We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chic modern escape at the end of the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“chic modern escape at the end of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

white sleek modern building and facilities set in a small town at the western edge of the Algarve- Incredibly helpful and friendly front desk staff that took me to my room and showed me around the property. Rooms are not huge but spend the extra for a sea view room- I could have sat on the small balcony watching the sunrise everyday.
One of the best beds I have ever slept on with a selection of pillows-
it was too cold to use th spool but I can see spending time there in the summer
just a few block away from the small town of nice bars and casual dining
the hotel breakfast buffet was a big hit with a variety of options from pastries- fresh baked breads- meat and cheese selection as well as eggs- bacon
the indoor pool and spa are nice to have but the steam room was not working and the sauna is small so it was usually full as it only fits 4 and that is tight- the signage for mens and women's changing areas is not clear so be careful- very easy to walk into the wrong area to change
overall I loved it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    501
    135
    39
    13
See reviews for
277
806
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in November 2013 for a week in a suite.
Amazing location with breathtaking view. Waking up looking at the sunrise is a real treat so go for a room with a view.
The hotel has a modern design, with a clever use of the space and location. Everything is turned towards the sea.
Great facilities: indoor and outdoor pool, Turkish bath, sauna and Spa.
The breakfast buffet is truly amazing !!!
Located 5 minutes away from the city and the 2 minutes walk away from the shops.
Simply perfect

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrogOfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I took my wife and 3 children (10, 9 and 6) to the Memmo in the last week of October and enjoyed fantastic weather (21 degrees each day) and a great selection of activities - family scuba diving in the hotel pool, family surfing lesson, fishing and then cooking the catch, dolphin watching and Donkey Motion near the zoo at Lagos. As well as walking, biking, birdwatching and relaxing in the hotel pool at spa. The two-bedroom suite overlooking the harbour was fantastic, the buffet breakfast all that we could have needed, and the service from the front desk in terms of recommendations, advice and attentiveness first class. The hotel is sparkling clean, welcoming and we had a holiday that we will not forget in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a v quite November night. We stayed for a drink and were thinking about staying the night.
I asked the young receptionist to show me the nicest room she had. She seemed quite unapproachable and overly 'formal' in my opinion. She showed me to a v small double bed room; just enough to walk past the bed. I asked if this was the nicest room she had? to which she responded its a standard double and that their rooms go by categories not nicest etc...she seemed very superior in her tone. We went back to the reception desk , again, to get a key to the 'nicest' room....as we were walking to this room she said it had a garden view....in a hotel that hangs off a cliff with sea views; why would she show me a garden view room if I asked to see the nicest Room? And so back to reception, again, she reluctantly showed me the sea view room eventually; third try lucky! Her manner was not amicable as it should be for the service industry.

Later on we went back to reception to ask about the rates. This time another lady was on there. I told the receptionist that we had seen a room online on booking.com and it said it was a double. I asked her was it ok that if we booked that could she ensure we get the sea view room we had seen. Keep in mind this was 6 pm on a quite November night, maybe three people in the communal areas total. She smirked and said no this would not be possible. Even though the room was clearly empty that night and plenty of other rooms were free for the night; she turned down the business straight away. We had planned to stay there that night; have some more drinks at the bar and do treatments in the spa the next day. It stuns me how some Portugese people in the service industry lack the ability for business and to be commercial minded. That would not happen in other countries such as UK or america. Its their loss: view is great but service was false, not warm and there was a superior attitude from the staff i engaged with, in my opinion.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemmoBaleeira, Gerente geral at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments since our guest feedbacks are very important to identify failures and improve our service.

As you understand we do our best to select and train the best staff in order to provide a good service to our guests.

I was surprised with your comment since our staff always have a welcoming attitude to all our guests as you can see by reading the reviews from guests that stayed with us.

Reading your email I understand that you had a bad experience with one of our staff attitude. We will take this opportunity to internally improve training in order to avoid this kind of situations.

The majority of the tourists feel well treated in our country! I am sure that will also happen to you in a future visit to Portugal.

Thank you for your comprehension.

Kind regards,
Rodrigo Machaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked through Memmo's website and got a good deal for a 5 nights stay.
The staff was always very welcoming and helpful.
The room had a nice view over the sea and harbour and the swimming pool.
Being on the ground floor behind reception and near the bar, it could get a bit noisy with people passing by or chatting outside.
The cot was great for our 22 months old, the bed very comfy and the breakfast always good.
The spa area with pool, sauna and steam room were great too. And so are the massages!
Thank you for a lovely and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel without a previous booking and had a good deal for a three night stay and enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another three nights.
We had a room with a good view of the bay and the harbour and overlooked the pool. The room was reasonably sized with twin beds pushed together to make a double which I have no objections to but the sheets and duvet were tucked in to each bed so tightly that you have very little chance of meeting in the middle! The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well.
The bathroom was great with a nice shower over the bath and we had the complimentary toiletries renewed very day and towels replaced when needed.
I would have liked a facility for making tea or coffee in the room which was about the only thing the room missed.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of cold meats,cheeses, fruit and cooked alternatives with yummy pastries in addition.
Lounge areas were comfortable with large sofas and seating outside on the terrace. Drinks were expensive but that's the price you pay for staying in a hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evenings as there was such a good choice in the town which was only a minutes walk away.

The swimming pool was a good size with plenty of loungers and bean bags available. I think we must have stayed out of season as the cafe bar was not attended but drinks could be ordered from the lounge bar. Surprisingly it seems that glass is allowed in the pool area.
The one thing I really felt surprised with was that you were issued with pool towels and these were expected to last for three days and if they needed changing before then you had to pay for replacements - I do not expect that at a hotel of this quality especially as I swimming loads and my pool towels were always wet.

The hotel is in an ideal position for walking to nearby beaches and restaurants and cafés and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a lovely holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very nice stay. Clean hotel with perfect view:-) Tasty breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits, nice room, excellent service. Good place for stay and have trips around Algarve region. Quite good food in restaurant but you can find near the hotel something better;) In and outside swimming pool.
Very good place for stay:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing