We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel do Canal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only the Poussada has a better location in Horta. Not that there's much in Horta but this hotel is at the centre of what there is i.e. marina, bars, big supermarket up the hill, places to walk. The rooms are very comfortable. Buffet food pretty good. Restaurant drinks service a bit haphazard sometimes but otherwise ok.

Room Tip: Avoid back of hotel as street can be noisy at night; Horta seems to have boy racers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWilkosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    197
    34
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
159
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located at the end of the Horta harbor. From our window we had a nice view of Pico. Not to many restaurants close by, but the hotel restaurant was ok. One problem was no lunch service. Found snacks at to coffee house two blocks away.
The hotel was adequate, but not as much fun.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickJones012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very pleasant hotel right on harbour front very close to the famous Peters bar.
Hotel very clean and staff very pleasant
Food international style help your self with a good selection of hot and cold dishes
Tea and coffee in the room
Hotel was very clean and the bedrooms well furnished.
Would I stay there again YES

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel do Canal is a good hotel (I would consider between average and very good) and a very good hotel if you consider the offer in Horta! It is a "big" hotel with more then 100 rooms, with some groups... Rooms are nothing special (as in many other hotel rooms...) but the room service was very good (eg: the lady wanted to changed our towels twice a day as we had a baby, chocolates given before going to bed...)
Breakfast was good but for a 4* hotel it is a pity not to have more variety of fresh fruit.
A pool was something that really misses especially if you consider that it rains so often that your "outside days" might be limited or because it is hot and you want to swim!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filipaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

But there are a few downsides.
Our room, adjacent to a alley that stinks (a bit)
Rooms are very small.
No value for money.
Within walking distance of the marina.
There are 6 whale wathing comps.
Everybody follows the same whale.
Peter Zee uses a big boat (with toilet), the others zodiacs.

Room Tip: not this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchwilddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hotel do Canal is between Porto Pim and Horta downtown. They have a free garage, a gym and a jacuzzi, though not a pool. We've been ther on the sea week (Semana de Mar) so we were 5 minutes walking from the street restaurants and shows, but in a quiet area where you can sleep seamlessly even at 11 pm. The room was at 3rd floor, well furbished and with a nice vew on the port and the island of Pico. Bathroom with bidet. Service was very good and the receptionist was friendly and kind even when lot of people was queing. We had a small problem and they gave us all support. Breakfast was good, while dinner buffet is on standard. During the Semana do Mar is not worth to spend 25 euros each for a buffet when you can go to the street restaurants and have very good traditional local food. Anyway the Clipper restaurant offer also a "la carte" service which we didn't tested.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is lovely and he rooms are overall okay.

The room service is inacceptable. Our room was not cleaned before 3 p.m twice. During our stay for three days the minibar was not filled up even once. All the bottles with empty drinks of the minibar were left in the room by the cleaning stuff though during the stay.

The worst part of the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast is low standard but still a highlight compared to the dinner. Azores are not known for the best kitchen and chefs of the world. But in this restaurant they really manage to get the taste out of all the food served. The salads all seem to be directly out of the can and there is too little staff at the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.2 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Canal

Property: Hotel do Canal
Address: Largo Doutor Manuel de Arriaga, Horta, Faial Island 9900-026, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Faial Island, Hotel do Canal is located on the ocean front of Horta, with a breathtaking view over the city bay and Pico mountain. In this boutique hotel, the history of Faial Island permeates the interior design with its nautical motifs of sail boats, hydroplanes and the codfish heritage. Hotel do Canal is your port of call in the Atlantic, your home away from home, where you can relax and enjoy yourself with the support of a friendly professional team, whether you are traveling on business or on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel do Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Canal Horta
Hotel Do Canal Horta, Faial Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing