We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memmo = experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memmo = experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Memmo with my girlfriend in october 2012.
The hotel is fully renovated from an old hotel. Very clean and perfectly located.
Not the cheapest in Sagres but worth the money.
Brekfast is nice , could be little more selection and some extra vegetables.
Lounge area is more than perfect, parking area is on site.
Good pick if you visit Sagres.

Only one remark to the management :
The beds are very soft, please provide some spare hard matraces for the guests do not like very soft beds.

Thank you Memmo

Room Tip: Go for the Memmo suite and book in advance to get some extra discounts !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INSPECTOR_MZ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    499
    132
    39
    13
See reviews for
276
796
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronte, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited Sages in October and it seemed we nearly had the town to ourselves - it would probably be a very different place in high season. The hotel was obviously an old hotel that had been tastefully refurbished - the room was small but fine for a short stay with views out over the stunning coastline. Restaurants within walking distance and a great bar area for sunset drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely design hotel in Sagres, we'd never been to Portugal before and didn't really know what to expect. We got a fantastic deal for an autumn getaway, and the second we pulled up at the hotel we knew we were on to a winner. The hotel was really quiet, in so much as because it was out of season there were not that many guests there which meant we had no problems with being served, having dinner, getting in the gym etc.

We didn't really see much of the surrounding area because we were happy just relaxing in the hotel, reading books and sleeping! It's the kind of hotel you go to because of the hotel and not necessarily the location although I'm sure Sagres has some hidden charms.The hotel is really nicely designed with some lovely touches, contemporary but homely, room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. There were lots of squishy sofas to have chats (and naps) on.

Amazingly it wasn't windy while we were in Sagres, which, if you were hoping to surf might have been an issue but as it was we were very very happy to enjoy the sunshine by the pool. Staff were absolutely lovely, Clementina and Jose in particular made our stay even more pleasant. We had all of our meals at the hotel and they were all lovely, breakfast buffet had lots of variety and the daily chef special at dinner was always fabulous.

Everyone was super helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I really hope we can come back some day for a lovely relaxing time, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

What I have found most interesting about the Memmo Baleeira Hotel was the contemporary simplicity and confort of the spaces. It is not a small property but even in a high season with a almost full occupancy, apart from the pool (that can get really crowded) one can really breath and enjoy the multiple spaces. Service can get better but the location is perfect, the Atlantic views are breathless, the surf facilities are great, breakfast is perfect, and the overall environment is clean, trendy, artful, peaceful and natural. We have stayed in a Memmo Suite with lots of space and that worked just great for our tiny family!

Room Tip: Views are important
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A design hotel which was quite nicely laid out. The room was big, clean and well laid out. Friendly and professional staff, small bar and breakfast dining room but seemed to accommodate the number of guests well. The breakfast had very much on offer and the orange juice the best we had on the trip. Situated in quiet surroundings within easy walking distance to town. Well sound-proofed rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the far end of the hotel have their seaview partly obscured, the ones in the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomarinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived too early for check in - but Reception took our cases for safe keeping. As it was our first trip to Sagres - we asked at reception for some tips and we were well advised on nearby places of interest, good restaurants, exceptional beaches. We were shown around the hotel's facilities - restaurant, pool area etc etc. The decor of our room was lovely - clean & minimistic. We had a great view of the port and sea. Breakfast in the morning was very good - plenty of everything that you could look for. Didn't have dinner there (as we ate in a lovely nearby restaurant) so can't comment on that. One slight disappointing comment is that the bar staff by night were extremely slow - we were waiting for at least 10 minutes for someone to take our order!!!! But that was the only blip on what could otherwise be described as a very good hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkmar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice newer hotel. A bit worn-out. Rooms nice and big, we had a problem with mold- i'm asmatic so we had to change and the hotel manager actually gave us a double floor suite instead as to compensate. Clean, good breakfast, hotel is trendy and stylish. Didn't have free wifi in rooms, and the free one in the hotel was pretty lousy, not working most of the time. The parking was a bit small for the amount of cars. Outdoor oool is very small and not so nice, it also has an indoor one with a small spa center but didn't have time to check it out.All in all, nice one, could be much better if put a little bit more effort from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvette79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Property: Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing