We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, a little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O Barradas

O Barradas
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Silves
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cooking style of Restaurante "O Barradas" is based on original Portuguese cuisine and recipes adapted into a more contemporary defined taste. We only chose the best ingredients often found in the local region and serve daily fresh fish caught in Sagres and the tenderest meat from the North of Portugal (Mirandesa).
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, a little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food although quite pricey.

I have been coming for a number of years and it's good to see the owner is now more relaxed rather than trying to run around for every single table!

The homemade rose is ok, although we were told "it's the best!" - it's not, buts its good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesfpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    53
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant for something a little different.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have dined here many times and always enjoyed it we were surprised that on this occasion our meal was constantly interrupted by the owners children going in and out of the door which was adjacent to our table. We had to get up and shut the door on each occasion. Very suprised that this was not stopped by their parents as this is not what you expect from this standard of restaurant. The food and wine was superb as always just a pity we were disturbed so many times. Will return but recommend table well away from the door.!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreddieB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family and I have gone to the Algarve very summer for the ;last couple of years and we always go to this restaurant because the food is always excellent and the service is friendly. It is particularly good for fresh fish and I would strongle recommend that you go for this. It is a bit out of the way but it is worth the trip. It has a lovely open area which is ideal on the warm summer nights.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Out of town dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wonderful location for dining al fresco in warm months with very good quality food, & a great wine selection.

Inside is warm & cosy with a log fire for the cooler winter evenings.

One of our favorite dining spots.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went to this restaurant after reviewing a few restaurants in the Silves area on Tripadvisor. What a great restaurant. We were a larger party, eight people but adequately catered for in the outdoor dining area. We were warmly greeted and our drinks order quickly taken. We were then taken through the fish of the day and how it can be cooked. The fish here is what has been landed that morning. We all selected a wide variety from the menu but everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. I had the veal cutlet (locally sourced, organic red meat) which was grilled and just melt in the mouth. We had three courses as the desert menu was extremely hard to ignore, wine (house but they have a good list) beers, water, bread, olives etc. and it was all under 40 euros a head including service. This restaurant was absolutely perfect, outdoor dining under the stars, locally sourced food cooked to perfection, good wines all delivered by competent and friendly service. If in the Silves area do not miss out on this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Barradas also viewed

 
Silves, Faro District
Silves, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Silves, Faro District
 

Been to O Barradas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing