We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great fun

Fantastic tour run by Rudolf. The scenery and terrain were superb. You might get a little bit wet... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
JMHOxford
,
Oxford
via mobile
Great buggy tour

We enjoyed a great off-road buggy tour with Bulldog Buggies. Adults and teenage sons in 2 buggies... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
JonHull
,
Nottingham
via mobile
Read all 483 reviews
  
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
361
8
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
8
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road great fun great guide fun driving two hours rough terrain wear old clothes covered in dust buggy tour great couple of hours awesome experience an absolute safety briefing take photos breathtaking views face mask great trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic tour run by Rudolf. The scenery and terrain were superb. You might get a little bit wet, but that was all part of the fun. Also really quick response on emails making booking quick and easy. Would definitely go back.

1  Thank JMHOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a great off-road buggy tour with Bulldog Buggies. Adults and teenage sons in 2 buggies led by Rudolf.

Two hours of driving the scenic tracks through the hills and forests. Three stops at scenic spots to take in the views.
Rudolf kept it at safe speeds, but lots of challenging terrain.

I would thoroughly recommend it.

1  Thank JonHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were visiting from Canada and couldn't wait for an off-road adventure. I was looking for a tour that took us off the beaten path where we could explore locations inaccessible to most tourists. The Buggies were true off road style Buggies. Suspension was great and my gal found the seat very comfortable. We toured through the hills and came upon some ancient ruins. The views were terrific. Rudolph was really great and provided lots of local knowledge. Buggies are kept in great shape. Bring water and a bandana, which will supplement the goggles and dust guard provided.

Great trip. If we are back in the area we will definitely go back to Bulldog Buggies.

1  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We did this as a treat for our anniversary and it was an amazing experience. The people that run it are very efficient and helpful both through internet, over the phone and in person, We were running late and they waited for us when we called to let them know. The tour itself is great if your are looking for a truly off the beaten track experience, It is almost all of road through the hills and forest, we were out for 2 hours and other than the first and last 5mins on the main road we did not see any other people at all, but did see some amazing views it really was a way to see the more undiscovered bits of the Algarve. We went at end of July so no water to splash through and it is incredibly dusty but the face mask and googles protect your face well. The tour is nearly all on unmade tracks with some quite tricky inclines and declines so you do need to be pretty confident if you are driving but is great fun and you do feel safe and the guide is very experienced and will give you advise when needed.

1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Another excellent time with bulldog buggies in the hills and river beds of the Algarve.
This time in the heat of the August sun.....brilliant!!!!!!!!!
No water to drive through this time but plenty of dust and dirt. A real adventure.
We took in the spectacular views after the whole area had been ravaged by the recent forest fires. A totally different landscape this time but no less interesting. Ruud again guided us through the rugged terrain which he had only just cleared after the fires.
Excellent service from the whole team as usual.
An absolute must if you are in this area of the Algarve.

1  Thank AJ1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

This was a real highlight of our vacation. Rudolph is an excellent guide and we had a great 2 hour off road tour to parts if the Algarve countryside you can't get to by normal vehicles. For €120 per buggy for a 2 hour tour it is great value. Buggues are automatic 500cc and you will go between 20-30kmh. Great fun highly recommend

1  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time this morning on the Bulldog buggies! First time driving on the left, and off road oh in a buggy and loved every minute! Automatic, great suspension allowing for the steepest hills to be conquered! Amazing views, Ruud was great and our boys 4 & 7 loved it. Enjoy!

1  Thank AnnaLouRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

We had done a buggy tour before in Cyprus, and really wanted to do it again this year in Portugal. Looking on TripAdvisor, I found Bulldog Buggies very near the area we where staying, so decided to book. I tried to call to book, but was busy. My call was quickly returned and managed to get an afternoon booking for 2 buggies the following day. If you want a morning booking (a bit cooler), make sure to book well in advance.
You will be asked to arrive 15 mins earlier to go through a briefing, so does not eat into the 2 hour tour.
The buggies are well maintained and comfortable.
This tour was quite different to others we had done as it is almost purely off-road, with some quite challenging routes.
Rudolf was an excellent guide and gave advice and tips around the tour on tricky bits.
As other reviewers have stated, make sure you were old clothes, as you will not get them clean again.
You get to stop at some fantastic view points for photos and a break from the dust (goggles and mask is essential).
All in all we had a fantastic time and highly recommend this company.

1  Thank 330markc330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Nice morning outside with beautiful nature and Views. My son (4yrs) was in the buggy with me. Although 2hrs is a bit long for him he enjoyed it.

Take water and prepare to get dusty :-)

1  Thank Jasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

If you are looking for something different to do. I would recommend this. Rudolph and his son took us on this incredible tour through the country side and to fabulous views from the top, we could see Portimao and the surrounding area. There were six of us and we had the most fun two hours. It was safe and Rudolph would stop and tell us what to do when we came to any tricky turns. For someone who is normally not adventurous, I had a great time.

1  Thank Serene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews