We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Sagres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Spent the week in Sagres with the family and stayed at Memmo Baleeira. We stayed in the suite with the sea view which I would definitely recommend! Waking up to the breathtaking views of the sea is priceless. The hotel facilities were great and we spent most of our week in the hotel which was our plan. There is lots to do with the outdoor and indoor pool (nice touch on windy days especially), nice spa, great kids and family activities e.g boat ride! Overall we had an enjoyable week. Only downside is the wifi only works in lobby, food isn't that special especially the a la carte at restaurant - don't bother! Go for the buffet! There are many great restaurants though within walking distance - Villa Viella is a must!!. All in all i would recommend and revisit again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank IfyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked a last minute 4 night holiday and could not have had a better stay. Great location, lovely room looking out to sea with a balcony, lots if great local restaurants and multiple beaches near by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flick1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights here and it was a real treat. Great welcome by receptionist and all other staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Room was simple but stylish with a fabulous view of the harbour and along the coast. Lovely grounds with comfortable pool area. Breakfast buffet was good quality with very wide choice. No wi fi in rooms was slightly irritating, but we loved the Memmo and will go again.

Room Tip: Go for a full sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stottytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights (July 2014) mid-week. On leaving the resort, we were both sad that we were not staying for a further two nights!

The location is spectacular, the hotel looks out over a harbor and bay and the views are second to none. We had a double room with a balcony that overlooked the pool. The room was tidy, clean and well equipped - it really was wonderful.

The amenities in the hotel were excellent, they have a spa, a bar, a restaurant and common areas. We spent most of our time either out in Sagres or in the common area (it's the only place you can get Wifi, which is a blessing in disguise if you are trying to 'disconnect').

The food was delicious at breakfast and there was plenty of very good quality fare! We had drinks in the bar and they too, were lovely. We also rented bikes from the hotel for a daye (8euro pp) and these made getting around Sagres a real ease.

In all, we loved the Memmo and would happily return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaraghMcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Memmo Baleeira Hotel is nicely situated by the harbor with a beautiful view over the water. The hotel is recently refurbished and is is very good condition. The decor is very simple although stylish which creates a relaxing atmosphere.
Rooms are nice an reasonably spacious.
Staff is friendly and breakfast is excellent - and then it is served until 11 a.m. every day!!!
Internet is free in the common-areas, but charged in the rooms. This is my only serious complaint. Any proper hotel nowadays offer free internet also in the room.
However, I can definitely recommend this hotel and we are likely to come back if visiting Sagres again.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a room with sea-view, as our room without it still had a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesperzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Second visit to Memmo! The first a few yrs ago was in a suite, this time, one of the standard rooms. Having stayed in both now, I would recommend saving a little bit harder and paying for the suite.

Standard rooms are lovely, with good decor, but relatively small with small balconies.

Hotel and gardens immaculately clean & tidy at all times, so highest praise to all the staff working on that front.

Good breakfast altho little day to day variation with what's on offer so make sure your a little bit inventive to ensure you don't get too fed up of eating the same thing! Beautiful fresh fruit each morning, good array of breads, pastries and cakes and selections of cold cuts and cheese available aswell as a small hot buffet area.

Out of interest, there is a coffee machine next to the bar (between 5am -8am I think) for those early morning risers who are desperate for a coffee before breakfast opens! Only discovered this two days before we left-and it was a very welcome discovery:-)!

Lots of very good restaurants all within walk in distance, but Sagres is a very quiet town so I wouldn't recommend visiting unless you hired a car!

All in all a very very good stay at the Memmo!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel that clearly cares about their customers having a great time. That is why we've visited the Memmo Baleeira three times in recent years. From the very warm welcome extended to us by the lovely and helpful Ana, to the teams of staff looking after the restaurant, housekeeping, spa and reception, we only have great things to say about the Memmo Baleeira Hotel.

The drive takes just over an hour and has always proven straight forward once you've overcome the not so wonderful car hire experience at Faro airport. Spacious and generally sheltered parking, coupled with a great location to explore the coastline, makes this our destination for time out to relax.

We've stayed in three different types of room and have always found them to be impeccably clean, well maintained and spacious. All of the housekeepers that we met were lovely. We love the modern, cool and minimalist design that runs through this hotel and we have always been impressed by how well maintained the property and the exterior is - it looks like the paintwork is regularly refreshed. We love the fact that you can book a half-hour private pool and spa appointment during the afternoon (there is a nice indoor pool, a Turkish steam bath and a sauna) - all complimentary.

The food is great too - meaning that if you fancy a lazy day or two, with no driving or effort required, this hotel is worth a look. June seems to be a great time to visit - mid-twenties, lots of sunshine and just before the holiday season is in full flow.

We've read a few
Comments on the wifi - maybe it is a good thing that it is only available in central areas of the hotel. We came here to forget about our phones for a while!

Finally, we were very impressed with the value for money - all in all, this has been a great place for us to visit as a couple - and we'd feel very comfortable bringing a family here too due to the friendly, safe and well equipped facilities on offer.

Keep up the good work, Memmo Baleeira!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan_Matador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
20.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $74 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing