We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed 1 night to visit Sagres and surf in the morning, we absolutely loved the hotel with its quiet location and simple but stylish interiors. We booked a room with sea view which I highly recommend to be able to enjoy waking up and looking at the sea from bed. We also hired a bike at the hotel and they gave us all the information needed to see the Fortaleza and Faro. Special mention to the staff, which is the friendliest staff I've ever come across. They were absolutely lovely. Helpful, attentive and very flexible. We'll definitely come back to Sagres and the Meemo Baleeira.

Room Tip: I'd definitely go for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiukiuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    514
    140
    40
    13
See reviews for
287
829
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Recently returned from Sagres where we spent a wonderful week with family to celebrate my father's 70th birthday. We arrived quite late in the evening to a very warm welcome. The receptionist was friendly and informative. She directed us to the coffee shop to get a snack and a drink after showing us to our rooms. We had a one and two bedroom apartment between us. The photos did not do it justice, minimalist but relaxing. The apartments were really well equiped. Only small critisism would be lack of towel rail for large towels used for bath/shower. After a good night's sleep we met in the breakfast room. Small selection of cooked items (sausage, bacon, mushrooms etc) and must say the scrambled egg was the best I have had in a hotel in Europe and the portugese custard tarts very mooreish and delicious...fortunately bite sized!! a good selection of fruits, yogurts, cheeses etc and good selection of breads and pastries with a different cake every day. Freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, hot choc and good selection of teas. There was a small indoor pool which you could reserve for half an hour each day per room which was lovely to have your own private pool party especially with a 3 and 9 year old in our family. There is a playroom for kids with bouncy castle, lots of toys, books, tables and chairs which was nice. Outdoor pool looked lovely but not heated so we didn't use it. I would recommend the boat trip from the port for dolphin watching. We were very lucky so see a whole kindergarten/nursery of black and white dolphins and my son and niece enjoyed it when we sped up and went around the coast. As for the hotel, the staff, especially on the front desk were absolutely lovely. Special thanks to Ana. The advice and recommendations made were spot on. The Lagos zoo is good for young children and the visit to the restored village of Pedralva was nice. Favourite restaurant was A Sagres. Carlos also excellent but not cheap. although a little out of season there are lots of places to eat within walking distance. We hired a car from Faro airport because the transfer was expensive (its a good 1 hour 20/30 mins transfer) but you don't need car in Sagres, only if you want to explore a little further afield. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and Sagres. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My partner wanted somewhere special to stay for my birthday. Staff could not of been kinder. Up graded sea view room. Incredibly clean. Evening meal excellent. To make it even more special a bottle of bubbly a delicious cake with a lovely note left in the room. How memorable is that. They pulled out all the stops and we hadn't booked in advance, just called on a whim.
Highly recommend. M. Clark

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just came back from a weekend with the family at Memmo Baleeira.
We had a wonderful time.
We got upgraded to a room with a frontal view of the sea. The room was large with a great view and minimalist decor, which we love.
The entire hotel is nice and staff is very friendly and go out of their way to help.
Breakfast had a good selection of food the only bad part is that espresso is not included and you have to pay on the side.
The other inconvenience for people who need internet connection is that there is none in the rooms so you have to go to the lobby. Since we are from Portugal and carry our portable hotspot this meant no problem to us but for someone else could be relevant. They told us they would soon have working wifi in the rooms, so this will likely not be a problem in a near future.

Hotel also has good amenities and spa and a room to store your surfboard (and surfboard rentals as well).

We had a great time. Thank you Memmo staff!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view if your bugdet allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanapecorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York , England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The welcome at the hotel was impressive, Merissa gave us all the information we needed and kindly gave our 5 year old a voucher for a free crepe...only if she promised to be good. The room was stunning. The suites are roomy and kept immaculate by the daily maid service.
We recently stayed at a Waldorf Astoria and were prepared to be a little less impressed.. we were wrong the hotel, the food, the employees and the location could not have been better.
Lots of beaches to choose from and a visit for half a day to the nearby Martenhal (which I nearly booked) convinced us we made the right decision to stay at Memmo Baleeira.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and we will hopefully return in September. Thank you for making it a perfect break.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissycav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Heathrow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in Memmo Baleeira for 2 nights in February 2014. Lovely hotel. we booked a sea view suite and were wowed by the room and sea/harbour view immediately we opened the room door. Room 322 if you're planning to stay! Big, spotlessly clean, modern apartment style suite with double bedroom backed up by a good sofa bed in the lounge. Small but usable kitchenette with saucepans, cutlery, crockery, microwave, hob, fridge. Nice bathroom. Very good buffet breakfast in the main restaurant. The hotel has a small indoor pool, sauna and steam room. These facilities are open to all guests in the mornings but are bookable for afternoon/evening sessions so a family or group of friends can have exclusive sessions. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very close to a good range of restaurants and it's just a few minutes drive to Cape St. Vincent. Catch the sunset there! There is a small beach directly behind the hotel, reached by steps from the hotel grounds, but it is sadly a bit spoiled by litter and the high tide comes right up the beach. Not to worry though, there's a big, clean beach just a short distance along the coast. Overall we can't fault the place and would definitely stay again. Terrific value for money in low season!

Room Tip: 322 - or rooms on either side - give you a fabulous outlook over the harbour and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after a late flight to a very friendly welcome. We had a very comfortable room with a small balcony looking on to the port, very clean. Lovely bar and lounge areas to relax in. Staff very friendly . Lovely breakfasts with a good choice .Great situation. I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation and would happily revisit another time in the future, perhaps a bit later in the year when the weather is a bit kinder. All in all, a great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing