We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't actually stay here,but went for a look: WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Didn't actually stay here,but went for a look: WONDERFUL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

On a day trip to Sagres, after the fishing harbour, I was so taken with the look of this hotel, we went for coffee and a good look round. As everyone says, the position is brill, and a very unusual and minimalistic hotel, with good facilities (eg pool etc). Saw each of the different standard of rooms, and was quite impressed. The standards are smallish, with tiny balconies; the suite is better proportioned with full self-catering facilities. I think I could enjoy a few days here but, be aware, this end of the Western Algarve is very quiet; not much to do, and certainly a car is a must.

Room Tip: You MUST have a sea-view!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Llahsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    509
    139
    40
    13
See reviews for
285
820
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in June with our 3 month old baby. The hotel is located at a great location in Sagres. We stayed in the sea view suite. Rooms are well equipped with stunning views from the balcony. Great beds, but unfortunately no internet in the rooms and poor WiFi reception at the bar.
The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is good, but actually pretty small for the size of the hotel and at some moments it wash hard to find a sunbed.
Breakfast is great, although the breakfast space is actually pretty small when the hotel is full. Quality and choices on the breakfast buffet are great, one little detail would be that the knifes used at the breakfast are very blunt. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, since there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. Staff is ok but not particular personal. Bar seems to open in the afternoon, which is pretty weird if you would like to enjoy an espresso in the morning and enjoy the views.
If you stay in Sagres, definitely an hotel we would recommend.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights before going to Tavira for the remaining 3 days of the holiday. The hotel was in a great location with stunning views from most parts of the hotel. It was a bit larger than hotels we'd normally stay at but it didn’t seem impersonal. We stayed in a standard sea view room which had a partial sea view (mainly of the harbour) and small balcony on which to sit out on. It was a good size room with an extremely comfortable bed so we slept really well. The only slight niggle with the room was that there was a lack of hangers in the wardrobe, but this is a fairly minor point.

One of the highlights of our stay was the breakfast which included a huge selection of wonderful fresh fruit, breads, pastries, hot food etc. It was well-organised and re-stocked so we didn't see anything running out, despite a fair number of guests being there at the same time. We ate lunch in the coffee shop on the day we arrived, which was ok but quite expensive for what it was. Every other day we picked something up in Sagres town.

We probably didn't make full use out of all the facilities such as the pool area, as we prefer to go the beach, but the facilities are there if you want them (spa, small gym and restaurant). There was ample free parking.

We loved Sagres - quite a laid back place with a number of great beaches within walking distances. We were really lucky with the weather - it was beautiful every day without a cloud in the sky. The only downside was the sea was freezing!

There were a number of restaurants and bars just a short walk from the hotel. Of our week long holiday we had the best evening meals in Sagres (see reviews).

We loved our stay in Sagres and would definitely come back to this hotel if we decided to visit the area again. Would be happy to stay for longer than a few days.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fabulous sea view room, though small and made smaller as we had a travel cot in ours! Very modern and simplistic decor. Sunrise beautiful, sundowners on balcony amazing. Great location with plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. The beaches are absolutely fabulous. We explored at least eight within 30 minutes drive, a couple walkable. Beliche and Castelejo our favourites. Great place for kids, though pool is cold outside so wetsuits might help!! Kids playroom is a bonus, as is the indoor pool which is much warmer than outside. Breakfast buffet plentiful though simple and repetitive. Biggest negative is the senior staff. Bar staff and restaurant staff lovely and willing, but most of the reception staff slightly uninterested except on check in and advising you of all the resort rules and regulations. We complained about the fire alarm going off in error two nights running and had to really push to get a response, which when it came was an acceptable discount gesture.
Would definitely go back, love the beaches.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it if you plan to spend much time in your room or on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for about 5 days and we enjoyed it fully. A very friendly and supportive staff, very nice comfortable room, good breakfast and prices were very reasonable.
We also liked the environment and the many possibilities for nice walks, boat trips, visits etc.
A place to remember.
Big compliments to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect view, awesome breakfast, excellent service. Really want to go back.
Although we went there in low season, the hotel was full of local Portugese guests. The on-site surf school is handy and their rates are competitive.
We stayed 4 nights, but would have been happy to stay 4 more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadiBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sagres is lovely - even thou I like the town on Salema a bit better - Not ble to book in Salema - we choose the Memmo B - the privacy for us was exactly what we wanted -- two nights - not enought -
The balcony had high walls - we spend time out there at night and morning. We would have liked more confortable chairs for that area - but we worked it out. Also, would hve been nice to have coffee in the room but that is the europeon way (must come down to get coffee) Lastly - not much to do in the little surf town of Sagres at night - As off season, etc, Again I think Salema has an edge of the location

Room Tip: We made sure that we had a room with a balcony - a bit disconnected from the main - breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3tothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing