We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was inside our room at pontalaia, especially for what we paid - 95 euro or something. The place was spotless, really nice. And it was huge. Nice couch, dining room table with four chairs, nice kitchen (nicer than at my house), huge bathroom (although the stylish lack of shower curtain meant a sure wet floor ... however, the heater in the bathroom was great), cool photos of Sagres sights on the walls. We felt we got a bargain for this place.

The beds were a little stiff but that seems to be the norm in portugal. Extra pillows were in the closet, along with bathrobes. Nice shampoos and stuff, according to my wife.

Parking was easy, lots of free parking. Location was great - right next to the pousadas which was much more expensive (although the view there seemed to be better, it's an older place I think)

We had booked a sea view room and although we could see the sea, it wasn't really like we were overlooking a cliff or anything (more of a pool view). But the town and surrounding area is so spectacular that you would be on overload anyway with a view 24/7.

We only stayed one night but could have stayed much longer. We're already talking about going back once I learn how to surf. The town is very small and a bit sleepy, but perfect for a relaxing getaway after we spent time in the more touristy section of the algarve (praia da roche). It's very windy in this town, which makes it less of a beach destination than some other areas of the algarve. That was fine with us! If only I could surf, we'd be in heaven.

Make sure you drive out to the tip of the lighthouse, and spend time exploring the cliffs along the way (Carefully!). Spectacular views!

The restaurant at the hotel was really great, was a perfect meal for our 1st wedding anniversary! It was the fanciest restaurant we ate at our whole trip. And I believe it was the nicest in town. (Just make sure you tell them you're staying at the hotel b/c I think you get a discount... we didn't know that and missed out!)

The only bad part was that we had to book through email (I hate sending my credit card info via email). Would have been nice to have secure booking online through their website or through a third party.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank exchelente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2006

We ended up in Sagres by accident and fell in love with it, locating these great apartments on day 2. The people who run them are brilliant (with excellent English) and the situation puts you within walking distance of 3 magnificent beaches.

Sagres is a very quiet town, which is what we like. The partment we has was superbly equipped and well cared-for.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Sherlockreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Belle vue sur la piscine. La mer est un peu loin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronchon1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank andreapifferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cátia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.6 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 10 in Sagres
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique, Sagres 8650-381, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sagres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $40 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 5-minute walk from Mareta Beach, Pontalaia offers apartments with a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool, the Atlantic Ocean or Sagres. Guests can benefit from a gym and sauna. The air-conditioned apartments of The Pontalaia have simple, modern furnishings and a private, modern bathroom. They include a fully equipped kitchenette, a safe, and satellite TV. Freshly caught fish is served at Mar a Vista, which is located near Mareta Beach. Pontalaia's guests can relax under a parasol by the swimming pool. Sagres offers a range of water sports such as surfing, snorkelling and windsurfing. While the Sagress Fortress is a 15-minute walk away, guests can reach the St. Vincent Fortress in a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing