We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

There is obviously a lot to improve, but despite that this place is just special. Very good location, most rooms face the sea, those that don't are not worth staying (you can always visit the hotel for a drink).

Pool is good, relaxed and not crowed, most people go to beaches nearby for relaxing or surfing. There is also a small indoor pool.

Breakfast was good, there wasn't fresh juices or a lot of egg options, but you have "bubbling wine", many pastry options, smoked salmon, some fresh fruits, etc. May get tyring after a few days but for 1 or 2 nights stay I find it apropriate. The breakfast room has a terrace overlooking the sea which is perfect. Did enjoyed it considering a 4 star hotel standard (although some private houses offer many times better quality).

During the night many guests enjoy the main bar, we had a jazz duo playing during our stay, very cool.

Rooms are small but look good, everything was nice.

The worst:
- I found the bed unconfortable, although very subjective, my wife slept well
- Bought caps for the indoor pool (mandatory) only to find that everyone that went there were not using them. Absolutely no conttol in this area, kids are not permited to go there during the evening, but we found many, sauna was not working during the morning, floor very wet, etc. Very poor job here.
- They only change pool towels after 3 nights (for free). Never saw this anywhere, even if you want to be ecologicaly responsible. I stay in a hotel exactly because I don't want to care about this kind of issues. After 3 days going to the pool and beach, the towel would look like crap.

In a nutshell, a good choice, particularly off season (in August they can easily charge 150 a night, ridiculous).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroAugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemmoBaleeira, Gerente geral at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments since our guests feed-backs are very important to improve our service.
*Breakfast: our orange juice is 100% natural and besides the fact that we only have scrambled eegs on the buffet guests can always order eggs of any style to our Chef.
*The beds are our biggest investment on the room. They are the top model from Molaflex. Since is always a very subjective issue we do have different type of mattress for more sensitive guests.
*Our indoor pool area, along with the Sauna and Turkish bath, is a free usage, free of charge space for our guests. We make all the recommendations regarding the usage speciallly kids hours and the usage of caps. We control and maintain the space along the day but we do not have a full time person at the indoor pool.
*In fact we had a problem not with our Sauna but with the Turkish bath that was out-off order for 1 week due to technical problems. The problem is now solved.
*We do provide to our guests a pool towel free of charge but since the guests also use the towel for the beach, during high season, we faced the problem of having guests changing towels 2 and 3 times a day! Guests can change the towel anytime they want but paying a fee. This was the only way to have some control on our towel daily stock during high season. The rest of the year we change the towels daily, free of charge.

Kind regards,

Rodrigo Machaz
General Manager
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    502
    135
    39
    13
See reviews for
279
807
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week. Had a suite with kitchen facilities and very spacious. Clean, stylish and modern, great design touches.

The bathroom could have been better, I.e. quite a small bath, but only a minor complaint.

The hotel's common areas are very nice, great views. Really well maintained gardens, access to a quiet beach and loads of easy going restaurants serving delicious seafood close by. We booked the hotel because we were under the impression it was manly couples/ adult, however there were quite a few young children and babies. Not against this but at times they were noisy, running down corridors etc. As it was early September, perhaps there are less children later in the year. Only writing this for those bothered by children.

I used the spa, Lena was excellent and gave great ideas for local places to eat. Thank you.

The only letdown was the breakfast. The food itself is passable at best, though the fruit and cereals are good enough. The coffee is poor quality, the juice was artificially sweet and the hot options looked low grade. There were a good choice of breads and sweet cakes, for those who like carb loading. The major problem was that the room was not big enough for the volume of guests. At busy times, it was so noisy and stressful. Having a queue of people behind you while you select something decent to eat is not good. The food stations were small, not much space for anyone or anything.

Anyway we complained. Initially it was shrugged off but then the hotel made good by offering us breakfast in our suite. Would have preferred to eat out of the room at breakfast but all things considered this was a fair and kind offer and much appreciated. The manager whose name I forget, was brilliant.

If the hotel work on matching a relaxed breakfast experience to the other elements of the hotel they will really improve their service.

Room Tip: Go for a suite with a sea view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

They charge almost €300 for a normal suite with the argument that it's a top 4star Spa hotel with a great location. The only truth here is the part that concerns not the hotel that you are paying for but the nature that surrounds you: indeed a great location but no better than any other in Sagres.
Either the hotel is ready only to work with quality when empty or if you travel on a month that might be a little busy you should choose another place or else you are sure to be standing 1h waiting for a clean towel, sure to be paying for a service that includes a Spa where nothing works and no one knows when it will be working, sure to have a very very small bathroom with disgusting bathtub cortins, and what is worse, if you choose Memmo Sagres in a month that you are not the only one there, be sure that you will be confronted with a general atitude from the staff of someone who just doesn't care. I for one will go back to Sagres and advise the location to others. But never ever Memmo Hotel again. I'm sorry but the long weekend ended not with a great relaxed feeling from the treatment on an expansive 4star Spa hotel, but with the feeling of being deceived and robbed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsmoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewloe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 8 days in Sagres at Memmo Hotel. Bad start as the company we booked through went bust without paying the hotel. The hotel, however, kept our reservation and honoured the price negotiated with agent. How good is that! The location is beautiful. The rooms minimalist in design, clean and comfortable. If there is one think I would have liked is coffee making facilities in the room. Also, wi-fi in the room would be good, too. Apart from that, I would recommend this hotel whole heatedly.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a modern hotel, looking onto the Baleira beach. The hotel was quite nice, but expensive. One major problem was the coffee, which was not good. The coffee in the nearest small cafe was a lot better, at one tenth of the price. The food is mediocre. The rooms are small, but very clean, and comfortable. The beach and harbour are very near, and the view is spectacular. Martinhal beach is very close, and this is one of the best beaches in the area, perfect for families. However, the clientele in the Memmo is a little posh, looking at your watch, and your car to see if you are an adequate person, ok, if you like that kind of thing. A little impersonal in this small area of Portugal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
Level Contributor
271 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Memmo Baleeira is a nice hotel in Sagres. The view from the hotel is really nice, on the small port of Sagres. The hotel is modern and very clean. There are two nice bars and two restaurants. The food is good. Wi Fi connection is free in common areas. Breakfast is good but there are few seats compared to the number of guests. You have to wait some minutes before take place. The pool is nice but there is the same problem of the preakfast. Few seats.
I would suggest the hotel to couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are not enough great words to describe how amazing my holiday with Pure Flow Motions was. The daily routine of yoga, meditation, surfing and hiking, although packed full, is somehow energizing. The food was beautiful and the accommodation top class. It has been said before but I want to say it again....what really makes this the wonderful retreat that it is, is Martha, Michael and Nicolau, they are kind, funny, welcoming and true experts in what they do - not to mention patient will my numerous efforts to stand on a surf board. I came floating home from this trip. So my recommendation is a resounding DO IT, there will be no regrets with choosing this as your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing