We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Colina dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colina dos Mouros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here for a week in mid September and it exceeded expectations of a three star hotel. Really nice view of the Castle and within walking distance of the main town. The pool was clean and never very busy and we witnessed no invasions from locals as described in other reviews! The food was decent and reasonably priced although the drinks were quite expensive. The restaurant area and balcony was modern and well kept.

However there were a few problems. The beds were incredibly noisy! Even turning over make a huge creaking sound. The shower head was broken and there were quite a few ants in the room.

Overall a great place to stay, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

very pleasant hotel with excellent staff. the down side was that tiled floors every where made it very noisy. and the wall were so thin we were kept awake by inconsiderate neighbors on several nights. The food was good but the town itself had little to offer after two days. there is a bus from outside Monday to Friday so other places are accessible. I would recommend ear plugs and bring your own kettle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karngalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This Hotel is a 3star, but I feel that you get great value for your money. I will be coming back as the location is excellent for touring the Algarve and surrounding area. The staff are very helpful at all times. The rooms are basic but clean and you get air con included. I have travelled to many places and would strongly recommend this for a great cheap break. I just hope you get a sun set over the castle like we did, fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomstravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel staff are great, breakfast wasn't to bad either, dinner wasn't to shabby also but Silves was tooo quiet & out the way for us.

Pool was very nice although very cold.....the beach is a 40 minutes on the local bus and the bus driver wasn't helpful at all :( If you go to this hotel we would recommend renting a car as all the 'things to do' is about a 30/40 minute drive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked this hotel only a week before arriving. We were in one of the rooms on the same level as reception and had a spacious balcony with loungers, overlooking the beautiful town and castle of Silves.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful- whether it was helping us to book a car or advising on where to go for day trips. The hotel was clean and bright.

For the first week of August, we had imagined that the hotel would be overrun, but as it's a 20 minute drive to the beach, it was relaxing: always space to lie around the pool.

Breakfast was fine, and what you would expect for a 3*- although the instant coffee machine was not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogulzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This friendly hotel close to Silves was good value and any previously mentioned concerns had been addressed. In hindsight we would have hired a car for longer as the local bus/trains are very infrequent even in the height of summer.
We originally had a room without a balcony, but managed to get upgraded a few days later. Both had a view of the castle. The room was fine with air-conditioning included, which makes a pleasant change. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels.
The food was good and on 'car-less' days we prefered to eat in the hotel rather than walk to the eratic quality restaurants in town. Our stay co-incided with the Medieval Festival which did mean traffic jams around Silves ... and a 3-hour wait to get a meal in town.
We'd pre-booked a Quad Bike tour and a Jeep Safari. The latter was extremely good value.
The Hotel management do need to repair their neon sign at the back of the hotel facing the town. The 'o' and the 't' are not lit so it reads 'H el'

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location next to the lovely town of Silves with its many attractions and restaurants. It’s within easy reach of some lovely beaches and other attractions such as Golf, Water Parks, Horse riding etc. The staff at The Colina Dos Mouros. Are all very friendly and the rooms although a little tired they are roomy and clean and the beds comfortable. The continental style breakfast is good with adequate variety. The hotel pool is very good with a pool bar and adequate Sun loungers etc. The only down side was the influx of the locals using the pool late afternoon and surprisingly without paying. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with one proviso, do not take a room under the restaurant (rooms 205/6/7/8) as the noise of the chairs on the tiled floor above is very bad from 7 in the morning. Otherwise book this hotel and enjoy your stay.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
6  Thank Chrismotler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silves
6.5 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#21 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
9.4 mi away
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
6.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
56 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina dos Mouros

Address: Pocinho Santo, Silves, Silves 8300, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silves
Price Range: $34 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina dos Mouros 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colina dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Dos Mouros Hotel Silves
Colina Dos Mouros Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing