We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fractional ocean-view, but nice place anyway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fractional ocean-view, but nice place anyway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Apartments are rather spacious and provided with sustained balkonies. To me, the floors and sofas seemed a bit cold due to their materials (cermaic tiles and artificial leather) - which sure is suitable for hot summer stays.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed and looking for a new owner, so there was no possibility to get fresh drinks at the pool.

Very nice and uncomplicated staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigiri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Plus side: This was hotel service (daily cleaning, no meals though) with apartment facilities and equipment and price. The two rooms of our apartment were well appointed and the kitchen adequate for most purposes. It was a short walk to several good restaurants and a little further to harbour and beaches. We walked to the fort on the headland - worth the visit. There was a gym etc but we didn't use. The (small but adequate) supermarket is 2mins away.

Minus side: Nothing really negative to report. Minor points: People might find the pool a little small - it was fine for a dip on a hot day. The sea views were somewhat distant because a pousada is in the way - best view was from our side kitchen window. The on-site restaurant has closed down (but there are plenty of alternatives a couple of minutes away). It's a bit of a walk to the harbour and beaches and, being on a headland, the walk back was an effort.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor if you want to hop over the balcony to the pool - otherwise go for the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade-Zemst
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

In May 2012, I was travelling with my wife and 2-year-old son. The hotel restaurant was closed but that's really the only setback I can testify of. Staff was friendly, the place is very neat, it gets cleaned every day, rooms are spacy and the furniture looks brand-new. And the whole thing was surprisingly cheap: I paid less than 160€ for 3 nights! Restaurants and shops are within 100 meters, there's ample parking space... would sign up for this place again without any doubt. Loads of STUNNING beaches within 30' drive. This was a splendid holiday...

Room Tip: The ones with sea view are nice because you can see the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of a cycling tour in Portugal and we were very pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the self catering apartment we were given. The apartment was modern, clean and spacious with a nice big bathroom and kitchen and a very comfortable bed and little balcony. It was not cheap at 60 Euros for the night (off-season - the place seemed nearly empty) and the pool is much smaller than the picture makes it look (pond-like). The facilities included a gym, which we did not use and laundry facilities on site. The staff were helpful but not always easy to get hold of. We were pleased that we did not book the Navigator next door which looked like a run down hotel. The pousada accros the road is worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 874Miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The appartments are clean, spacious and well equiped. Our appartment was listed as overlooking Sagres, but we could only see Sagres from the the kitchen window. Our balcony overlooked the car park and the access road to the complex. We weren't bothered by noise from the cars but did feel a little on show when sitting on the balcony as it was situated directly over reception.
The pool(smallish size) area was clean and attractive but with only six sunbeds, I expect most people spent their days on the lovely beaches, the nearest one about a ten minute walk away.
The staff were friendly and efficient and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in there again though hopefully in one of the other appartments in the complex.
The attached restaurant was not open during out stay.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view, zthe appartments do not overlook the beach and see views are par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serra da Estrela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Easy to find the aparthotel (Sagres is small but the aparthotel has its own signs available or follow to the hotel area, don’t forget it is just in front of the “Pousada” and immediately after the Navigator). New or renewed buildings with a pleasant look. Car parking available inside or just outside the complex (good enough). The area is safe. Very nice apartments in general. Well equipped kitchen (frying pans should be replaced for non-sticky better ones). The TV is a bit old/cheap but there are several international channels available. The sofa is nice but needs to be cleaned or the exterior should be replaced (but it works good enough as a bed).The staff is very, very good, knows how to balance kindness and professionalism. Cleaning works well, they actually washed our dishes which is something great. Towels ok. There were some ants in the bathroom but they don’t bother a lot. The bath has no curtains, just half glass door (looks better but the floor gets wet). We stayed at the ground floor facing the interior of the complex (car park) but we were not bothered by noise (from upstairs or outside, maybe we were lucky). We have two small children and we found that it was very hard to go to the beach walking. If we were alone we could do it, but not with children (we took our car). The beach (Mareta) is great and not crowded. Sagres is windy but sometimes that does not affect the beach. The apartment has air conditioning but we didn’t need to turn it on (the wind is fresh, you need a jacket to go out at night). There is a restaurant at the complex but it was closed (for holidays?!). The pool is small, too small, and not friendly for children (too deep, too soon) and sometimes you cannot stay there (too cold because of the wind). We had a wonderful week in Pontalaia, just lower your expectations regarding the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Clean, pleasant apartment with a balcony that offered some sea views. I don't know if I'd pay the extra again for the view as we didn't spend much time on the balcony apart from breakfast coffee. The apartment was well set up and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsgirl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.1 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique, Sagres 8650-381, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sagres
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 5-minute walk from Mareta Beach, Pontalaia offers apartments with a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool, the Atlantic Ocean or Sagres. Guests can benefit from a gym and sauna. The air-conditioned apartments of The Pontalaia have simple, modern furnishings and a private, modern bathroom. They include a fully equipped kitchenette, a safe, and satellite TV. Freshly caught fish is served at Mar a Vista, which is located near Mareta Beach. Pontalaia's guests can relax under a parasol by the swimming pool. Sagres offers a range of water sports such as surfing, snorkelling and windsurfing. While the Sagress Fortress is a 15-minute walk away, guests can reach the St. Vincent Fortress in a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing