We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best Restaurant in Portugal”
Review of O Barradas

O Barradas
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Silves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The cooking style of Restaurante "O Barradas" is based on original Portuguese cuisine and recipes adapted into a more contemporary defined taste. We only chose the best ingredients often found in the local region and serve daily fresh fish caught in Sagres and the tenderest meat from the North of Portugal (Mirandesa).
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Restaurant in Portugal”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A little piece of heaven in the Algarve. We chanced upon this beautiful villa style restaurant just off the A22/EN124 junction going towards Silves. Take exit marked Palmerirnha or look it up on the Internet.
We ate outside and the experience was beautiful. The service and quality of food was just amazing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WD23TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    63
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“meat that cuts like butter”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is an inland restaurant,so it is not a place to go for the views.Outside dining is in a courtyard,or you can sit inside on really comfy chairs.
It is a simple local restaurant that produces sensational food.I went twice and had fresh filleted fish to start with garlic butter and a tomato salad.For the main I had veal-the first time a steak in a wine sauce and the second the loin,which was delicious in a tarragon sauce.This is erved with herby saute potatoes that are to die for!Plus some excellent vegetables.
Iwashed the fish down with a lovely crisp Portuguese white,and an Alantejo red accompanied
the meat.Alas,I could not find room for a sweet.Which looked excellent.
The owner is always front of house and the service is warm and friendly.
This is definitely a place for carnivores but fish eaters are well catered for as well
Kendal minf

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Extremely Satisfying Restaurant in the Algarve”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews, but it was actually even nicer than we expected. We ate in the "garden" area on a beautiful night (which didn't hurt), but the high quality of the food and attentive service were what made the whole experience. We ate quite a bit for 125 euros (including tip and wine), which was very reasonable compared to many other restaurants we visited on a three week trip. This is a great choice for a relaxing dinner if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Avid_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algarve
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Difficult to discribe,it is relaxing welcoming great food incredible wine list .The garden room is so well prepared .Just a wonder full place for a special evening.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday dining experience outdoors”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

When making your reservation, try ( weather permitting) to get a table outside. We were seated, party of 10, at a nice table under the trees. The restaurant owner gives great advise, all staff speak a very decent English, enough menus available in the English language. Good food, meat/ fish and vegetarian options, decent pricing and a great atmosphere. Even though it was the busiest evening of the season, all staff kept smiling and there was no waiting time for the food. Go there, it's a remote location a little outside Silves. The 124 towards the Autoroute, exit Palmeirmha.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epenmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Barradas also viewed

 
Silves, Faro District
Silves, Faro District
 
Silves, Faro District
Lagoa, Faro District
 

Been to O Barradas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing