattress but an inner spring, and it just had a dark, dreary feel about it. Also the breakfast was very minimal. The place was clean enough (other than the yucky carpet), and the location was good, but it definitely needs some upgrading. I would NOT recommend it to anyone. We booked through an agency and paid what amounted to about $135 a night. Definitely overpriced and not a pleasant place to stay.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Everything else - especially the smell of the place.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teddy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I've stayed in Residencial S. Francisco in 2006 while traveling on business (not my choice) and now in 2008 with a group of people ... so I had the chance to see more than one room. The only positive thing I can say about the place is the view, outstanding! Staff was nice.

But ...
1. the furniture was extremely old, the beds small and very uncomfortable
2. the carpet was disgusting with spots all over it and it smelled terrible.
3. the door to the varanda on my 2006 room didn't close well ... it was cold at night (April).
4. the bathroom had such poor light that I can't be sure about cleanness
5. breakfast very poor
6. One of my colleagues saw a cockroach wondering in the room

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — dirty room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AFMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

There cannot be too many hotels in the world where you can watch the sunrise over a volcano from your bedroom. The seafront rooms in this hotel have a great view over the pained marina walls to Pico. The rooms themsleves are spacious and clean (although when we were there there was a very odd smell, but just one sunrise or sunset puts it all back in perspective.

For those of you that are planning on whale watching trips the departure points are about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstinAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
5.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencias Varadouro
Residencias Varadouro
#8 of 9 in Faial Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Sao Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Sao Francisco

Property: Residencial Sao Francisco
Address: Rua Conselheiro Medeiros 13, Horta, Faial Island 9900-144, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Sao Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Sao Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Sao Francisco Horta, Faial Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing