We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay at a very peaceful location but...”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Tranquil atmosphere under the large carob trees on the Waterfront deck Pool with Large Shallow Step for Toddlers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sunset view from the pool deck.
Tranquil atmosphere under the large carob trees on the Waterfront deck
Pool with Large Shallow Step for Toddlers
Enjoy sunset cocktails on the deck
Outdoor lunch with gorgeous river views
Infinity pool with martini seat
Lounge with Piano, Large Flat Screen TV, DVD Player
Afternoon tea and perhaps crane bird sightings
Pre-order your BBQ packs
Cooking master classes to celebrate any occasion
A peaceful and tranquil setting in a nature reserve
Large deck with shade and views of the river and hills
Modern kitchen with 8 seater kitchen island and 10 seater cherry table
Bedroom with Bathroom En-suite, Large Basins, Shower, Toilet, Room for a Cot
Double bedroom upstairs
Upstairs Bedroom can be made up with single or a double bed
Green room can be made up with single or a double bed
Large, modern bathrooms
Main Bathroom with Double Basins, Toilet, Bidet, Shower
Child features: Kids toys, dvds, play pen, stair gate, monitor, cots, high chairs
Shaded Dining Area; Table Tennis Table
Large water front deck - ask about health and wellness retreats
The River House
The River House
The perfect backdrop to your Algarve wedding day or special celebration
Coffee machine
Trampoline, swings, cot high chair, baby den with tent, baby bouncer, stair gates, bed boards
Downstairs floor plan - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge, kitchen, wc, entrance hall
Upstairs floor plan - 3 bedrooms, bathroom
Golden Flag Felsia Beach, Albufeira, 25 minute drive
Alte, BBQ, Cafe & an Opportunity to Swim in the Cool Spring Waters.  The waterfall is in Alte as wel
Quad Bike Adventures for All; Walking Distance
Silves Historic Town on the River with Moorish Castle, Cathedral & Nightlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Silves, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Davelurki...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay at a very peaceful location but close enough to all activities to enjoy them.”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a brilliant time and the house was everything we expected. From the generous welcome pack to the nice pool which all ages enjoyed, We would thoroughly recommend this property. I t made our first visit to Portugal very memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was ideal for the whole family (12 people)
Liked least: Not enough storage in some bedrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazz80
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Child friendly luxury at reasonable prices in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the river house. It is so difficult to find somewhere child friendly without compromising on luxury but this property really ticks all the boxes. It is in a really peaceful and beautiful location yet within half an hour drive of the airport, silves, albufeira, loule, praia de rocha etc. there are some lovely restaurants in the locality that offer great value and horse riding and quad biking is just over the road. the house itself has all the facilities you could possibly want and plenty to keep the kids entertained. the gated pool was a great source of peace of mind and the trampoline entertained our little one for hours. the two downstairs bedrooms are stunning and ideally suited for the adults if the kids are old enough to stay in the smaller rooms upstairs. The bathrooms are especially luxurious both upstairs and downstairs. The property really is stunning and i would imagine that a similar property on the coast if it were to exist would cost three times the amount and lack the serenity that this property has. I would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anne l
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality and stylish accomodation in a peacefull setting.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The river house provides eally good quality accomodation in a remote, peacefull setting. This house has plenty of space. The living room has high ceilings, 3 sets of sofas and airconditiong. All the bedrooms have been very tasetefully designed and the bathrooms are enormous. The Kitchen is very well equipped and a great space especially if you enjoy cooking. Everything has a very new, fresh, feel and has been thoughtfully put together to create a very comfortable,stylish, home from home environment.

We went with 2 boys, 6yrs and 9 yrs and prior to going were a little concerned that they would get bored but the owners have very thoughfully provided, table tennis table, trampoline & swings for younger children. Of course the splash pool despite being small was ideal as they just spent hours jumping in and out of the water. This is a safe location for children. Cheryl the owner was extremely helpful prior to going. The owners also went out of their way to return something to us that we had left behind at the property. You genuinely get the impression that they want all their visitors to have a nice time.

Hiring a car is essential and we used a local company who rented a car through Visa which was very effiecient as they brought the car to the airport for us so we avoided all the car hire queues. Luis --. The property is about 10 minutes away from the nearest little town with a small supermarket by British standards, so there is a limited selection of food items but there are plenty of bigger supermarkets in the Algarve.

We really enjoyed our 10 days at the River House and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Thank you for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemmingu...
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury in a beautiful, quiet and natural setting and with a lovely view!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really wonderful holiday in the River House. The house was lovely and nothing was missing. We enjoyed the lovely surroundings of the house and bathed in the sun and pool, from where we could follow the fishermen on, and under, the bridge. The horses with riders crossing the river and the local goat shepherd, sometimes, walking close by the house with all of his goats, to get to the riverside for green grass and water. We enjoyed a few walks and cycling in the area and nature reserve. We gathered all our drinking water from Fonte Pequena (Little Spring) and enjoyed swimming in the cold water in Fonte Grande (Big Spring) both in Alte. We found a peaceful spot on the amazing beach not far from Praia da Rocha where we unfortunately only went once. Other interesting places we visited were beautiful Monchique and Silves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZSA
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun, tranquillity and great beds and a nicer home than home!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

The owner Cheryl was extremely helpful providing maps and details of local restaurants and activities before we left so we had no need to do any of our own research!. A car is a must and was cheap to hire at the airport. We easily found the River House and were pleased to say it is very clean, maintained to a high standard and attractively modernly decorated. It has a large kitchen and was superbly appointed for all our self catering needs. It really feels like a home away from home with fantastic pillows and beds. It is such a spacious, large property that the 4 adults could all find a shady spot in private for mid afternoon snoozes in peace when needed or enjoy the pool and villa together without being on top of each other. We enjoyed easy day trips to the beaches in the Algarve and Silves using the picnic items thoughtfully provided at the villa, whilst benefiting from the serenity, peacefulness and quiet of the rural mountain setting. We enjoyed the ability to be a group on our own and to go out and about when we wanted more entertainment. Now all relaxed and bronzed and we plan to come again!.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing