We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for short period at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Casa do Lado - AL 46
Ranked #6 of 15 Horta B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent 1 night at this cosy family hotel and I'm very much satisfied with everything - starting from the room finishing by the breakfast.
Everything was quite all right at reasonable price. There are some people who expect 5-star services from tur-class hotels, it's a great mistake.
This family hotel suites all my expectations - I got everything I wanted - hot shower, warm bed, private balkony, TV with some musical channels, tea and coffee during all day and the most important thing - care of very friendly and nice hotel staff!!!
I have no idea about insects because it was rather cold and windy outside but I really enjoyed this hotel. The location is wonderful - very close to the marine and the main cathedral.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyonderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaDoLado, Manager at A Casa do Lado - AL 46, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! It especially important to us that you mention the service of our staff. Our main goal is to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

It didn't take me long to decide to stay at A Casa do Lado. Their Internet site and the overall reviews here provided already a good feeling to what I would expect during my 9 day holiday on Faial. The confirmation of my reservation and the additional e-mail confirmed that feeling and already gave me the idea that this would be a good place to stay at.

At arrival is welcomed warmly. The room (204) was spacious enough for my purpose of stay (sleep and relax). The room and bathroom were clean and were cleaned daily. I do have to admit that it took me a few nights to get use to the small and hard beds, but this says more about me being spoiled than that the bed was not good.

I was particular pleasantly surprised about the excellent and warm service of both the staff and owners. I somehow missed that there was an option to order breakfast and already anticipated that I had to buy my own somewhere. But, I was quickly informed that I could order breakfast. Which of course allowed me to sleep in a little longer and eat it in a more relaxed atmosphere. The owner also gave some excellent tips on restaurants and the daily short conversations we had were all give me that homely warm feeling.

Of course the location of the B&B is perfect. You’re in the middle of the center of Horta, with restaurants, grocery stores, entertainment in walking distance. Parking spaces for my rental car were in the street or in streets very close to the B&B.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay made even better by the great owners and staff. I will certainly return on any future trip to the Azores.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaDoLado, Manager at A Casa do Lado - AL 46, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

It is such a pleasure to be rewarded with a positive review to our services, such as the one you have given us! It is exactly because of this that we are in this business: to make our guests feel welcome and at home! We hope to accommodate you again in a very near future. Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Casa do Lado is a very nice and home feeling place at a very central and nearby spot. For me it was the second time I stayed there and I vividly recommend it. I just read the last review and I think that some people should be "forbidden" to leave their homes... I was there on business and hard work and it was very nice to arrive "home".
If you go to Faial, or know some one how does recommend Casa do Lado.

Filipe Carneiro

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with the view to Pico island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaDoLado, Gerente at A Casa do Lado - AL 46, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you, Filipe, for taking the time to review our guesthouse! We are very satisfied that you felt at home - this is really our ultimate goal! It has been a joy to accommodate you and hopefully your business (or pleasure) will bring you to Faial again soon. Until then, enjoy your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've been travelling trough Azores for 3 weeks and our staying in Casa do Lado was the worst nightmare. We did not sleep even a minute because of mosquitos! There was nothing we can do: niether the net nor closing the balcony doors was helpful (on the margin: we were boiling inside). After all at 5.51 a.m. we ask the service for help and they gave us a candle.. which of course didn't help too. We ask for the manager and tell her that it is impossible to sleep in her so called "quest house" and what she answered? That - "that is the nature", and they have this problem occasionally. Very arrogant and unpleasant woman. Beware. You can be the same victim as we were. Nobody told us that we should expect such problem and the manager is proud of herslef that it's only the nature's fault. She gave us 4 euro discount. Unbelievable . Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zofia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A very pleasant place, familiar and with nice people. The staff is helpful and very polite. The rooms are simple, nice and clean. The bathroom was very clean, with spotless towels. The beds were comfortable. The price was very good.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony to see "Pico Island".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaEugeniaReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaDoLado, Manager at A Casa do Lado - AL 46, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

It is a great pride to receive such an excellent review from a recent guest. It has been a pleasure being of service to you and we just hope that you return soon. Until then, don't forget to spread the word to your friends and colleagues by offering or lending your "casinha do lado", that can be used in exchange for a discount at our guesthouse for an entire year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

i thought about stay just for 2 nights and i end at up staying for 7! its a very familiar place, but even for me, travelling alone, was awesome....very clean, the breakfast its the same everyday but has all we need...and the owners and emploees are very nice and polite, cheers. naiara

Room Tip: if you need to use internet very often, prefer the rooms in the first or 2 floor. but if not, all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naiara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Thank you very much, Naiara, for your review! We appreciate your positive words. This is what we work for: satisfied guests! It was a pleasure having you here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were here for two days because we enjoyed so much! Nice staff, nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACasaDoLado, Manager at A Casa do Lado - AL 46, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

We appreciate your kind words and are very happy that we were able to make you feel comfortable! We would love to accommodate you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 6 in Horta
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Forte da Horta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Verde Mar
Verde Mar
#3 of 13 in Horta
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
5.7 mi away
B&B Quinta da Meia Eira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa do Lado - AL 46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa do Lado - AL 46

Address: Rua Dom Pedro IV no 23, Horta, Faial Island 9900-111, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Horta
Price Range: $35 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the center of the city of Horta (Azores), we are at a walking distance of the beach, the municipal market, some of the city's touristic attractions, municipal gardens, restaurants, cafes and even a taxi stand. Reception open 24 hours during summer season; may be limited during other seasons. Breakfast included during the summer season; for other seasons, breakfast is possible for an additional fee. All year, our prices include tea and coffee all day and free access to internet WI-FI. Our breakfast includes a selection of Azorean regional products. We recycle and implement energy and water saving schemes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Casa do Lado - AL 46 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Casa Do Lado - AL 46 Horta, Faial Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing