We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duas Quintas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duas Quintas
Ranked #1 of 13 Silves B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Having read other reviews, we wondered whether Duas Quintas really could be as good as people have said... the answer a resounding yes.

Mary and Les are perfect hosts; always there to offer help and advice if needed but never 'in your face' and nothing is too much trouble. They gave us some excellent recommendations for places to visit / eat.

Everything that has been said about the superb breakfasts is true - they are superb.

We travelled with our four month old son and were worried about whether we could have a relaxing break; we needn't have. Everything from the immaculate room to the fridge for guests to store their own drink / food in made the break as stress free as travelling with a baby could be.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Everything other people said is true. It is a wonderfull place to stay. We felt at home.Mary and Les make you feel welcome and they are such good hosts. They are really interested in their guests. We never go back to places we visited but this might be the exception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We recently stayed with Mary and Les for a week during the annual Silves Mediaeval festival. This was our 4th visit to Duas Quintas but our first visit in August. This time, we stayed in the studio with our 8 year old son. The studio is spacious, airy and has a well equipped kitchen in the lounge area. As with our previous holidays here, this was a a wonderful stay. Les and Mary are great hosts; the B&B has lovely grounds and a relaxing pool area surrounded by citrus trees. Breakfasts are delicious thanks to Mary's baking and innovative dishes, such as warm goat's cheese and pear wrapped in bacon, mmmmm! Despite us having visited the area a number of times, we have always found something new to do, thanks to Les and Mary's wealth of knowledge of the region, including places to visit (quiet coves, even during the height of the season) and places to eat, including up-market restaurants and the more traditional, local "eateries".
Nothing is too much trouble and they both go to great lengths to make your stay at Duas Quintas very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrahams12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here looking for a relaxing time away. It is amazing place in a beautiful rural setting just outside of Silves. Very comfortable, clean rooms with great breakfast. It's a short drive to the amazing beaches. Les and Mary are the perfect hosts. They offer lots of tips and advice for local beaches, hikes, restaurants or anything else you might need. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE - especially if you are looking for a quieter place that is only a short drive to all the action.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajpierces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed with Duas Quintas and used it as our base for exploring the Algarve. It's a little outside of the town of Silves and had a little trouble finding it but the owner Les was kind enough to drive out and come get us! After that it was easy to find. Duas Quintas is a beautifully restored farmhouse. The room we stayed in was lovely. The bedroom was large, had an ensuite bathroom with excellent shower. The room was spotlessly clean with good storage space, fresh towels and terrace. Breakfast was delicious with freshly made potato cheese bread baked by Mary which was a highlight. If you're looking for a chilled out and cosy place to stay on the Algarve then this is the place for you. It's a bit more off the beaten path amid orange and avocado fields so a refreshingly different Algarve experience. Mary and Les are extremely hospitable and have no hesitation recommending Duas Quintas!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent a week here in June and had a lovely time. Duas Quintas is so peaceful and Mary and Les have thought of everything to make one comfertable and feel at home.
Our bedroom was spacious, with a large double bed and very clean. We had our own terrace and bathroom with power shower and always hot water.Breakfasts were great and Mary and Lex were always willing to help with any queries.Silves is close by, an old town with a lot of character and many restaurants We much appreciated having bottled water and wine available,A good sized spotless swimming pool was also a joy. We are looking forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

this was my fourth trip to Mary & Les in Duas Quintas - you could never get tired of arriving at this little piece of heaven! The same great welcome was offered (you could not get better hosts), gorgeous sparkling clean rooms, beautiful blooming gardens full of fruit, not to mention the fantastic freshly prepared breakfasts - I miss the squeezed orange juice still! This place has everything to offer for a breakaway in beautiful countryside which can be as relaxing or energetic (the walking is great) as you like! All the rave reviews are well earned - once you visit, you'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
3.4 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
255 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
694 reviews
43.8 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 30 in Tavira
139 reviews
9.7 mi away
O Castelo Guest House
O Castelo Guest House
#1 of 9 in Carvoeiro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Quintas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Quintas

Property: Duas Quintas
Address: Santo Estevao | c.p. 607, Silves 8300-047, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful renovated farmhouse, registered as Alojamento Local,22793 AL, with many traditional features. All rooms en-suite, hair dryers,tea and coffee making facilities, relaxing outdoor seating area. Air conditioning at small extra charge. Free WiFi. Bedrooms are non smoking. Excellent home cooked breakfast. Home made bread, cakes, preserves and fresh fruit from the garden when in season. Beautiful gardens with large pool. The garden has lots of character with many secluded spots to make into your on private relaxation area. Duas Quintas guesthouse is surrounded by 15 acres of orange trees. The whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. Central location for touring the Algarve. Excellent walking area.Information on walking routes provided for guests. All inclusive walking holidays available October to May. Friendly, well informed hosts. Our aim is to give you a wonderful holiday.The guesthouse is located in central Algarve and so is ideal for touring the whole of the Algarve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duas Quintas Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing