We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silvas”
Review of Colina dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colina dos Mouros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dated décor. Generally ok and good views of castle. Would not recommend staying here longer than a few nights. As, the local town can be explored in a few days. The local town very tired looking and run down in places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest

Many Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor

As you knew are very importante for us

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel Colina dos Mouros is a very beautiful hotel with a great view towards the city of Silves with the castle and cathedral. The rooms are clean and beautiful and so is the view - especially in the night. The staff is very service-minded and helpful, and the restaurant serves very nice meals. The breakfast was also nice, and the garden was wonderful. And it was only 5 minutes to walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest , Customer and Friend
Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor , as you know are very importante for us to kept a good service with more quality
In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words
we hope to see you once again and very soon in our unit
We wish you a merry Christmas to all family
Kind Regards
José Matos
Diretor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hi. Only just got back from Portugal where I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. Overall ok stay but would not stay for more than 2 nights.

Here's my mini summary.
Pros:
fantastic views of the Castle from the balcony.
Hotel generally very clean.
Friendly service.
Good location for visiting the algarve.
Clean pool area.
Orange juice.

Cons
Smallest of tvs with only 5 channels. 3 in Portuguese. 1 in French (TV5) and 1 in English (sky news).
Mattress. Awful.
Breakfast ok but the same every single day.
No free wifi (payable service available in lobby or coin operated pc)

Tips
Lidl in walking distance with foreign newspapers available (English and German).
Free wifi and Internet access in library which is 5 min walk away. It works even outside opening hours.
20 min drive to praia de rocha where you find bars beach and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jensitolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dera Guest / Customer / friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know are very importante for us to incentive all staff and kepted the good service and change the less positive points and change soon to posite points .

with regard to Wi Fi we know that are very importante but we try change that situation very soon with WiFi in all áreas of hotel and of course change the less positive points

in my name and name of my staff a big thanks for your revies and kindly words

All of us hope see you once again and very soon

Kindest Regards

José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just got back from visiting friends in silves stayed stayed here very clean and friendly basic but comfortable will use again . Mentioned to reception minor faults to room fixed within the hour . Walked to railway station 20 mins train to Lagos try it

Room Tip: Ask for view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest, Customer and friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know all reviews are very important for us
to change the less positives points and kepted the positives other way for all staff to incentive and encourage to contunie with the good work.

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words .

We hope see you once again and very soon

Kind Regards
José MAtos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Colina Dos Mouros has the most wonderful view over Silves, the cathedral and the castle. The staff is very friendly, the rooms nice and tidy with a lovely balcony. The hotel is more for the mature couple than for families with small children or young people. Only minus is the breakfast, which is very uninspiring. Snacks and small meals, like an omelet, however, are both delicious and affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GryMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Friend

Many thanks for your review here on tripadvisor , as you know are very importante for all of us
to feeling where we can change the points not well or less positives nd incentive and encourage the staff to give and kepted the good servisse.

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks to your kindly words

All of us hope to see you once again and very soon

Kind dest regards
jose Matos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

beautiful location, perfect views and romance.. great hotel for character, style, architecture etc - staff were friendly and room cleaned daily. gardens are lovely, pool area great and clean hotel. only down sides are small details like only one plug socket in room difficult for recharging cameras, phones etc.. also our lights werent working properly, first room we were given was directly above the outside bar area so noisy and smokey werent going to make for pleasant stay - we were reluctantly offered a room below which was great. direct access to pool and car park areas. views were still great. already missing that coffee machine for breakfast

Room Tip: basement room away from bar area or pool area. or a top floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dera Guest Customer and Friend

Thanks for your review here on trip advisor , as you know all reviews
are very importante for all staff, because incentive and encourage all staff to
continue give a better and better servisse and with quality.

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words and we hope
~to see you again and very soon

Kindest regards

José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Colina dos Mouros from 25th August for a week. We had a fantastic time, the staff were very friendly, helpful and always on hand. The hotel itself was very clean, fresh towels daily, air conditioning really helped at night. The decor i felt was beautiful. We also had the superb view of the castle and catherdral from our balcony. The swimming pool was in lovely surroundings and exceptionally clean, we always managed to get a sun lounger no problem. We were bed and breakfast. Breakfast was buffet and there was plenty of choice, the fresh fruit was delicious. We would definitly like to go again as we have stayed in coastal resorts in portugal before but felt the town of Silves was interesting, peaceful and the people of the town were very friendly, we also loved seeing all the storks nesting in various places. We hired a car, it was very easy to get to any location from Silves.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tilly369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dera Guest Customer and Friend

Thanks for your review here on trip Advisor

As you know the all reviews are very iportant for us to see and keepted the best servisse and quality

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly words

We hope to see you once again and very soon here at Hotel Colina dos Mouros


Kindeste Regards
José MAtos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
5.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
6 mi away
Colina da Lapa Resort
3.9 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#65 of 76 in Portimao
237 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#24 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina dos Mouros

Address: Pocinho Santo, Silves, Silves 8300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Price Range: $36 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina dos Mouros 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colina dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Dos Mouros Hotel Silves
Colina Dos Mouros Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing