We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view of castle”
Review of Colina dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colina dos Mouros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a a few days in June. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Views from our room were amazing great view of the castle, lovely to see it lit up at night. Would definitely stay again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dera Customer , Guest And Friend

Many thanks for your kindly words and nice review on trip advisor

as you know are very important for all profissional at Colina dos Mouros to incentive to keepted and give a good and excelente service wiyth all quality .

We hope to sse you back to Colina dos Mouros very soon

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel many years just for one night and noticed it in a really cheap package deal with Purple Travel so decided to return. We got a great deal which included flight and hotel. We decided to spend the first night in Faro so booked a hotel independently. We travelled to Silves by bus (mistake, should have gone by train) and had just a few minutes walk to the hotel. Our room was really amazing for the price we paid. It was spacious with a huge terrace complete with sun loungers. It had a beautiful view of the castle. The fittings and decoration are dated but for what we paid we have no complaints. We were on a bed and breakfast deal which was fine, just the usual bread, cheese, ham etc. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel nor did many other guests. We only saw one other couple eating in the hotel restaurant in the evening.
The hotel is in a great position for exploring Silves. It takes ten minutes to walk across a bridge into town where there are lots of bars restaurants and shops.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights at the hotel. It was quiet and very clean with a calm atmosphere. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

DEra Guest Customer Friend

Thanks for your review , ii's very imnportant for all profissionals

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks fort your kindly words

We hope see you very soon

Kindest Regards
José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is not really in Silves itself, but rather on a strip of land between the narrow Arade River and Highway N124. It's easy to find if you're driving, but not convenient if you're traveling by bus. The town is up on a hill on the other side of the river. The main reason for staying at this hotel is the terrific view it has of Silves and its castle (lit up at night). Be aware, however, that only the rooms facing the town have this view. The rooms facing the other way, away from the town, have a view of the parking lot and of the highway. The hotel is built on a slope, so the lobby, at street level on the highway side, is actually the third floor. The rooms on the third floor and facing the town are the best ones because they have terrace balconies. The view from the fourth floor rooms is as good, but you get it from your window, not from a terrace.

Room Tip: See my review above. You can't tell by the room number which rooms face the town because each si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgetacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

DEra Guest Customer Friend

Thanks for your review , ii's very imnportant for all profissionals

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks fort your kindly words

We hope see you very soon

Kindest Regards
José Matos
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for six days in May and we enjoyed both Silves and the the hotel. We had stayed here many years earlier and so we knew that we wanted a room with a balcony and a view of the castle. We emailed the hotel in advance to ensure that that we would get this. The room was fine and the balcony large. The room was, as indeed was the entire hotel, a little dated but it is well cared for and clean and tidy. The whole place is really indeed of redecoration and upgrading but then I suppose the prices will have to go up so..... At the moment for what you get it is good value.
Breakfast was pretty average and though the coffee came from a machine it was plentiful hot and quite good. Every member of staff that we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated a short walk from the town and though it is situated on a main road it is set back some was and is quite quiet. The pool, which we did not use is relatively small but looked clean and well maintained.

Silves is a small ordinary town with a lot of local life going on. During the day there are quite a number of visitors to the town and it can be quite "buzz" and fun. In the evenings it was a lot quieter. Lots of restaurants offer "dish of the day" at very reasonable prices.

We were there for a quiet week just reading relaxing and doing nothing. However there is an excellent Tourist Information Office opposite the "bus station" on the banks of the river. There are buses to the other nearby towns.

So would I stay in this hotel again - absolutely, gladly. It is not the height of luxury by any means but it is comfortable clean and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and castle view - this is also the side furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for you choice for Hotel Colina dos Mouros

In my name and name of all my staff a big thanks for your kindly bordas reghard to our complex

Thanks and i hope see you in the near future

kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views from the hotel were amazing at night with the sprinkling of the town and castle lights and of course in the day under the brilliance of the sunlight. Hotel staff were helpful and no one was more helpful than the lady in the bus company booking office. we did not hire a car but travelled around on the local buses. A day trip to Lisbon was too brief but a day in Lagos and ideal. We are not keen on beach holidays and this is no good for those who love to lay on the beach, the pool was always very cool....cold really. The only downfall was the beds, so hard and creaking every time you turned over but strangely some nights it made no noise at all, we could not work out the difference. There was always plenty of hot water no matter what time of day you showered and it never went cold while in the shower. If we went again we would bay a travel card, did not find out about them till we were leaving and of course learn more of the language!

Room Tip: The walls are thin so ask for an end of corridor if possible, rear facing rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, General Manager at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for you choice for Hotel Colina dos Mouros
Sorry for any inconvenience caused
With regard to your comments I will work right now and change the situation I will see the room you have stay.

Thanks and i hope see you in the near future

kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. The weather wasn't very kind - wet and cool, but we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a good value choice - the cost to us was £55 for 3 nights B&B! Our room was fairly basic - very small old fashioned portable tv, but otherwise fine and clean. We had a room overlooking the town, which was particularly lovely at night when the town was lit up. The town is just across the river - we were there in November and it was very quiet, but I imagine it would have a very different feel in the height of summer. The castle was worth a visit for the views of the surrounding area. We ate at Kazy restaurant every night - my husband is veggie so doesn't like the piri piri chicken served at almost every restaurant. Kazy also served pizza and pasta. We visited the Stork's Nest bar to use the free wifi. The staff were very friendly - an Irish brother and sister.

Room Tip: It would be worth asking for a room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EriskaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinaHotels, Gerente at Colina dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thankyou for your preference And coment.
In the name of all Staff we hope see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is very near the town of Silves. The staff are helpful and friendly. We stayed for three nights in October as we were going to the Classic Races in Portimao. The breakfast is fresh and the rooms are very clean. We were given a room on the ground floor and it was a bit noisy. There is plenty of parking and it was good value for money. Silves was very quiet this time of year and the weather was very rainy on the Sunday. We would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikmik2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
3.9 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
57 reviews
5.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
6.5 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#22 of 76 in Portimao
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Colina da Lapa Resort
6.5 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#66 of 76 in Portimao
238 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina dos Mouros

Address: Pocinho Santo, Silves, Silves 8300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Price Range: $36 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina dos Mouros 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colina dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Dos Mouros Hotel Silves
Colina Dos Mouros Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing