We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday destination for our family and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Tranquil atmosphere under the large carob trees on the Waterfront deck Pool with Large Shallow Step for Toddlers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Tranquil atmosphere under the large carob trees on the Waterfront deck
Pool with Large Shallow Step for Toddlers
Enjoy sunset cocktails on the deck
Outdoor lunch with gorgeous river views
Infinity pool with martini seat
Lounge with Piano, Large Flat Screen TV, DVD Player
Afternoon tea and perhaps crane bird sightings
Pre-order your BBQ packs
Cooking master classes to celebrate any occasion
A peaceful and tranquil setting in a nature reserve
Large deck with shade and views of the river and hills
Modern kitchen with 8 seater kitchen island and 10 seater cherry table
Bedroom with Bathroom En-suite, Large Basins, Shower, Toilet, Room for a Cot
Double bedroom upstairs
Upstairs Bedroom can be made up with single or a double bed
Green room can be made up with single or a double bed
Large, modern bathrooms
Main Bathroom with Double Basins, Toilet, Bidet, Shower
Child features: Kids toys, dvds, play pen, stair gate, monitor, cots, high chairs
Shaded Dining Area; Table Tennis Table
Large water front deck - ask about health and wellness retreats
The River House
The River House
The perfect backdrop to your Algarve wedding day or special celebration
Coffee machine
Trampoline, swings, cot high chair, baby den with tent, baby bouncer, stair gates, bed boards
Downstairs floor plan - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge, kitchen, wc, entrance hall
Upstairs floor plan - 3 bedrooms, bathroom
Golden Flag Felsia Beach, Albufeira, 25 minute drive
Alte, BBQ, Cafe & an Opportunity to Swim in the Cool Spring Waters.  The waterfall is in Alte as wel
Quad Bike Adventures for All; Walking Distance
Silves Historic Town on the River with Moorish Castle, Cathedral & Nightlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Silves, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie Y
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday destination for our family and friends”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to the River House with my husband and 10 month old baby together with another family of 3 with a baby and also one single friend. The house accommodated us all wonderfully. The five bedrooms are air conditioned and really well appointed. The linen was wonderfully crisps and the downstairs bedrooms had fans and lovely ensuites. We spent most of the time either in the kitchen or in the garden. The kitchen is massive and has every kind of dish, utensil, pot you can think of. It's seriously impressive. We had a bbq every night at the house and ate outside in the garden. The bbq is serious and we had a lot of fun trying different things. The outdoor furniture is really comfortable too. One of the most amazing things about the house is it's location. From every angle, you're hard pressed to find a neighbour or house. It's so remote! Truly relaxing! We found that most things were a 30 minute drive from the house, so it's very accessible. The only things I would mention that weren't perfect was the lack of a bath despite having more than enough space and also not having any local tv stations or the bbc to watch the World Cup. Overall it was an amazing holiday which we won't forget!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had an amazing holiday at the River House and that you found the villa so comfortable and well equipped. My husband loves the BBQ too and refers to it as the space ship! Unfortunately we lost our TV channels when the satellite was repositioned but we are looking into other options so that we can provide a variety of TV channels including British. The installations of the baths are on our to do list! Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback and we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel430
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a beautiful tranquil location - great for all kinds of groups.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in October - it is so peaceful, very spacious and extremely well equipped (especially for babies). We always tried to make it back to the house for sunset by the pool as it was so pretty! Arvril was wonderful, very helpful on arrival and had done some extra shopping for us also. And the house was spotless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshuamha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“good, well-set up house in nice spot”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the River house with 6 children under 6 (!) and one other couple. Its a very well set up house for kids - good number of bedrooms and bathrooms, very safe (but very small) simming pool, excellent BBQ, trampoline and enough space to wander. Plus Sky TV for when you need a break....

Its also close enough for trips to the beach - 30 mins or so - water parks etc, so easy to do a jaunt each day.

The only plea I would make is to focus on the trimmings a little more. Its such a great house that the extra investment in more than 1 loo roll when you arrive, a few more (very nice) Krups coffee capsules, sharp knives etc. Little details, and not a problem, but fixing them would take away the tiny final issues.

Overall though, very happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall quality of the house
Liked least: a little too remote - but not the owners fault!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick F
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunnig Villa in a simply beautiful location... and perfect with kids!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just arrived back from a truely memorable stay and can only say Thank - you to Cheryl the owner for delivering on all of the website promise. The River House is such a wonderful Villa, in a simply beautiful location, and we loved every minute of our stay. The baby friendly facilities were a major draw for us (given the young family) and the property along with all the extras more than delivered on the promise from the website. The pool was also perfect for our young family, with our eldest two loving the freedom they had in the shallow area, as well as being able to enjoy the plunge pool with rubber rings and arm bands (along with all the many toys that were available at the property!).

I must also say that in Avril, the River House benefits from a wonderfully welcoming and helpful Villa manager, so a big thank you to her (and husband) for their part in helping make our holiday so great.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the property to our friends, or anyone else who reads this review, and we very much hope to make a return visit ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place was everything we could ask for
Liked least: The pool wasnt ready for use until day 2 - but that didn't impact an amazing holiday!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2013
You are very welcome! Thank you for looking after the villa so well and we look forward to your next visit :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizziHodg
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This house is beautiful. The kitchen is fantastic and perfect for large groups of people. It is also in the most amazing location with fantastic views of the river and enjoying complete peace and quiet. The infinity pool is lovely (although very cold) and we spent most of our days lazing by the pool and then using the huge BBQ for our dinners. We travelled with a group of friends and there were three babies. Everything we could possibly need was provided (eg three cots and highchairs, stairgates, lots of toys), including a great welcome pack of food.

The house was only about 30 minutes from Faro airport and close to the interesting town of Silves. The local town of Messines isn't the nicest place I've been to but was useful for its supermarkets. Although I was initially nervous about the fact that nothing was within walking distance of the house, this actually proved a positive as it was so quiet and nice to feel "in the middle of nowhere".

We enjoyed the most amazing weather with temperatures reaching 30 degrees, so it was the perfect time to go. I couldn't recommend the River House more highly, with the only negatives I can think of being the lack of a bath (although our shower may have been the best shower I have ever been in) and the temperature of the pool. Neither of these affected the enjoyment of our holiday though, as a baby bath was provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of bath
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeldaB
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a fantastic location with everything you need.”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our recent stay at the River House in the Algarve was absolutely perfect. It was a beautiful house in a fantastic location. We have been telling all our friends about it and we look forward to returning again hopefully next year.

Cheryl was very helpful and prompt in her correspondance during the booking process and the lead up to our stay. Avril and the rest of the team out there looked after us so well and made sure that we had everything we needed. The warm welcome was very much appreciated and all the thoughtful little touches made a real difference (welcome pack, games, facilities etc).

We hired cars for our stay and this was ideal as it meant we were able to discover the areas attractions but also then escape to the calm of the location of the River House. The local town was close enough to pop to the shops for the basics which was great as well.

The house was kitted out amazingly and had everything you could need. Having internet there was an added bonus. It may sound silly but we all think the beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in!

The pool, although not large, was perfect size and suited both adults and kids perfectly. A perfect place to sit and relax.

Can't recommend the house enough! It really was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, pool.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davelurki...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay at a very peaceful location but close enough to all activities to enjoy them.”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a brilliant time and the house was everything we expected. From the generous welcome pack to the nice pool which all ages enjoyed, We would thoroughly recommend this property. I t made our first visit to Portugal very memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was ideal for the whole family (12 people)
Liked least: Not enough storage in some bedrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing