We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Belgica
Ranked #1 of 14 Horta B&B and Inns
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived to Vila Beligica back in august while on a three week vacation in August that included the Azores as well as time on the mainland. My husband and I were very impressed by this beautiful bed and breakfast. The location in comparison to Horta is fanatastic - a moderately easy hike downwards to get into the city centre, and a very easy and cheap cab ride back at night time. The Views of Pico from the breakfast balcony are beautiful. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was an absolutely amazing treat including eggs, tea/coffee, yogurt, fresh bread, fruit, and a delicious treat at the end; all enjoyed while looking out at the beautiful view of the ocean and Pico. Yvette was also especially helpul and made sure we were well looked after in terms of getting to other sites, renting a car, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed 10 days in Vila Belgica and it was wonderful. This beautiful B&B is amazing! Yvette is the perfect host who takes care for her guests. She gives you all the information you need to have a pleasant stay on Faial She helps you with booking trips, cars, taxis, etc.
Reading most of the previous reviews I can only agree that Vila Belgica is really the best place to stay on Faial.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemmenich, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in Vila Belgica and we enjoyed it very much!

Vila Belgica is situated higher up which allows you a fabulous view over the green Island, the city of Horta, the ocean and two other islands of the Azores. We spent a lot of time on the terrace reading or just enjoying the view.

We were warmly welcomed by Yvette and Nathalie. They are a perfect team supplying you with all the necessary information (restaurants, shops, excursions, whale watching, ...). The breakfast is excellent and Yvette is very flexible when it comes to serving breakfast early in the morning on simple request the day before.

The room (Master Bedroom) we had was large, just like the bathroom. It was spotless, every day. There is no television set, but we did not miss it. We spent our evenings in Horta.

We can surely recommend Vila Belgica for your visit to the Azores!

Room Tip: The view from the Master Bedroom is fabulous!! You need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a superb location above the town of Horta with fabulous views towards the Pico island and in the far distance Sao Jorge island! But our amazement was not only about the views: upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Yvette and Nathalie who made us feel at home right from the start. They gave us excellent tips for our stay on Horta (whale watch tours, car rental, places to have dinner, etc.), provided a varied breakfast on the terrace or the inside patio, and made sure that the rooms were spotless! We rented a car for only one day, and walked the other days down to Horta (in approx 30 min), a taxi back up was also easy and affordable. We definately will be back and recommend this outstanding B&B to anyone who wants to visit the Azores.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The bed was cracking, the light in the bathroom was not working, we payed for a suite, but there was not even a small table and chair in the room. We made a reservation that was ignored, they asked us to keep our mouth when we were trying too argue, the breakfast was limited - the coffee was cold - breakfast starts at 8 h, that is rather late when you want to make a trip in the morning. You need a car to reach the Vila and we would have liked a swimming pool. The good things now : there is an abundant amount of information on the Azores available to the visitors, the garden is well maintained and the rooms is cleaned every day, from the terraces you have a view on the city, the see, the harbor , Pico, that all together has a value that is hard to valuate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZarcoBolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evita523, Owner at Vila Belgica, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We confirmed the Normal Bedroom - there was no Master Bedroom or Atlantic Room more available - so we suggested the Normal Bedroom - cheaper but smaller - clients agreed and paid for the Normal Bedroom.
The bathroom light does work, I always explain how to start it - if it should not work clients should have told me at the moment.

Breakfast is standard between 8 am and 10 am, people who go whale watching have breakfast at 7.30 and people who need the boat to Sao Jorge have the breakfast around 6.30....
When clients need breakfast earlier than 8am it is always possible.
Maybe there was a communication problem?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The best views of Azores is Vila belgica our stay was excellent service the owner caters your needs the comfort of home I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone looking for all of the above we couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've stayed in Vila Belgica for a week, with my family, my wife and my daughters, last august.
The place is beautiful; you just have to seat in front of the Pico island, with a good book, and a cup of tea (or a beer), you look around, and ... this is marvelous, the sea, the green, the view, in that moment I thought 'live is wonderful', you will feel better, visit this place.
My little daughter, Sibilla, got sick for two days, because she took a cold, and Mrs. Yvette De Schutter, and her daughter Nathalie, have done THEIR BEST to make her feel good. Beautiful people. They come from Belgium, the beer paradise.
I hope that we will return, I'm sure of this.
If you read these words, please, trust me, visit Azores, visit Horta, and enjoy your time in Vila Belgica.
Be seeing you.
Adolfo Di Zenzo, from Rome, Italy

Room Tip: ask Mrs. Yvette De Schutter to rent a car, for you, before you arrive; you can't stay in Faial w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADOLFO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
1.8 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
2.0 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
21.4 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.6 mi away
B&B Quinta da Meia Eira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Belgica

Property: Vila Belgica
Address: Caminho Velho 13 | Estrada da Caldeira, Horta, Faial Island 9900-090, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Belgica Horta, Faial Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing