We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Excellent five nights at this hotel - sea view room with fantastic view across the harbour to Pico. Comfortable well appointed room with own balcony perfect for a sundowner before dinner. Good location and steps take you straight into the centre of Horta. Very good facilities and everywhere clean and well tended. Buffet style breakfast was adequate. No hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmain57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
42
118
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Between the first and second sunday in august, Faial celebrates the festival of the sea. Bustle.
We stayed in a room with ocean view. View on the marina, ocean and Pico. It is a fantastic hotel. Walls are thick. If you want to, you can eat your breakfast outside, in the sun, magnificent view.
The coffee is terrible (nescafé). We did not use the buffet in the hotel. Not cosy.Had our diner in Apeda (Avenida 25 do Abril; adjacent to the marina, 5 min walk from the hotel) Delicious. Fish stew. Rock fish. Wreck fish.
There are 6 companies that offer whale watch trips. Peter Zee uses a big boat (toilet on board) the other 5 use a zodiac (more spectacular). Peter Zee's trip is rather short. Norbetodiver is the best. We saw a sperm whale. Got a pic from his tail.

Room Tip: room in the main building with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 days during a trip to the Azores in 2012. This resort is very nice, divided into multiple small "house-like" premises with 10-20 rooms each. The resort has two swimming pools, gym and jacuzzi operating during daytime. The room was nice and clean, with A/C and minimar. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The location is great, just few steps from the marina of Horta, with a beautiful view on Pico island from the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
The main building had free internet connection. However, the signal was too poor to be used from our room, and we had to sit outside to get connected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esposende, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights last July.
The good:
- excellent location, within walking distance of everything in Horta
- amazing room view with Pico island just in front of us - simply breathtaking!
- wonderful staff, alwayswith a smile and ready to help
- nice pool with great view
The bad:
- the hotel is getting old and they seem not to do very much to help it: the exterior is decadent and the rooms are showing alarming signs of aging
- breakfast without many options to choose from
- we had half-board and dinner was served as a buffet: for our surprise, in one of them for main course we could only choose fish - not what one can expect from a buffet

In general, a nice hotel but definitely not as good as they rate it and not as good as the price would make us think.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building facing Horta marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bracarense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the Fayal Hotel in July 2011. Lovely room with balcony overlooking the harbour and bay with Island of Pico beyond. Hotel is a short walk to the ferry terminal - we managed easily even with luggage. Staff were very helpful with advice about excursions. The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance of the marina, the town centre and a supermarket. We enjoyed a good breakfast in an area of the dining room with tables which overlook the hotel's pool and the harbour. We didn't use the outdoor pool so can't comment. The hotel had wireless internet available in the lobby area where there were plenty of chairs (but no wireless in our room).
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of main building have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TicketyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

2008 & 2009 This is an excellent hotel, very comfortable. We did only stay bed and breakfast and occassionally ate in the hotel but found it quite expensive but convenient if you don't want to head down into the town.
Swimming Pool was lovely nice viewpoints.
The first 2 stays we overlooked pico in a lovely room and the 3rd time we stayed in one of the other buildings. Nice room couldn't fault it but missed the views.
Indoor swimming pool was small but ok for a dip and jacuzi was refreshing

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building centrally overlooking pico, we stayed in this room twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our 4-day stay at the Fayal Hotel was enjoyable. We had a nice quiet room with a huge terrace overlooking the harbour and the whole bay as well as Pico Islands. Very attentive service, delicious breakfast buffet. The Fayal Hotel is located close to the ferry and bus terminal as well as within walking distance of a a big supermarket.

Room Tip: Alll rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
20.3 mi away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel

Property: Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Dabney, Horta, Faial Island 9901-856, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayal Hotel Horta
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel Horta, Faial Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing