We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Colina dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colina dos Mouros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were there on a weeks cycling trip. Staff were really helpful (esp. Nelson) allowing us to store bikes in their room downstairs. We were on half board and food was good for the price - fish on the menu every night. Fantasitic terrace overlooking the castle (as did our room balcony). Breakfast was okay (not great for cyclists .. we had to buy our own bananas ..) but yogurt and cereal. A few eggs would have gone down well. All in all a great stay and the place grew on us. Good showers in the room and who needs wifi and TV channels when you are getting away from it all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest , Friend

many thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know are very important for all of us
company and staff, to encourage keepted and give better and more quality on ervice

In my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your kindly words and we hope to see you once again and very soon

Kind Regards
José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Colina dos Mouros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

this hotel benefits from excellent views and being the only hotel in town,its a good place to stay-clean room each day and good bathrooms but I found the bed really uncomfortable,as a double there were 2 wooden framed single beds pushed together and each day the bed was religiously made up as 2 single beds with sheets and blankets,what i would have given for a nice double bed and duvet,blankets- honestly its like living in1975 again.they could also do with modernising the televisions in the rooms, tiny 10 inch transistor televisions and no international stations,the cafes and bars in silves all offer free wifi but the hotel does not,again I think they are living in 1975

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roaming-cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Client , Guest and friend

Thanks for your review are very importante for all of us

I will working hard to change very soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've just got back from a 6 night stay at this lovely little gem of a three star hotel. This was our third visit in 2 years and once again we were really pleased with the hotel. As always the staff were very friendly, there was always plenty of hot water, our room was kept spotlessly clean and although it didn't alter day by day a good breakfast. The local area is quiet compared to some of the big towns/resorts but if you're looking for somewhere for a short break which is great value for money then this could be the place for you.

Room Tip: Above the restaurant area overlooking the castle
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbirdstwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest & friend

Thanks for your review here on tripavdisor , as you know are very importante for all of us included the staff

Yo keepted the good work and encourage with the good servisse

in ny ame and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words
and hope to see you once again and very soon

Kind regards
José Matos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dated décor. Generally ok and good views of castle. Would not recommend staying here longer than a few nights. As, the local town can be explored in a few days. The local town very tired looking and run down in places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest

Many Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor

As you knew are very importante for us

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel Colina dos Mouros is a very beautiful hotel with a great view towards the city of Silves with the castle and cathedral. The rooms are clean and beautiful and so is the view - especially in the night. The staff is very service-minded and helpful, and the restaurant serves very nice meals. The breakfast was also nice, and the garden was wonderful. And it was only 5 minutes to walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest , Customer and Friend
Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor , as you know are very importante for us to kept a good service with more quality
In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words
we hope to see you once again and very soon in our unit
We wish you a merry Christmas to all family
Kind Regards
José Matos
Diretor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hi. Only just got back from Portugal where I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. Overall ok stay but would not stay for more than 2 nights.

Here's my mini summary.
Pros:
fantastic views of the Castle from the balcony.
Hotel generally very clean.
Friendly service.
Good location for visiting the algarve.
Clean pool area.
Orange juice.

Cons
Smallest of tvs with only 5 channels. 3 in Portuguese. 1 in French (TV5) and 1 in English (sky news).
Mattress. Awful.
Breakfast ok but the same every single day.
No free wifi (payable service available in lobby or coin operated pc)

Tips
Lidl in walking distance with foreign newspapers available (English and German).
Free wifi and Internet access in library which is 5 min walk away. It works even outside opening hours.
20 min drive to praia de rocha where you find bars beach and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jensitolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dera Guest / Customer / friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know are very importante for us to incentive all staff and kepted the good service and change the less positive points and change soon to posite points .

with regard to Wi Fi we know that are very importante but we try change that situation very soon with WiFi in all áreas of hotel and of course change the less positive points

in my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your revies and kindly words

All of us hope see you once again and very soon

Kindest Regards

José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just got back from visiting friends in silves stayed stayed here very clean and friendly basic but comfortable will use again . Mentioned to reception minor faults to room fixed within the hour . Walked to railway station 20 mins train to Lagos try it

Room Tip: Ask for view of castle
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest, Customer and friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know all reviews are very important for us
to change the less positives points and kepted the positives other way for all staff to incentive and encourage to contunie with the good work.

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words .

We hope see you once again and very soon

Kind Regards
José MAtos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
6.5 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#23 of 75 in Portimao
317 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
5.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
7.5 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
462 reviews
15.6 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina dos Mouros

Address: Pocinho Santo, Silves, Silves 8300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Price Range: $40 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina dos Mouros 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colina dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Dos Mouros Hotel Silves
Colina Dos Mouros Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing